We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved the variety of food from their breakfast buffet. Service was excellent. The room was spacious. The ambiance was awesome for those seeking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. No problem going to the city though since they provide a shuttle that leaves every 10am. It would take you to SM or Ayala center for free. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Hunniezee,

Thank you! We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the overall services at Costabella.

Our entire Team endeavors to create a wonderful experience for our guests and we are glad that you brought home good memories of your stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    92
    48
    15
    17
See reviews for
55
67
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Girlfriend and I have just returned from a 10 night stay in Costabella.

We were in the Premier Deluxe Poolside room and it was very comfortable.

The bed was huge, probably the biggest I have ever seen and comfy too, the bathroom was a decent size and the balcony was great with a nice view over the pool area.
The hotel had everything we needed for our stay, whether relaxing on the private beach, water sports, arranged tours or dining in one of the two restaurants.

The breakfast buffy was exceptional and the staff really went all out to provide great food.
All other meals were of a high standard also.

The hotel is located around 45min drive to Cebu city for SM Mega Mall at a cost of approx. 500 peso one way negotiable.

Security at the hotel is very strict also as every time we left or returned by taxi there were 2 security gates we had to stop at giving our room number and they would also take the ID of the taxi driver and return it to them upon departure which made it very reassuring and safe.

We missed breakfast a couple of times due to a early morning trip and an early morning check out but the hotel gave us a packed breakfast to take with us consisting of sandwiches fruit and a drink so that was nice.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would say that if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay in Cebu away from the city we would definitely recommend Costabella.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. stv2013,

We are glad to hear that your overall experience in Costabella has been wonderful.

We genuinely care for our guests. It means a lot to us when our effort to provide them with a restful sleep, a delightful dining experience and total relaxation is acknowledged because it reaffirms that we are doing the right thing.

Our Costabella King-size bed is truly one of a kind and is 50% bigger than the standard king. It was designed to give our guests more than the comfort than they need, adding value to their experience. This and other details to our room has been carefully thought of to provide our guests a restful sleep.

We put a good selection of dishes on the breakfast buffet because we want our guests to start their day right. We pride ourselves with a Team who does best in taking pleasure to be of service to our guests.

Cebu is one with the lowest crime rate in the country but we endeavor to double our security because we want our guests to achieve total relaxation.

We hope you have tried our free daily one-way shopping trip to SM City and Ayala scheduled at 10 a.m.

Thank you very much for your appreciation, our Team will be most happy to read about your great reviews.

Do visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a 4/5 star hotel - a romantic setting for a couple wanting a break from Hong Kongs Rush hour.
Costabella looks the ideal getaway from the website pictures,reality is its far from the truth.
Cebu Pacific Airlines into Cebu Airport,have we landed back in time? The Airport is crumbling and in need of a major overhaul of investment and refurbishment. It reminds me of an airport in the uk - Coventry pretty much like the city too. Immigration and baggage quick and efficient unlike uk border control!
Outside we are greeted by our airport transfer a white Toyota saloon,the driver unpleasant and drove at speed through the streets of Cebu. I must say if you have never experienced the traffic in the Philippines,its an experience in itself,there are no traffic rules and as for the law,its not adhered. You should insist on using a seatbelt and life insurance.
The Costabella is situated around 25mins from the Airport,although the route is full of shanty villages and roaming goats and dogs. Entrance to the Costabella is two sets of large gates manned by unarmed security guards,have we entered a prison or are the locals are unsound.

Costabella Tropical Resort - We are greeted with smiles,orange juice and a warm welcome.
We are told that it is standard procedure that rooms are only available until after 3pm and we would have to wait until such a time,thou we could use the facilities for the next couple of hours?
We were also informed that 3000 pesos would be taken from our credit card as standard with hotel policy.
We also observed building work being carried out adjacent to the reception.
Please note you are charged standard 10% surcharge and tax on everything you purchase.
Looking around 2 pools, 2 restaurants, a small enclosed beach with a bar lots of palm trees and pool and table tennis tables.
A small shop that sold flip flops and postcards.
We had a bite to eat and a local premium lager "Red Horse" 6% alcohol.
We made our own way to the room 5th floor Rm 592 view outside the room was pleasent an ocean view with an island and boats.
The room itself on 1st impressions was that it had tasteful decor and furniture with a large lcd television with cable, the balcony looking down onto the swimming pool.
Thou the bathroom let it down, it was so out dated and poor facilities. The decor was awful with the fittings coming away from the tiles and rust running down the fittings. Lack of toiletries and towels which were past there sell by date.
The swimming pools are in need of refurbishment as there are holes from decay and paint peeling away.
The slide which was fun,has cracks in the staircase,and this is an accident waiting to happen.
Plenty of chairs by the pool, and the service and pool attendants are in supply.
The Beach and Water looks nothing like the website, the concrete walls look awful,a lick of white paint wouldn't go amiss to hide the fact that its a permanent fixture.
The bean bags and bar with chilled music,is a nice touch but for a bar to close at 10pm is a downsize.
The Restaurant menu is good thou the price to food doesn't warrant in my opinion.

Summary - The hotel needs some modernisation and needs to stop the locals heckling you at the beach.
Food and Drink needs to be re-looked at for hotel comparison.
The Spa was good but they shouldn't insist on tips.
Would i visit again, Yes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Traveller007248,

Thank you for your feedback and very helpful comments.

We regret about the sight that welcomed you at the airport. Our local government is aware of the situation and preparation for its improvement is ongoing.

Having two secured gates at the resort should not be a cause for alarm but rather an assurance that we genuinely care for our guests. The warm smiles that greeted you certainly impressed you.
With 156 rooms we find it most suited to allow check-in time at 3:00 pm to well prepare the room for the next occupant while our swimming facilities are made available for your pleasure. The incidental deposit of P3,000 is also a standard practice in the industry. The 10% that you found on top of your bill is service charge and the 15% is government tax.

We will never compromise the safety of our guests nor wait for our facilities to endanger them before we work on renovations. We have recently completed the renovation of both our Superior Rooms and the L-shaped swimming pool. The renovation of the free-form swimming pool will follow next month and so with the breakwater at the beachfront very soon.

Thank you for liking our food and for enjoying the Beach Bar. To give consideration to our in-house guests who are resting or sleeping, we keep it open only until 10 p.m. Another bar at our La Marina Restaurant though is open 24 hours for guests who want to extend. As for the food pricing, rest assured that we will evaluate it with our F&B Team.

Likewise, thank you for enjoying our spa. Allow us to point out with the spa concessionaire your concerns about tipping. Along with our local government, we are finding ways to deal with those hecklers beyond our perimeter walls who are not connected with the hotel.

We Filipinos are known for our hospitality, sincerity and warmth as you have experienced with us. We hope you brought home fond memories of Costabella.

Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel on our way to palawan. The hotel is a 4 star hotel for sure. We had a deal with booking for 70€ with breakfast included, two adults, one 7 years old child and a 11 months baby. After being around Philippines, eating and drinking in a hotel like this is very expensive, but the other option is to take a taxi to the main street or walk 1. 5km on a lonely road. A meal here can be around 2000php and outside we eat for 250, for the 2 adults and the kid.
There is a small private beach, nothing to fancy but is better than nothing.
The pools are not very big, but one has a slide for kids and adults, so they can have some fun. A lot of tourist from Korea and Japan and some Russians.
If you need to stablish an starting point before your trip around island is a good option and you can feel the security of the hotel. Also a good option before leaving Cebu by air.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Alexandrox1000,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We are glad that you and your family had fun swimming in our pool.

Our restaurants have dishes with price ranging from P180 - P720 + per serving good for 1-3 persons. A fairly decent meal may be arranged for you at less than P2,000. Nevertheless, nearby restaurants within 1.5 km. may be an alternative option.

Choices of transportation are easily available and we hope Bell Service was able to assist you on that.

A free one-way shopping trip to the big malls in the city also departs daily at 10 am. We hope you did not miss this option.

It was our pleasure to have you and we look forward to the next opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just came back from this resorts yesterday,was staying there 28Jul till 30th Jul in Premier Deluxe room with my wifey..I myself is a Travel Agent and i might concern more about the services..My experience might abit longer..

The room for Premier Deluxe is beyond my imagination because i booked online and i only can imagine by the photos.The room is very suitable for honeymooners as all the decorations are in wooden inspired.Most important is the big King size bed.

The private beach is nice for its scenery,however there are some annoying sea activities staff (usually loitering around the beach fience wall), they would yelled at you try to sell you with their snorkelling,diving etc packages. I think the resort management should do something about this as it might feel annoyed to customer who wanted to have a peaceful sun bath..

All the staff in there are friendly,greet you with a smile all day long but there is one staff had the most credit amongst them,Grace..

Grace is the tour sales representative if im not wrong. She is so attentive when i need help in some of the packages,even in house keeping service..On that night i requested to have my laptop to get connected,she tried her best but still couldnt fix it. She promised will get it fix the next day morning. After my breakfast for the next day she did asked is my laptop get connected even im totally forgotten about the case.Thats is the service that everyone needed in a resort.

Overall, it is a great resort..My wife asked me to bring along our kids in future,no hesitate i promised her. i definitely will offer this resort to my client in the future

Room Tip: Premier Deluxe Room Family Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr. NELSONDANZ,
Thank you for your great reviews.

We are pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that you love the set-up of our Premiere Deluxe room. We put much effort in ensuring that the décor and arrangement are just right to create a relaxing atmosphere for our guests. This is completed by the Costa King bed which is custom made to be bigger than standard king size beds to offer more comfort.

Our Team will be very happy to know that they have made your stay exceptionally good. We take pride in a teammate like Grace who genuinely cares for our guests. This is one of the reasons why we have remained in the industry for 32 years now.

We understand your sentiments about the vendors beyond our walls. We are in constant communication with the authorities and the community with regards to this concern. We have suggested that they carry signs so they do not have to shout and bother our guests. Rest assured that we will constantly monitor improvement in this aspect.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to having you and your family again with us.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family of three spent 5 nights at the Costabella in October 2012, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The facilities are of high quality and the staff are friendly and polite. Rooms are big, and we slept on the biggest bed I've ever seen.

The two swimming pools allow for a separation between kids and couples, and the whole hotel is WiFied.

While the hotel food is relatively inexperience, there is little options for food outside of the complex, however. Also, the rooms face the pool, so when other guests make noises in the morning it wakes up the whole complex.

From the airport it is less than a 30 minute drive, making the getaway trouble free.

Room Tip: There are two levels of rooms, allowing you to control your costs, or upgrade for a bit more room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Morry M,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! Our Team will be most happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered due to the other guests who may have been a little loud while swimming in the pool near your room. We do endeavor to minimize this concern by opening that pool at 8:00 am and closing it at 8:00 pm.

We look forward to your next visit and I will make certain that our Guest Service Team provide you with more information on other dining options that are located about 15-20 minutes away by car from the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is on a secluded area of Mactan Island. The hotel amenities are acceptable enough but dont warrant the price. We found the food and beverage ok, but not worth the price charged. To go anywhere from the hotel you need to take transport, the hotel car is horridly overpriced and you are up for an argument with nearly every taxi driver because the hotel is so secluded. Having said all that, if you just want to chill out by the pool, its not a bad place to be

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool seem the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mr. RossH667,
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We appreciate that you enjoyed relaxing by our two swimming pools and found our food and beverages as well as amenities okay.

We are sorry though that you found our prices high. Our prices do include the mandatory 12% VAT, 3% local tax and 10% service charge. Many of our guests appreciate the private ambiance that we offer and we do consider guest who would like to visit Cebu City by offering a complimentary Shopping trip once a day to SM and Ayala Malls. We regret the inconvenience that the local taxi drivers put you through. We are in constant communication with the local tourism office in trying to find solutions to address this world wide concern regarding taxi drivers who take advantage of tourists.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.