We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality produce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Spice

Caffe Spice
7 Upper Cross Street, Larne BT40 1SZ, Northern Ireland
28269633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Larne
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Quality produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Larne may not be most people's idea of somewhere to go for a decent meal but chef mark and his team raise the bar with this establishment. He sources high end produce which is reflected in the price you pay but the quality is superb. Meats in particular are the stand outs from a varied and seasonal menu. The byo policy ensures a reasonable bill and the need to book for weekend tables well in advance speaks for itself.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My favourite restaurant in Ireland! Mark, the Chef, is full of brilliant creative ideas that stimulate the taste buds beyond your dreams!! My favourite dish (when in season - everything is fresh) is his Surf & Turf which is a mouthwatering fillet steak and lobster thermidor = succulent, mouth watering and unbeatable! He also makes amazing puddings, home made chocolates etc, Caffe Spice is an experience not to be missed!!

I visit regularly with my husband, also with my friends and also with family, Perfect for every occassion!

Be sure to book - they are getting really popular!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never lets you down day or night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Would visit Caffe spice quite frequently and have never had cause to complain. Daytime I usually have my baby with and this place displays itself as breastfeeding friendly (and is) loads of room to park up your pram and decent changing table. Staff will also help warm baby bottles etc. On the food front, food is always really tasty with more adventurous flavours than those normally found in the Larne area! Good selection of tray bakes/cakes, strongly recommend the chocolate brownie peanut butter stack. Come evening the menu changes but is still great! Pizzas are fab and always a good variety of main meals.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have eaten in Caffe Spice a number of times over the last few years and they never fail to impress. The food is freshly prepared and always beautiful, the steaks are so tender and tasty. Varied menu with something for everyone. Bring your own wine helps to keep it reasonably priced. All in all my favourite local eatery by a clear mile !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for coffee or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Reasonably priced cafe that does great coffees and lunches.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Spice also viewed

Larne, County Antrim
 
Larne, County Antrim
Larne, County Antrim
 

Been to Caffe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.