We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our shanghi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Shanghai At The Cannon Inn

My Shanghai At The Cannon Inn
Coast Road, North Shields, England
01912966112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 78 restaurants in North Shields
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“our shanghi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

have just returned after another lovely evening with my family at our shanghi. 5 minutes from home instead of 30 minute travel into newcastle Micheal and his staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. great sushi and salad bar good selection of starters and main courses and varied selection of deserts have been on many occasions and will continue to do so on many more occasions in the future best thing to happen in the area restaurant wise in a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    70
    82
    37
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great buffet lunch, good value and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Chinese buffet lunch on a busy Saturday lunchtime with wife and kids. Great value lunch and really enjoyed the (mostly) quality food on offer. Even as a vegetarian there was enough to keep me occupied, though would always prefer a few more interesting options, or even just some cooked veg to have with whichever sauce. Also plenty for the kids to enjoy. Desserts were mixed. Banana fritters were excellent and kids enjoyed the frozen mousse. Fruit wasn't great though. Overall, a great value lunch and am looking forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“cold expensive and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

visited here a couple of times and i've been very disappointed. Food was cold, not very much choice and moody unhelpful staff. go to somewhere in town much better service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good veggie choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

visited a few times. Mostly the food was very nice - plenty of vegetarian choice and fresh food was brought out regularly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

just off the coast road on the way to tynemouth,easy parking a good selection of buffet food the earlier you go the cheaper it becomes.in the evening when the price is at its highest you do get duck with pancakes as much as you can eat.....good value and good food

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Shanghai At The Cannon Inn also viewed

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to My Shanghai At The Cannon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Shanghai At The Cannon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.