We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiremoor House Farm

Shiremoor House Farm
Middle Engine Lane, North Shields NE29 8DZ, England
0191 257 6302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 85 Restaurants in North Shields
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First time I went there was at the beginning of March, enjoyed so much that I've since been again.

Quality home made food, I'd highly recommend the chilli and also the lamb is lovely and tender.

Fairly priced and a lovely atmosphere with a very nice setting.

It was very busy on both occasions and I'm hardly surprised with how nice it is.

Staff all seemed quite happy and were quick to serve etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    143
    70
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a great evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited the evening of Sat 23rd March for a family members birthday. We love this place for its atmosphere and the fact that children are welcome but feel the food and quality of service is getting worse each time and we will not spend money on food here again. In the party there were 5 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 kids. Main course was slow in coming out and all barely warm, two dish was sent straight back and the rest were hardly touched. I feel the main courses are overpriced now and lack the quality that should come with those prices. The table wasn't cleared for around 30 minutes after we had finished eating and we cleared our own drinks glasses away as they were getting too much on the table. As a group we spent a lot of money there overall and feel extremely let down.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Becoming a regular thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have been here several times, including a family party. No complaints at all from any of us. On one occasion we had a pram as well. They happily shifted the tables about to accommodate us. Good value and great food. We'll be there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Traditional Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been here on numerous occasions with friends and family for the Sunday Dinner here as it's one of the best in the local area. I've also had lunch here once through the week, it was fine but the menu was a little fancy when I went (a year or so ago) and I was hoping for a more traditional pub menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Regular haunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

More or less my local, I use the pub regularly, the food is good, slightly over priced and the serving staff are always helpful, lunch time and evening the bar staff , ladies only , never smile nor can they bring themselves to be pleasant or engage in general chat so i just place my order and back to my table, its such a shame, if this improved i would certainly give the place full marks, when lots of sizzling chicken are on the go you often leave with the smell in your hair and clothes, , the ambience is always pleasant apart from when at the bar as i said its a place i can go with friends, families or my children, sometimes we just have a starter and pudding or a sandwich at lunch time, coffee is really nice too , in the summer its pleasant sitting outside !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiremoor House Farm also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Stannington, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Shiremoor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiremoor House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.