We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Cebu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Mactan Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in Cebu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It was a last minute booking and the preferred resorts were all fully booked or available rooms were too pricey. I went for Costabella having seen both positive and negative comments and seeing that they had so many reviews and feedback too. Overall I would say it was a pleasant stay. I thought that the accomodation itself was not that expensive so I wasnt expecting anything luxurious and thought I would splash out on the food instead as the kids love their food! Food was thankfully super, drinks were a bit pricey, hospitality was great and everyone was generally helpful and very friendly. The hotel design was very traditional filipino/spanish interiors although the rooms could do with refreshing. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms by the pool which was near the restaurant area and beach. The beach wasnt that great but good enough for little kids to play in the sand and for grabbing a tan, but not so much for swimming.

Dinner was fabulous with a group of guitar playing singers serenading you while you eat. It is not far from the airport and took us around 45 mins to the city centre. There are a lot of other activities you can do but it is good enough for relaxing and eating good food if staying for a couple of days only and you are not too fussed with not having a long stretch of beach.

The rooms could do with better materials on what to do and where to go to advertise Cebu more although you can speak to someone in reception about this who will explain. I had a full body massage at their Spa which was beautifully decorated and made the atmosphere more relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear CJean28,

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Trip Advisor. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. You will be pleased to know that by next month, we shall embark on a refreshing new look for our 24 Deluxe Poolside Rooms. When this is accomplished we shall have completed all our 156 rooms with fresh and relaxing Filipino-Spanish inspired design that will ensure your comfortable stay in Costabella.

Our home-grown Chef will be delighted to hear that your children loved our food. Likewise, thank you for appreciating our hospitable Team. We take pride in them and they remain our strongest asset. Indeed, our Maranao-inspired Spa has received many compliment on its spa treatments and relaxing ambiance.

We shall look into your valuable suggestion regarding our marketing materials in the rooms and see how we can improve it further. Currently these information is available from our Guest Service Team for a more personalized service.

We eagerly look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    129
    64
    17
    20
See reviews for
80
88
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Expecting a great holiday there from the pictures shown on the internet.
Not great. In fact disappointing. Beach is muddy. Food not great. Beer is expensive. Counter staff not that friendly. Will definitely not be going back there again.

Room Tip: Might as well stay in Cebu downtown. Can get cheaper and more pleasant hotels. We stayed at Alpa Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear BTL,

Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. It is through integrity and hard work that we continue to be in the industry for 33 years and counting, thus, we do not alter our photos on the website. It is a concern to us when we get reviews that is contrary to the general feedback we receive. More so, when it pertains to our Team members. Our genuine and caring Team is our pride and is acknowledge in many Trip Advisor reviews.

Please e-mail me directly at mktg@costabellaresort.com so we may be able to get the specifics of your concern and hope that you give us another opportunity to experience the warm welcome and caring service we are known for.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

my family loves here. we stayed here for one night only but we wish to stay longer. we got three rooms at the second floor. staff/service/food/facilities/pool are all very well but the beach area and the location is not. a bit far from restaurants, city and establishments. enjoyed it here. will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Armeneloise,
 
Thank you for choosing us for your family bonding. We highly appreciate that you and your family loves it in Costabella.
 
Mactan is developing really fast and restaurants have emerged within 1-1.5 kilometer distance from the Resort. I must say that one night is too short for you to explore this beautiful island, I highly recommend that you stay longer the next time.
 
Costabella provides a free one way trip to SM City and Ayala Center daily.  Both malls are located in Cebu City. which is about 20-30 kilometers away from the Resort. Seats are limited, so we encourage that you book a day ahead.
 
We anticipate your next visit with eagerness, see you really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My first taste of Cebuano Hospitality and I shall be coming back for more.

We had just an overnight stay here during our 3 day 2 night Cebu trip. I still wished that we extended our hotel stay here. It was our first time to visit Cebu/Mactan so we had limited idea what to expect. We reached the hotel from the airport in under an hour, it's a quaint gem hidden midst rice/plant fields and free grazing goats. Yes, the goats roaming around the area was a delight because you don't get to see that at all here in Manila. The hotel design was refreshing very Filipino indigenous chic. But what was more impressive than the design was the courteous hotel staff. They were very polite, kind mannered and offered to help us with our Cebu itinerary. Early check-in is possible. They have free one way shuttle to Cebu city which your party can enlist in (minimal slots available to ask about it asap).

We stayed in the Standard room (good for up to 3) in the main building (away from the pool). The area is very quiet, ideal for individuals who want peace and quiet. The room was fully equipped, air condition unit was optimal, bathroom had a shower and tub and there's cable tv. Toiletries and towels were ample. The room design was tropical with complimented the hotel's over all theme. Wifi is available in their hallways but the signal is strongest at their lobby.

There are 2 filtered pools; one operational even until 10 pm with lifeguard. The pools were clean save for the occasional leaf here and there. I am a beach type of girl so I spend a lot of time by the sand. The beach area was small (but not too little stretch of sand), no rocky areas though. We didn't try the breakfast buffet the next day because we left as early as 7 am to have our island tour but we did try their dinner selections. We had the typical pizza and pasta combo. I recommend that you try their pizzas. Imagine eating pizza around 9 pm while listening to live Filipino instrument playing artist who sing any song you request them too. Just adds to the charm of the hotel.

Hailing transportation (taxi) can be arrange via the front desk even the night before your departure. I advise future visitors to don't be afraid to coordinate with the front desk because they are VERY accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Angel A,

Thank you for your wonderful reviews and for sharing it with Trip Advisor. We are elated by your feedback. Indeed the warm and genuine caring service that you experienced in Costabella is a reflection of our beautiful Cebuano Culture. These and our delectable dishes remain the strongest assets of the Resort.

We appreciate your recommendation of our pizzas, with the Rondalla indeed one’s evening is complete already. All the more when you take a full meal at any of our restaurants!

We continue to improve on our rooms and facilities to complement the overall experience of our guests. We are glad that you liked what you saw. We have more developments to come before the year ends that will definitely be enjoyed by our guests.

Do visit Cebu and Costabella soon and experience our beautiful culture all over again.

We look forward to that day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

we had a room in a pool view,room were very clean,staffs are very friendly,the place is not so crowded and far from the noise of the city,so my boyfriend and i were able to relax,just the right place that we are looking for. Buffet Breakfast is so yummy!!and the foods at their two restaurants as well. Overall,its a wonderful experience..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mahi818,

We are glad that you and your boyfriend had a relaxing stay and find Costabella the right place for you. Our Team will be so happy to hear that they were part of your wonderful experience in the Resort. Our Chef in particular will be thrilled to know how you liked our buffet breakfast.

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We shall eagerly wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went there without booking in advance, the staff were very pleasant, and very helpful with assistance of the baggage. The room was very clean, and smelt fresh too. The Price Included a Full Buffet Breakfast, which was an assortment of International Foods. The Service Of The Staff was excellent. The Location of the Hotel was only 30. Minutes, from the Airport. I Recommend this Hotel to anybody...

Room Tip: Book In Advance To Get A Beach View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear 714George,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate that we come highly recommended by you!

Our Team will be most delighted to hear your appreciation of their genuine and caring service. They remain our pride and greatest asset next to our delicious food.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked Costabella after inquired whether there's a company event on the horizon (see previous reviews) and was pleasantly surprised that the occupancy rate was low so it wasn't crowded. The hotel allowed us to check in early and check out late the very next day so we spent our time eating and getting massages in the hotel.

We had a wonderful turn around trip at the hotel because the food was great and the staff were extremely friendly. Since it was low season, we were able to enjoy the pool and beach without much of a problem. However, I can see that if the resort was fully booked, there isn't enough public space to accommodate all the guest in the public areas.

A few things that are worth mentioning: When we were there, the construction of new rooms or wing was ongoing right next to the beach. The construction is scheduled to last until December and it ends around 8 in the evenings. The beach of the hotel is very small and it is "fenced in" with only one opening to the ocean so it's not visually appealing. When we went out on a boat, we had to walk through the village instead of having the boat just picks us up by the hotel. The hotel has a special arrangement with the boats and the price is higher. We paid p2,000 for 3 passengers but had to walk around the village which is not a big problem

Overall, we had a great time at the resort and spa thanks to the friendly staff and customer oriented service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Kat_Donsol,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time in Costabella. Our Team will be most delighted when we share your wonderful reviews.

To improve the quality stay of our guests we have scheduled renovation programs. The daily work normally finishes before 6 pm, but due to poor weather condition, overtime could not be avoided for a few days. Our apologies for the inconvenience it has caused you. We are happy to inform you that the renovation of the East Wing Extension is scheduled to finish on July 22, 2014 not on December.

Our breakwater, which is approved by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, is designed to cushion the impact of strong waves and to avoid coastal erosion. During high tide it is covered with sea water and is hardly noticeable.

The Resort has a dive shop concessionaire that is licensed to operate and has a good reputation in handling boat trips. For the safety of our guests we refrain from endorsing outside vendors whom we do not know. Only licensed boat operators are allowed access to dock at the Resort.
Nevertheless our guests are free to choose the service that they prefer.

We appreciate you feedback and we look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Travelocity so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.