We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the 4.95 special!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
50 Bell Street | Fish Quay, North Shields NE30 1HF, England
+44 191 296 6168
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Description: River Cafe on the Tyne is one of only two restaurants in the North of the region to have made a mark on the foodie scene and we're proud to announce that we have scooped the prestigious Michelin Bib Gourmand Award for the third consecutive year!
North Shields
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Try the 4.95 special!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

As the review says we walked past sambucca's to give this place a try. We have eaten at another David Kennedy's establishment and were expecting good things.

OK the good
3 courses
very tasty

The bad
Very small portions
only choice of 2 dishes.

I dare say the al la catre will be excellent but for the lunchtime cheapy I'll be going back to sambucca's next door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    71
    21
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have been here several times in the last few weeks having previously visited David Kennedy's Cafe Social.
The lunchtime meals are absolutely great value, £4.95 for a three course meal. A choice of 2 starter, 2 main (usually 1 meat and 1 fish dish) and 2 desserts to choose from.

All of the dishes are usually locally sourced and put together beautifully as if you've just been to an expensive restaurant. I had belly pork one week and chicken livers the next. I have tried the cod in tempura batter and this week there was Haddock available. All of it is piping hot and the veg and sauces that go with it are really very tasty.

Even the Desserts are a bit different to the norm this week I had rice pudding with Lemongrass.

Can only say give it a try you wont be disappointed. Looking forward to going for an evening meal there too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cracking food and settings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went to this restaurant last night and can not fault it.The food was fantastic and very well priced a great selection of ales and wines.The service from the staff was swift and polite.I highly recommend it and i will be returning very soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Anniversary Treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend,and what a find!
Decor is modern and cosy.Atmosphere is just lovely,busy and happy.
I had muscles and thrice cooked chips-amazing!muscles were fresh and juicy.
My other half had the scallops and I had instant food envy!
I had the Cabernet Sauvignon with my meal,it was served just at the right temperature.
For the absolute superb quality of food and drink,we paid very little compared to some higher end Newcastle restaurants with poor food and drink!
An absolute must for all,there is something to cater for very taste on the menu.The desserts are also to die for-save some space!!
Book in advance and get a table near the window to look over the river,was nice even if it was dark.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Substance Over Style. Hurray!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Saturday night having read some great reviews. Initially thought I'd made a mistake judging by the restaurant decor. There were no issues with cleanliness etc, it just wasn't as well appointed as some restaurants.
My superficiality was completely off the mark. The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly. Knowledgable about the food and attentive without being obtrusive.
The food was delicious, fresh and cooked beautifully.
It's a refreshing change to find a restaurant that concentrates on the food rather than interior design.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.