We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village to your Saves list
Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Saariselka 99830, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We can only recommend this beautiful hotel, their facilities, staff and food. Arrived at 23:00 after the plane had to turn back to Helsinki due to a technical fault. Still found the kitchen open and friendly staff served us with a (freshly made) three course meal. Where else will you find this? All the arrangements for country trips were professionally done and in time. We stayed for one night in a glass igloo and four in a wooden cabin (number 7). Very clean and neat with everything you need. Wish we could stay there forever!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    131
    67
    46
    29
See reviews for
98
224
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in an igloo one night then a 2 bed cabin the next.
The igloos are fantastic, they have 2 twin beds, plenty of places to put suitcases etc and a loo. I even had a shower and there is some strange shower type hose under the sink. A ins great, place is beautiful, stunning beyond belief. As three vegetarians we survived, they cook different things for us so didn't go hungry. Both igloo and cabin spotless.
Go, it's much fun

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

AMAZING place! Stayed in a glass igloo for one night a few weeks ago.Yes, the igloo's don't have showers- they're a glass igloo what do you expect?! Yes, the igloo's are away from the main resort- people would complain about light pollution if they were any nearer?!... No bell service?!... The whole fun of it is pulling your luggage on a sledge to the igloo, no?!... How can people say the bed is uncomfortable? It's an electric bed that you can move to make yourself as comfortable as you please!
We found the staff friendly and helpful. The owner is incredibly friendly and you always see him around.
The food was a pretty good standard to say you're in the middle of Lapland! If you're unhappy with the set menu at dinner, you can choose from the a la carte menu. The chicken we were given for our main course was actually delicious! And we got pancakes for desert which was a plus since it was pancake day back in the UK! Good choice of bread, cheese, meat, cereal and eggs for breakfast, with juice and hot drinks. Free WIFI in the public area too (Hilton Hotels don't even provide free WIFI!!!).
The resort is stunning and despite what people say, it isn't very big (so not far AT ALL to walk to the igloo's). You get a map of the resort when checking in. You'll definitely need it to find the showers- it was very fun finding them, not a problem like people say it is!
It is next to the main road, but lets face it, it's not a busy road what-so-ever and in the igloo we didn't hear any traffic noise! And if the resort was any further from the main road and bus stop, people would be complaining about how difficult it is to get to (the reception area is 1 minute walk from the main bus route bus stop!).
We found the igloo very comfortable, warm and in a great condition.
It is pricey, but when else are you going to sleep in a GLASS IGLOO?! If it's pure luxury you're wanting, don't go or if you do, keep your negative opinions to yourself. If you're open minded and want to see the northern lights over head whilst laying in your bed then this place is a must!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

One night in a glass igloo and 3 nights in a large cabin as a 40th bday gift to my husband in this exotic and charming place called kakslautannen igloo village was all we could ask for!!!and we saw the northern lights alongwith the rainbow colours of the sunset the first evening itself which also happened to be my husband's bday!the owner of the place was very warm and interacted personally with everyone and the staff was more than helpful on all accord.we had our 10year old son with us and we enjoyed husky sledding,snowmobile and toboggan run at saariselka!would love to go there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed one night in an igloo in the middle of winter. It's a fun experience and one has to accept the fact that, while there is a toilet, there is no shower. We were lucky because we were there on a clear night and the Aurora Borealis put on quite a display. We could raise the back of the bed and lie there in comfort watching it all happen.
The main disadvantage lies in the fact that the dining room is about 500 metres from the igloos. This means quite a hike to dinner and to breakfast the next morning (make sure you bring your crampons).
Not luxury, but go for it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed one night in a glass igloo which was the main reason we decided to come up to the Laplands during our short visit to Finland. Although the experience is fun, it was a bit disappointing. The glass igloos themselves are a bit outdated and run down inside. The beds are terribly uncomfortable and the pillow was flatter than my comforter. There were ants inside the igloo and at least one in my son's bed. When we arrived at the resort, the woman at the desk was very unfriendly and very short with us. We were just handed a brochure of activities and a map and moved along our way. There was no one to show us to our igloo and we struggled with our luggage (no bell service). We eventually figured out the we could use a sled to pull our bags all the way across the property to our igloo. The property itself is right near a main road which detracts a bit from the idea of staying in a glass igloo out in the middle of nowhere. Overall, the place is a novelty that looks like it is stuck in the 1980s and needs some updating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed one night in the glass igloo. I was concerned after reading some reviews but went with an open mind. Staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us with the bus to the airport and got us some bread out of the kitchen to feed some reindeer that randomly appeared outside. Taking the sled with luggage to the igloo was a blast and was definitely part of the experience. The igloo is small but was clean and warm and perfectly fine for one night. The sauna and showers are clean and have plenty of towels and shampoo. I did rig a towel over the window for privacy but it was fine. Dinner and breakfast were fine. It is not a Michelin star place but it was good. We had drinks but were not charged for them. There are a lot of trails for skiing and walking and a very cool small place for coffee or tea across the road. The 10am checkout does seem a little early but i think that is because people are out on excursions or skiing anyway. There is WiFi in the main lodge and a place to store luggage. Yes, it is expensive but you're in Lapland..... in a glass igloo. Enjoy it for what it is.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village

Address: Saariselka 99830, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village Finland/Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.