We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TASTE OF SPAIN IN NORTH SHIELDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Taphouse

Quay Taphouse
50 Bell Street, North Shields, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“TASTE OF SPAIN IN NORTH SHIELDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our daughter and our son in law invited my wife and I to lunch on Saturday 27th April at the Quay Taphouse,and it was excellent.
We had a variety of tapas dishes including Crispy Chicken,King Prawns in Chilli,Garlic and Olive Oil,and the Spanish Platter.Each were delicious on their own,but so much better as a group.These dishes would have not been out of place in any authentic Spanish Tapas bar.
If you are looking for something different,this the place for you,and the Stella is also very good.
We are very lucky to have a huge range of good eating places on our doorstep,and this one is certainly up there at the top.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have eaten here several times to date, the tapas are excellent and really suitable if you don't want a main meal. There is usually at least one real ale and a good selection of wines. They usually have an afternoon special for tapas and a bottle wine which is excellent value

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok not the best but not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited on Friday lunch time just as food was starting. We ordered tapas. The meals were ok. The meatballs were too spicy but the potatoes were nice and the presentation was good. I had a latte which has too many coffee grounds in it and my husband had a beer. The staff were friendly and unassuming. Food came quickly. The decor was pleasant and looked new. Overall I would say its worth a try for yourself as tapas can be a very individual thing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have ate here on three or four occasions and we have never been disappointed. It has always been busy when we have been there which I consider to be a good sign. We normally go for the afternoon special which is good value and the food is well cooked and attractively presented.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Taptastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Fish Quay increasingly draws me from Tynemouth Front Street and the Taphouse is a major pull!
The afternoon special for three tapas dishes and a bottle of wine is excellent value. On a recent Saturday afternoon visit we were enjoying the food and atmosphere so much that we ordered a second round - well and truly full with taste buds happy.
Staff are spot on - friendly and unassuming.

The manager is really canny and made us feel really welcome.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Taphouse also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.