We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sambuca 2 (Just an Ok Night)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sambuca

Sambuca
10-11 Union Quay, North Shields NE30 1HJ, England
+44 191 270 8891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 85 Restaurants in North Shields
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Providing a vibrant family friendly atmosphere here on the North Shields fish Quay, we pride ourselves on providing good service, and good quality food and drink at affordable prices. Remember... Every hour at Sambuca 1 North Shields is happy hour.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sambuca 2 (Just an Ok Night)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

November 2,2012....Went out for dinner with my wife stepson and is girl friend,was looking forward to this meal as i have been to the original Sambuca's but they had no tables this night at the time we wanted so went to S2,Walked in and right off it was small and space was tight! we were lead to our table and sat,the restaurant was busy,we sat awhile before our order was taking,they brought our drinks and again we waited,we finished the drinks before the food arrived and they got it mixed up as to who ordered what food,i ordered the steak with a wine sauce and chips,there was veg option to go with the steak i thought that was odd! over all the food was ok nothing special,we had ordered desert and waited a good 30-40 minutes before it was brought to us,and when it arrived they just brought two and we waited 5 minutes for the other two to arrive, i got the chocolate fudge cake and believe me it was not worth the wait! it seemed as if we were at a pub,it was noisy,cramped and so noisy by the time we left my head was pounding! Overall it was just ok,was not impressed at all!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    97
    37
    42
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average bait!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Average bait, average service but a fantastic price defo worth a visit. Steak prices are brilliant. At times you do feel very cramped.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not sure which Sambuca some have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Moved son to Sunderland for Uni in September and spotted Sambuca near by. I have now visited 4 times, taking the wife and various others and going again next Saturday. We have only taken advantage of the lunch time offer so far but have found the food, value for money and service second to none. We have obviously seen food from other parts of the menu go out and they look fantastic. If I was living where my son is I would spend most of my time there happily extending my girth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, outstanding value and fab service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have dined here numerous times and love it. Quite a small restaurant but all food and service is outstanding value :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food spoilt by the juvenile antics of the waiters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have visited all three Sambuca restaurants on the Fish Quay and have never had a bad experience, until last night(Saturday 3rd November 2012). No complaints about the food, but the juvenile behaviour of the waiting staff spoiled the whole night for us. Grabbing each other, shouting and laughing, whilst one waiter patrolled around, removing plates before people were finished their food. Calling the manager was quite a shock. She had been one of staff fooling about. Not going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambuca also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sambuca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.