We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Hotel Adler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weissbadstrasse 2, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Appenzell
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I didn't much care for the guesthouse I was staying in and decided to research an alternative. Upon enquiring availability and price the guy at the reception quoted me a good rate and gave me the key, said the room was mine even though it was only 10 in the AM. Good location, spotless. Appenzell is a bit dead at night and teens seem to wander around getting rowdy with nothing to do. But if you need to stay in Appenzell, recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed on the street side which is noisy with traffic. Try to stay in the back away firm the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, KS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Welcome to one of the most endearing regions in Switzerland! Appenzell has a unique old world charm. It is a quaint city with colorful homes and businesses and delightfully kind people. We stopped here first on our 2 week journey around Switzerland. The weather was cool and cloudy but that took nothing away from this beautiful region. We stayed at the lovely Hotel Adler and were greeted by its friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and the accommodations were very pleasant. Of course, as is typical of Switzerland, it was immaculate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

With sadness, we are nearly at the end of our three month trip in Europe, but this superb little hotel right in the center of the traditional Swiss town of Appenzell was the perfect last stay before heading to Zurich and our flight home. Family owned and operated, their attention to detail and exquisite service is fantastic. We were able to park our car right in front of the hotel, and they have several parking places behind as well. Not only do they have a restaurant, but beware that they also have their own fine pastry shop that is nearly impossible to ignore. There is a small lift that can take you and your luggage to any of the three floors. We were fortunate enough to stay in their suite on the front of the hotel, which is quite large, including a sitting area with small flat screen TV and a nice size bedroom area with a mini-bar, small dining table and large cabinet space. There is also a wardrobe for your hanging clothes as well as shelves for many other items as well. The style is old Swiss, but the hotel and rooms are impeccably clean and freshly conditioned. We did look at three other rooms that were superior doubles, which were certainly adequate, but the suite was available in this transition season for a slight upcharge. The owner, his son, and the entire staff are superbly friendly and accommodating with any request. The breakfast is more than adequate for starting the day, with great coffee and the usual juice, cereals, cheese, meat, boiled eggs and fresh pastries. The location of the hotel is a distinct advantage, as it is easy to walk just about anywhere in town, but know that it fronts on a fairly busy street through town, so if you are in a room on the front the noise might not be welcome. There are two supermarkets no more than an easy ten minute walk. We were happy to spend our last two nights in this hotel to seal the memories of a wonderful trip. If you haven’t been to Appenzell, you should put it on your itinerary.

Room Tip: Room 33 is the suite located on the front of the building and is worth the additional cost. There c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Rooms although updated are rough for the price. Towels not changed daily, only feather pillows. Owner friendly. Check your bill, stated rates are up charged - you feel quite taken advantage of by the end of your visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Adler. It was a delightful experience. The owner is most gracious and helpful. He gave us our choice of rooms as they were not full. The location is perfect at the entrance to the village at the base of the main street. There is parking for about 6-7 cars if you are driving. The big church is directly across the street but we did not notice the bells at all. Visit the church it is beautiful. The owner is most helpful in explaining the Appenzeller Pass that allows you free travel on the Appenzeller train system which is prompt and efficient. The pass also allows you to travel on 3 of the main gondolas in the Appenzell area. You must stay 3 or more days to qualify for the pass. We had to leave Appenzell at 5am to catch our plane back to the US. The owner was up and gave us coffee, juice and fresh baked rolls before we left along with a piece of gingerbread. We highly recommend the Adler.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full ask the owner to show you other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited in August and enjoyed everything about this lovely family-run hotel.

The hosts were friendly, spoke fluent English (and French for that matter), gave excellent advice on restaurants and sightseeing (the view from Hoher Kasten is wonderful). As we were leaving, they even ran out to the car park with a small gift as a memento of our stay.

We were given a quiet room at the back of the building with a balcony and view to the mountains. Very pleasant to sit out and enjoy a local beer from the minibar. The room itself was comfortable, clean and plenty of space. The bathroom was classic 70's retro in an appealing way and everything worked. There was also free wi-fi with a good connection.

The generous breakfast buffet was very good quality with local specialities, excellent breads and homemade birchermüesli. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and the food, drinks, service, ambiance were all lovely, especially the delicious homemade ice-cream sundaes.

The hotel is located just on the edge of the pedestrian zone by the river, bridge and church and a short walk from the station. It is great to be able to stroll around town after the daytime tourists have left, to see the beautifully painted traditional buildings and squares.

The surrounding countryside is incredibly green and a wonderful region to explore. There is wonderful hiking at all different levels of ambition, lots of activities and still feels very relaxing.

By staying for three nights we received the free Appenzeller card which gave unlimited transport on trains and buses (including to St.Gallen), trips on three cable cars, an Appenzeller cheese tasting and other offers. This was very convenient and saved us more than 50chf per person.

We felt the hotel was excellent value, perfect for our stay and would return with pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We loved staying here. The room was clean and comfortable, The people helped us find an English speaking person to give us a walking tour of the town. The breakfast was wonderful. The hotel provided breakfast early our last morning so we could get an early train. The view from our room was good and we saw cows being herded in front of the hotel early one morning. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Weissbadstrasse 2, Appenzell 9050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Appenzell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Appenzell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Appenzell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.