We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village

Save Saved
You added Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saariselka 99830, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Saariselka
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel - the first two in a Queen suite and the last one in a glass igloo. The Queen suite is amazing with a very generously sized log cabin with a 4 poster bed, open fire, free standing bath, sauna and a hot tub. Definitely a very romantic experience. The glass igloo was an experience - we expected the restriction on luggage so were prepared. The beds were fun but as it was snowing we didn't need the electric bit any way.

We organised the trip through Activities Abroad and so the luggage transfer mentioned by many was included in the price and was very enthusiastically undertaken by the staff.

We found the staff helpful through out and actually commented that they didn't undertake a 'hard sell' approach to the trips. We enquired about one and were given time and space to discuss it before booking.

The food isn't great but it's adequate and we enjoyed smoked salmon on toast for breakfast - although herring is never going to be my thing so early in the morning. The restaurant staff were helpful and it was worth the upgrade to the salmon as a treat - although perhaps it's a little expensive. The barman was helpful, chatty and very skilled.

Only disappointing things were the lack of a few of the advertised 'attractions'. It seems many are only available to large convention style bookings.

Definitely recommend the reindeer safari and snowmobiling. Staff on these were great to talk to and I feel we learned a lot about the Sami people as well as seeing great scenery.

Room Tip: Queen suite 2 is in a great, fairly private location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    118
    63
    41
    24
See reviews for
87
212
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in a glass igloo for 1 night. Were greeted by Japanese staff who only seemed to want us to spend more money. Tried charging 7 Euros to take our luggage to the igloo but it was possible to borrow a sled and take your own cases. Before we had properly checked in they wanted to book us on excursions for the next day and 'upgrade' our evening meal!
The first igloo we went to only had 1 working electric bed and when we complained the women told us that they don't have electric beds. After a short argument she made a telephone call to check 'if the beds in igloo 18 were working'. These beds did work - however 1 broke after 2 minutes use.
The igloos are a novel idea and very warm, but our bathroom wall leaked and the whole igloo made a constant low humming noise.
The food was poor - with no hot breakfast option and some of the glasses were dirty.
A definite tourist trap. Ideal if you like to be surrounded by coach parties.
The reception/shop/breakfast buffet area is extremely cramped and badly arranged.
This needs a 'no star' rating for service!

Room Tip: Save your money and stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in a glass igloo for 1 night, as soon as we arrived we were negleted by staff and even when they did decide to help seemed very inexperienced and nobody seemed to be in charge. The reception is an area of chaos that doubles up as a dining room, cafe, and a gift shop! whilst staying in a glass igloo you must leave your luggage in this area which is not secure. The evening meal was the worst food i have ever had in a hotel and i would say inedible and im not exagerating. I had steak and vegetables but to call it steak was a lie, im not even sure if it was real meat im fairly sure it was a microwave meal, however the waitress at dinner was very friendly. Also the other facilities and attractions that the resort advertised were not available (ice bar, smoke sauna, plunge pool)
All that aside the stay in the glass igloo was a fantastic experience, warm clean rooms with a toilet and small basin and there was a nice sauna a few minutes walk away. i rate this as average purely for the experience of sleeping beneath the stars in a glass igloo however i feel that the resort failed in most other areas,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in a glass igloo, which is a unique experience. However, the food at this hotel, compared to all the others we have stayed at on this trip to Norway and Finland, is ordinary, to be generous. It borders on the indelible. Our first night was a total shambles, with harassed and overworked waitresses apologising, saying that there was a function taking place elsewhere in the hotel, and they were understaffed, and running out of food. After an interminable wait, we were served what amounted to a "TV Dinner". Frozen vegetables, steak that tasted so bland we were confused, and an inedible and almost pure salt gravy.

The breakfasts are very basic, and served in a mess of suitcases and arriving and departing guests around the reception Area.

The last straw was our last night. We returned, together with at least six other guests, from a snowmobile Northern Lights Safari, booked through the hotel. We found the main building locked up, with all lights out. We were staying in the glass igloo, and one cannot take luggage into this. Our luggage was locked up in the luggage room and we had no access to it, or the medications we had prepared for our return. Not good enough!

Room Tip: One night in a glass igloo is enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked a glass igloo for 2 nights and weren't disappointed : sleeping under the stars and seeing a northern light from our bed was amazing... Temperature inside the glass igloo was 24 degrees. Inside the igloo you find a little washbasin (hot water) and toilets. You don't have a lot of intimacy, unless it is very dark at night. The showers and sauna are 5min on foot in a cottage, little negative point the showers are not separated so you may have to take your shower with strangers... The breakfast is served in the same building as the reception, also a 5min walk from the igloos zone (20 igloos in total). If you have a car, you can eat in the nearest city Saariselka (10km) at good price and book your excursions directly there too, because in the hotel everything is more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Kakslauttanen. It is the best resorts I have visited. Not cheap but incredible.
My wife and I had 3 nights in a log cabin and a night in a glass igloo. The cabins were spacious warm and very homely. The open fire was great. Our night in the glass igloo was perfect. We had 3 nights of cloud cover but then a 6 hour Aurora display on our igloo night. AMAZING!
The food was nice but not the best food we ate in Finland. It was by no means a disappointment but not the high standard of the rest of the facilities.
We did a reindeer safari and visited Santa which ran really smoothly using the partner organisations.
We absolutely loved this resort and will save up to visit again one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Arrived in Lapland via Ivalo airport on a dark, cold and clear night to see the Northern Lights as we descended the steps from the plane..... unforgettable! Unfortunately we lost our bags in a short connection at Helsinki which contained all of our cold weather gear but this proved to be much less of a disaster than it could have been. Finnair gave us all an excellent survival pack of t-shirt, socks and toiletries and the Hotel provided us with all of the necessary cold weather outer clothing which is essential as the temperature was close to
-30C.
The hotel is absolutely FANTASTIC. The staff all speak good English and are incredibly helpful. The food is good (think home cooking rather than haute-cuisine) and it didn't seem too expensive.
Our family of 5 stayed in a big log cabin close to the main hotel building (also a log-cabin) and used the readily available sledges to slide back and forth for meals etc.

The cabins are very warm and perfectly well appointed for 200 miles North of the Arctic Circle! The private sauna was a real treat and we all did the whole sauna followed by a roll-around in the snow thing..... a novel experience and one i'd thoroughly recommend for those sound of heart but not mind!

The excursions are truly fabulous. Husky sled riding in -26C with lunch in a log cabin literally in the middle of nowhere through miles of totally unspoiled snowy forest. Reindeer sled riding (Very sedate vs Huskies) with another great lunch and an interesting discussion about the Saami people and finally a mad Snowmobile safari in the dark to what seemed to be the worlds most dark, cold and quiet spot to view the Lights (they didn't turn-up as it was too warm at -10C and there was cloud cover!)

Not one single complaint. Home for a day and we have all still got a smile on our faces.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin close to the Hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village

Address: Saariselka 99830, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Saariselka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village Finland/Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.