We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay coupled with a nice private beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Mactan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay coupled with a nice private beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have booked a premium poolside room and is able to enjoy the sea view right from my balcony. The room is very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff are very customer oriented which makes the hotel stay even better. The food at the restaurant is also good.

This is a family oriented hotel and I can see a lot of kids enjoying themselves at the pool. The private beach at the hotel is a plus point too.

My room is on the 7th level and I can still hear the band playing their music at 11pm. As such, those who got themselves a lower level floor must be prepared to bear with the loud music at night. Wifi is only available at my balcony and not in my room.

Overall, it has been a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Daghang salamat! Thank you for the great review.

We are glad you enjoyed stay at the hotel. We are very proud of our staff who do take every opportunity to provide all our guest genuine and caring service.

We are happy to know you liked the food at the restaurant and were satisfied with our room.
Yes we are very family oriented and our Guest Service Team most especially does take an effort to engage children in different activities at the resort.

We are aware of the sound levels of the local music group and do limit their hours to 10 pm, as not to bother the guests at night. We are sorry if it caused any inconvenience.

We take this concern seriously and we will investigate further.

The issue on WiFi reach is being addressed and we hope to improve it by your next stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    101
    55
    16
    17
See reviews for
60
76
25
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As a frequent traveler I've been in a number of Mactan beach hotels (Tambuli for cheaper stays and Shangri-la Mactan for splurging), and I must say Costabella impressed.

We stayed from the 1st to the 4th of Feb, and nearly everything was excellent. Lovely well-furnished room, large pools, friendly staff, and most importantly, a clean and spacious beach area, with lots of beach chairs (and beanbags!), no sea urchins or jellyfish during our stay, and delightfully little seaweed. As mentioned before, the staff are the highlight of the hotel with all of them never failing to greet us good morning/afternoon/evening. Peewee at the front desk was particularly helpful, along with Don in the Marina restaurant. Breakfast is buffet-stye even if the meal stub says "plated breakfast" and hot dishes rotate every day, with pancakes and french toast, and a soup, cereal, salad, and bread stations as constant. This hotel also serves the crispiest bacon I have ever had. Delicious.

They also have an in-house spa, Léma, where I tried their Ngindalas sa Kalalawas (or all-natural papaya wrap) and it was pretty good, if a bit expensive. For PHP 1,800 you can usually get a combination wrap and massage elsewhere. My over-salted and over-sunned skin appreciated the respite from the heat.

The only disadvantage I can think of to staying here is that you don't get internet access if you're in a standard room and that the hotel itself is quite far from civilization (such as groceries or restaurants). You're basically reliant on hotel food for the entire time unless you think ahead and bring in snacks. We didn't think ahead, but I must say the two restaurants have a wide array of choices and large serving sizes. Pricier than eating at, say, Jollibee, but well worth your cash.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (far from the restaurant and pool area) are really quiet and are nearer the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Daghang salamat! Thank you for the great review.

We are very pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed our food, facilities and Spa.

We listen to our guests and we will seriously look into your concerns about our WiFi connection.

Pewee, Danny, and the rest of the team will be happy to know that you have appreciated their quality of service.

We are extremely proud of all our team members as they genuinely care and look forward to every opportunity to serve our guests.

Please do visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The positive things first: the staff is very nice and helpful, the restaurant is reasonable and really good. BUT ...

... the hotel itself is built on a small area: 3 small pools, 3 kinds of rooms (we booked the superior suite room), 2 restaurants and the beach are packed on a small area. The private beach itself is very small with only a few beach chairs.

The windows and the walls of the hotel are very thin. I heard the band playing in the 24-hour-restaurant until 3 am (!). The incredible thing was that noboy of the staff stopped the band from playing until 3 am. About 10 russians were drinking in the restaurant. As this is a "resort hotel" and not a "youth hostel" I expected that there is a manager who takes care about noisy drunk guests - but there wasn`t. Next, at 4 am the neighbooring rooster started to crow really loud. Thanks to the thin walls I heard it very loud. Again, I was unable to sleep until i crawled half-dead to the breakfast. The strange thing is, that the most expensivest rooms are located close to the pool and restaurant (=noisy from 7 am to 8 pm). The cheapest rooms are located in the quiet area of the hotel. What`s the meaning of this?

The next day we changed our rooms further away from the restaurant, towards the beach. In the new room, it stank incredibly from the drain. But at least we couldn`t hear the 24-hour-restaurant`s noise anymore.

Summary: the "resort" (I wouldn`t call it a resort) is endeavour to become a resort-type hotel. But it`s far away from that level.

If you are a diver and you only eat and sleep in the hotel - it may be OK. If you are a couple/family who also wants to enjoy the "resort" itself (like a real resort is supposed to be) then I wouldn`t recommend it. As young couple it`s hard to relax anyway, as the pool is filled with kids all the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for commending our staff and the food at our restaurants. Indeed, we have received many positive feedbacks on our hospitable staff and delicious food.

We sincerely regret the disturbance that you experienced.

We are quite perplexed however with the disturbance at our restaurant, La Marina, as the Rondalla, a 4-man guitar ensemble, performs until 10:00 in the evening in consideration of our guests. As for the noise from other guests, we regret that sometimes our guests get carried away, however, we do call their attention when we receive a concern from any of our guests. During your stay, the Hotel was fully booked and had the pleasure of serving over 16 different nationalities.

We take your feedback seriously and will look into how we can improve further our efforts to provide our guests a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

i've planned our family vacation more than one month before the scheduled date so i looked for best hotels/resorts comparing each and every cost-location-reviews items. finally i decided on this hotel-resort because of the reviews it received on trip advisor. when we checked-in the welcome reception was not as welcoming i expect it to be compared to other hotel-resorts i've visited before on their level.i have three young kids/daugthers so i have requested for extra be. After waiting until time for sleeping they did not even bother to inform me they cannot find one or find another way to make our stay comfortable. maybe they are too busy looking after other guests and they have no time to return my request. anyway, i learned my lesson from this resort "if you are not VIP" then do not stay here. On restaurant staff is great, he'll advise you if you already ordered too much that maybe your group cannot consume all, thanks to that guy. swimming time: great pools, we loved it, nice view of the sea, although i though we can swim at their beach but better judge it by yourselves if you can swim or not . finally on checking-out, it took me more than 30 minutes waiting for my turn because of so many guests. over-all its ok to stay here but i hope you learn from my experience. PS. no danggit at breakfast?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Resty2010,

Thank you for making time to send us your feedback.

Our Team strives to take every opportunity to make all our guests feel special. It is unfortunate and we apologize that some areas of the Hotel were unable to meet your immediate needs and satisfaction.

Your feedback will certainly help us improve even further in our continuing efforts to promote genuine and caring service to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for a few days in Cebu at somewhere other than our previous favorite hotel. Our four days have been fantastic. The hotel service is excellent; staff are friendly and courteous.
Open air restaurant and cafe are relaxing with a reasonably priced menu. Facilities are very well maintained and always clean (not always true in Philippine hotels).
We will be coming back with the rest of the family.

Room Tip: Choose the new rooms "premier deluxe" or the refurbished "seaview suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Daghang Salamat! Thank your for the kind feedback.

We are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our restaurant and facilities.

Our team looks forward to providing you with the same excellent service in your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were looking for a beach resort in Mactan but were on a tight budget. This is one of the hotels we called up and were thrilled to find out of that they were offering rooms at discounted rates!

We were amazed, we got the premium deluxe room at a very low price! It is one of their best rooms, it had a good view of the sunrise, it was very spacious and comfy.

We had dinner at La Marina restaurant. The food was good and we were also serenaded with good music! We later ventured out and tried their beach bar. What a perfect experience to have drinks while seated out on the beach (you sit on bean bags) and marvel at the stars!

Heading back to the room was a treat! I still couldn't believe we managed to afford the room!

We slept so well, it was peaceful. It was like paradise! Customer service also is exceptional!

My stay here is memorable, I definitely recommend this (good if you can get it at a discounted price)!

Room Tip: Try the premiere deluxe room at the 7th floor! Its got high ceiling (giving you a feel of a having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Daghang Salamat! Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our varied amenities and had a pleasant sleep at our Premiere Deluxe.

Our team hopes to be of service again in your future trips to Cebu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A long, narrow space compressed between two buildings leads to a sheltered beach. Rooms were adequate though our toilet overflowed on the first flush and a call for a clean up crew drew a visit but no clean up. The restaurant and bar offer a fair range of options, so most can find something suitable to order, and getting to other places can be a little challenging, so you're sort of a captive there. The house spa provided an excellent combo massage (Filipino, Thai, Japanese).

Room Tip: Higher up is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are sorry to hear that we have fallen short on your expectations.  Rest assured that we will discuss with our Team better ways to improve on our service.

We are glad though that you have enjoyed our Spa services.  Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.