We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a business trip or making a ferry connection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Skaga Hotel to your Saves list
Skaga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemoesvej 1, Hirtshals, Hjoerring 9850, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hirtshals
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok for a business trip or making a ferry connection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Definitely an older hotel, nothing to really recommend about the place.. pretty standard for its age, but the breakfast was good enough. I was here on business, waiting for a ferry after a flight was cancelled. Would say that it was an acceptable overnight place, and if you had kids with you, it would pretty convenient to walk across the street to the aquarium while waiting for a connecting ferry.

Room Tip: It can be noisy from the truck traffic heading for the late night ferry, so if you are noise sensiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
11
26
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip late September...hotel was very quiet.....The rooms are spacious but dated, beds small and uncomportable and the bathroom..well good clean with a steam jet springs to mind...No bar or snacks at this time of the year so we had a meal inthe resturant which on reflection was the best part...food was good, but the choice rather small. The lady on reception was friendly and tried her best...great entertainment when the police brough back a drunken resident..whoi would stay in his room...what a laught sometihing out a faulty towers episode. The breakfast or what their was of it was basic and not very appealing....Good location for the ferry...too end on a positive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile


Slightly dated and lived in. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable.
Settee, table and chair to relax or watch TV instead of having to sit in bed.
Good walk in shower and good size shelf for all toiletries and plenty of towels.
The cafe was closed for the season on 11 Aug so had to go to the Panorama restaurant which served some of the Light meals. Fresh flowers on every table.
Breakfast not great but adequate, but left feeling underwhelmed by the selection. There was a basket of tired looking oranges and apples, but no freshly cut up melon, oranges or pineapple for instance.
Other plus points: swimming pool, easy parking, close to ferry terminals.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We urgently needed a hotel after arriving at Hirtshals due to change of plans. Skaga hotel could offer a family room within our short notice which wadvery good to us.The hotel is very close to the harbour which is a huge benefit. The room ws tidy and filled with five beds just like in a youth hostel. No air condition in the room in the heat we had in Denmark this week was a drawback whuch made it difficult for all of us to sleep. However we managed and woke up the day after for a good hotel breakfast. The breakfast was ok but I would like to have more selections of bread and such. Still, nothing really to complain about.The reception area looks recently refurnished, but the rest of the hotel could also need a makeover. Air condition is needed during the summer!The hotel is across the road from the North sea oceanarium and we went there after breakfast.I could stay here again, but only due to the location with respect to the ferry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Skaga Hotel is my preferred stay when in Jutland. The hotel is very charming, and fantasticly decorated. The breakfast is among the best you will ever get in Denmark. There is no lack of anything, even though I missed "spejlæg med bacon". But that is overcompensated with an overwhelming choice of cheeses, jam, salamis, etc. And the view from the 2 floor restaurant is nice.
The rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds. The TV has all the necesarry channels and then some more.
The staff is extremely helpful and very welcoming.
I will also recommend the swimming pool (indoor) and the fitness center.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a small terrace that allows for smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Skaga is listed as a 4-star hotell and we chose it because we wanted a hotell with a pool.

The hotel may have been a 4-star hotel at som time in the past, but now it felt run-down and poorly maintaned. Especially the pool and wardrobes there was old and not up to standard. It felt more like a lockerroom at a cheap motel.

When we went to our room for the first time, the heat from hours of sun on a room without any open windows hit us. The room was big with a nice seating area and bed. The bathroom was also functional and clean. There was no waterheater or coffeemachine in the room. The had coffee in the lobby at 20 DKK a cup, which is something I would expect for free in a 4-star hotel.

We chose a room with a patio. The chairs in the patio were uncomfortable, and there was no pillows available. When sitting on the pation in the evening, we really understood what a poor location this was for us. The hotel is located between the access roads to the color line and fjord line terminals, and the traffic was quite annoying. I guess this is an ok place to live for the last night before going on the ferry, but i would recommend others that they find a place a bit further from the dock.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarquinia, Italy
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has large windows and very spacious rooms. The staff is kind but not very quick with serving good in the restaurant. Nice indoor pool, solarium and a small gym all available free of charge. Price is high but in line with other options in the area. Very conveniently placed a few minutes away from ferry piers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaga Hotel

Address: Willemoesvej 1, Hirtshals, Hjoerring 9850, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Hjoerring > Hirtshals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hirtshals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Skaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.