We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Accommodation in unique part of the world” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort to your Saves list
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Melbourne, Oz
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unique Accommodation in unique part of the world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This little Glass Igloo Village was gorgeous - we only stayed one night, but that was enough.
The igloos were very warm, the beds were confortable - twin beds side-by-side, with individual controls, so in the event that there actually were Northern Lights, you could adjust your bed to a suitable viewing position! Sadly, there were no lights visible during our visit. Although the entire building is glass panels, it is very private, with strategically placed curtains, and the "bathroom" has solid walls. There is a toilet and hand-basin only, the showers need to be accessed from the main building. We had to walk some distance to the "hotel" for meals, but the walk through the beautiful, deep snow was lovely in itself. The food was okay, but strangely, at dinner time, when we were more than ready for a roaring log fire, we had to beg for the tiny fire to be lit at all, and then, the (small) logs were very strictly rationed. Very odd..... What, no nearby firewood???
There was a bizarre "floor show" - performed by cross-dressing male performers... Good for a laugh at least.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    167
    88
    60
    39
See reviews for
117
292
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

There were elements that were outstanding and others that were questionable. Ivalo is absolutely beautiful and compared to it's Swedish Lapland neighbor, Finland and Ivalo in particular is by far the more beautiful place.

We stayed in a log cabin for 2 nights, then in the glass igloo for 1 night and finally in the snow igloo for 1 night. During the day we went on most of the excursions from Husky sledding to snowmobile and reindeer Aurora hunting. The excursions were just amazing and worth every Euro.

The accommodation was interesting. The log cabins were very warm and comfortable and each have their own private sauna, shower and wood-burning fireplace. What they fail to mention when you book them is that they are self catering and are not serviced. You need to make your own bed, clean the fire place, wash the cutlery etc. There are 2 small electric stove plates with some cooking utensils and a bar fridge but with absolutely no stock of anything. You need to buy or bring everything down to coffee, tea, sugar and milk (all for sale at reception).

Be advised, everything in this place is charged for; You want someone to collect your luggage?... 7 Euros. You want some firewood?... 10 Euros for a basket. You want cross-country skis?... 16 Euros. Don't be fooled by the price of the accommodation, it includes absolutely nothing except a small buffet breakfast of Salmon, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs and toast.

The glass igloos were totally amazing. Even though we didn't see the northern lights (traveled in April) it was still completely magical. They are heated and have 2 unbelievably comfortable single beds which can easily be wheeled together. The beds also have electrically adjustable positioning (like those in a hospital). The glass igloo has a toilet and small basin. To get to the shower though, you have to walk a couple of hundred meters through the snow! The communal showers and sauna are built far away from the igloos and require a proper trek in the evening and morning. Still, it's a small price to pay for the spectacle of the glass igloos.

We decided to brave the snow igloos for one night and were horribly disappointed. Having stayed in the Ice Hotel in Sweden, this is just not the same. Here, you actually sleep on a block of ice. So despite having a straw mat and a sleeping bag, we were absolutely freezing. They appear very romantic but trust me, don't bother. Also, as with the glass igloos, they are located a few hundred meters from the communal showers and sauna.

What really bothered us about the place is that after 11pm, the main reception closes. We left our suitcases there when staying in the igloos and went back to collect something only to find it was all locked up. There is absolutely no way (in an emergency or otherwise) to contact anyone as the reception is completely deserted and the place is locked up.

Having stated some of the negatives, Ivalo remains the most beautiful place and in some way makes up for Kakslauttanen's shortcomings. We went ice fishing on lake Inari, husky sledding, Reindeer sledding, snowmobiling and even visited Santa's resort (which is a complete waste of time if you don't have kids). We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and even enjoyed Kakslauttanen. It really is beautiful and despite being charged for every little thing, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Stay in a glass igloo at least night. Avoid the snow igloos at all cost, if you want to sleep in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the glass igloo for the night and spent another night at the log cabin.
For the glass igloo - beds were quite narrow and there were no showers. There are showers in the main building. Do note that the glass igloos are not where the log cabins are but when you arrive there is a van to shuttle you to the glass igloos. Restaurants around the glass igloo area are only open at certain times and food is only served at certain times. My friend and I learnt this the hard way when we arrived at 3.30pm and there was absolutely no food. We had to take the shuttle back to the main building for late lunch.
Log cabins - Proper log cabins. Very cosy comfortable beds. Large space. Only gripe is, the cabins are quite widely spaced out and ours was right at the end, which meant that we had to drag our roller bags in the snow - which was at least a 15 minute walk (it was December and -20 degrees celsius) When we asked reception if we could drive our car outside the cabin and unload the bags, they informed us that it was not allowed as parking was only available outside the main reception building and "other people have walked and it is fine".
S

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the glass igloo for one night. It was a very unique experience,much like camping but in a comfortable place. There are toilet facilities in the igloo but no shower. For shower, will need to walk out to the common areas. It's more suitable for short stays. Food prices are very reasonable with fresh ingredients. Breakfast was lovely as well. Quaint resort overall. Not walkable to the main town of Saariselka though. Free WiFi is available at the main lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travel a lot and have stayed in places that range from 1 star to 5 star. This place is rated as a 4 star but is a 2-3 star at best. After reading good reviews on it I was disappointed by the reality. The location is good and it is definitely unique with the snow chapel and igloos (glass and snow). The cabins are also cute. However it is the standard of things that is poor - the reclining bed not working. A broken shower curtain. The bathroom stinking of bad drains. Saying they will open the snow chapel at 4pm and then waiting outside in the freezing cold and no one has turned up.
My major gripe with this hotel is that it is more what they can get out of you than what can they can do for you attitude. The hotel reception is a till where people buy things from the shop and snacks so you are standing in line with people waiting to pay for purchases and there is no room or space to discuss things properly. They insist that any trips and activities should be booked through the hotel (their prices are substantially higher than if you book independently- presumably because they take their cut). Everything - absolutely everything is extra. You want to use the smoke sauna you pay extra, you want to use a snowshoe you pay extra, you want the luggage taken to your room (and they are far apart) that is extra.
I could go on but my summary would be it's totally overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really liked this hotel, staying in a log cabin for two nights and a glass igloo for one. Northern Lights were faint and not what we had hoped for, but a great time looking for them. The hotel is nice and the staff were friendly, restaurant a little bit limited- one menu daily- but a la carte was available. Activities were excellent, huskies 4 hrs, northern lights and visit the reindeer, which wasnt the highlight that day- but plenty of skidooing was! Near to skiing and there are reasonable rates for ski-cross country-hire. Worth a visit, scenery was stunning and the guides were great- especially at the huskies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

See the photos for yourselves:)! We had 3 days with amazing northern lights during Easter holiday. For activities, I would recommend getting the snowmobile safari, the husky safari and the 2.5 hours reindeer safari(instead of the 4 hours one). Nice tracking paths at nearby Kiilopaa, at 6 Km, the Saariselka ski resort is also at 6 Km distance.

Room Tip: Get a log cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.