We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Mactan Island
leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We flew from Manila on Friday and stayed until Sunday night for my issues bday.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and learnt our names on the first evening!
The rooms were spacious and clean but there is some building taking place just outside tr bedroom windows which could do with a warning in case you get a surprise!
The breakfast buffet had a good variety of good and some was freshly cooked. The evening meals were delicious as were the cocktails- especially the frozen piña collada and green goddess with an added nip of rum!
The Sunday buffet lunch was cold unfortunately and did not live up to the same standards as the rest of their food but this didn't change our overall lovely experience.
A cracking weekend away all in all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Siobhan h,

We are glad you chose Costabella for your weekend vacation. Thank you for appreciating the genuine and caring service of our Team. We treat our guests like family members and endeavor to know their names by heart.

It is great that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. Our Piña Colada and the Green Goddess, which by the way is our signature drink, is quite popular with our guests. We try to take extra care in ensuring that guests have a delightful meal and a restful sleep. Pardon us if we have overlooked the temperature of the food served during the Sunday Lunch Buffet, we shall discuss this with our Food and Beverage Team to ensure that our quality standards are always met.

Please do visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    116
    58
    17
    19
See reviews for
71
79
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in Costabella Tropical beach hotel and it we are very satisfied with their service. The staffs were very accommodating and hospitable. The rooms were clean and spacious. They offer massage and spa as well in affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Crixicon,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Costabella .

Thank you for your good reviews and for appreciating the service quality and hospitality of our Team.

We are sure our Spa concessionaire will be glad to hear that you enjoyed their services.

We look forward to having you again with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

2 night stay.

All staff are very kind and has a Hospitality.

I asked staff to print out my business documents, they printed out and immediately.
Much appreciated.

If souvenir sell some snack, chocolate, ice cream evaluation for guest would be increase.

Also security condition is good.
Will visit again.

Thanks!



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear srsdb23,

Our Team is happy to know that you have appreciated our hospitality and immediate attention to your business needs.

Thank you for your valuable inputs on the Gift Shop. We shall bring up your suggestion to our concessionaire for their consideration. 

Likewise, we are glad that you appreciate the safe & secure environment of the resort.

It will be a pleasure to have you once again with us, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hello

well I was there and hotel staff co-operation and the look and the location is quite cool in this very competitive rates accommodation was very good

service is excellent. as I am vegetarian I got some of extra foods stuff which I was not thinking

Thanks

Yousuf

Room Tip: Pool side room are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Ymakka,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Costabella.  Our Team is most happy to hear about your kind appreciation of our genuine and caring service. We hope you have enjoyed the selection of vegetarian dishes at our restaurants.

It has been our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived very early before the check in time and yet they served us with a good service and cool & delicious welcome drinks. The room is cool and clean plus the bathroom is big. The two swimming pools are just simple but with a style of having a bridge and such. The beach may be quite small but it is fair enough to have fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Clare D,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Costabella.

We are pleased that you felt truly welcomed at our Resort. Our Team is always happy to be of service to all of our guests and feel rewarded knowing that our guests brought home good memories with them.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved the variety of food from their breakfast buffet. Service was excellent. The room was spacious. The ambiance was awesome for those seeking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. No problem going to the city though since they provide a shuttle that leaves every 10am. It would take you to SM or Ayala center for free. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Hunniezee,

Thank you! We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the overall services at Costabella.

Our entire Team endeavors to create a wonderful experience for our guests and we are glad that you brought home good memories of your stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Girlfriend and I have just returned from a 10 night stay in Costabella.

We were in the Premier Deluxe Poolside room and it was very comfortable.

The bed was huge, probably the biggest I have ever seen and comfy too, the bathroom was a decent size and the balcony was great with a nice view over the pool area.
The hotel had everything we needed for our stay, whether relaxing on the private beach, water sports, arranged tours or dining in one of the two restaurants.

The breakfast buffy was exceptional and the staff really went all out to provide great food.
All other meals were of a high standard also.

The hotel is located around 45min drive to Cebu city for SM Mega Mall at a cost of approx. 500 peso one way negotiable.

Security at the hotel is very strict also as every time we left or returned by taxi there were 2 security gates we had to stop at giving our room number and they would also take the ID of the taxi driver and return it to them upon departure which made it very reassuring and safe.

We missed breakfast a couple of times due to a early morning trip and an early morning check out but the hotel gave us a packed breakfast to take with us consisting of sandwiches fruit and a drink so that was nice.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would say that if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay in Cebu away from the city we would definitely recommend Costabella.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. stv2013,

We are glad to hear that your overall experience in Costabella has been wonderful.

We genuinely care for our guests. It means a lot to us when our effort to provide them with a restful sleep, a delightful dining experience and total relaxation is acknowledged because it reaffirms that we are doing the right thing.

Our Costabella King-size bed is truly one of a kind and is 50% bigger than the standard king. It was designed to give our guests more than the comfort than they need, adding value to their experience. This and other details to our room has been carefully thought of to provide our guests a restful sleep.

We put a good selection of dishes on the breakfast buffet because we want our guests to start their day right. We pride ourselves with a Team who does best in taking pleasure to be of service to our guests.

Cebu is one with the lowest crime rate in the country but we endeavor to double our security because we want our guests to achieve total relaxation.

We hope you have tried our free daily one-way shopping trip to SM City and Ayala scheduled at 10 a.m.

Thank you very much for your appreciation, our Team will be most happy to read about your great reviews.

Do visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.