We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 to 4 star hotel, good value, good place to scuba dive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach

Save Saved
You added Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maribago Beach, 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 37 hotels in Mactan Island
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“3.5 to 4 star hotel, good value, good place to scuba dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in December 2010. The hotel is on a stretch of white sand beach. The beach is nice, but it gets very shallow during low tide. The hotel is above average. The room is big, but dark. It's probably designed that way to save energy as it gets really hot during the day even in December! We checked into a room on the second floor, but the air conditioning didn't work, we were quickly changed into a room on the ground floor. The bath room is huge and unique and the floor was covered with stones. We found that interesting, but I can see why some may found it uncomfortable to walk on with your bare feet. Most of the tourists are from Korea. The buffet breakfast was included in the room and was good. We tried their seafood restaurant and the seafood was very fresh. We sat outside the restaurant watching the sunset before dinner, it was spectacular. Also the cultural show and the buffet dinner at the main restaurant were recommended. Wi-Fi throughout the hotel area were intermittent. Hotel staffs were very friendly. There were three swimming pools, not too crowded. One was just right outside of our room. There's a convenience store and a Korean restaurant nearby when you are tired of the hotel restaurants. We also went scuba diving with the dive shop at the hotel, it was low season, my husband and I were the only two people on the boat! The boat was older than most other diving places I have been to, but the dive master gave us undivided attention. We were so happy, the next day we chartered the boat to a underwater park nearby. For a $80, we get the boat for the whole day, lunch was included. There were bbq meat and fresh fruits for lunch, the diving was very good, it was a very pleasant day. This resort is really a great place, good value for the money. Don't forget to check out Cebu city. There's a large shopping mall in Cebu city where you can buy your souvenirs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    202
    67
    25
    15
See reviews for
39
58
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marikina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at this resort for a day tour.

Pro's:

Good food during weekend buffets
Place is very clean and well maintained
Courteous and friendly staff

Con's:

The beach is not that clean
For day trippers, you are only allowed to use the outdoor shower area (no privacy)
For day trippers, you are only allowed to use the outdoor changing area

Overall:

If you are only to use the pool, then this place is good since the pool is very very nice. However, the beach, is not that desirable to be in as there are floating debris everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

This was a nice weekend getaway from Hong Kong.

We had no trouble getting a taxi from the airport. A word of caution: flights often land early in the morning, and you will want to arrange early check-in in advance, as we heard of people who ended up sitting out in the dark for hours until they could get in.

The food was superb, and extremely cheap compared to North America.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and learned our names within the first few hours!

The rooms need major upgrades. The beds aren't very comfortable, and the washrooms are... Disgusting. They need to put some money into improving things.

The beach is relatively small, but they keep it clean. The worst part of the beach is that locals in the water continuously scream at you to get you to come buy things from them (often services like boat trips). They keep it up for hours, so bring an iPod.

The hotel is very safe. There are armed guards patrolling everywhere.

Across the street is a little convenience store. Go there for some ridiculously cheap and tasty Cebu Rum.

My advice: don't spend all of your time at the resort. Take a taxi to other parts of Cebu. It is cheap, and you'll discover fantastic food, lovely beaches, cheap beer and wonderful people.

This is a great place if you don't spend a lot of time in your hotel room. The newer resorts with nicer rooms are easily 3x the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel is very average. The rooms are not attractive at all. Since I was disappointed with the hotel facilities, I went to ask for a boat trip and that's where my wonderful vacation began!

I booked the boat trip by asking a pool staff late in the afteroon. There is no such a program provided by the hotel. But since the boat was vacant and they quoted a very interesting price, we booked it without hesitation. There were nobody on the boat apart from you and two friendly staff. They drove for half an hour and took you to 2 places to snorkel. The trip was about 2.5 hours from 4pm to 6ish. The sunset was so romantic. I had a great time on the boat with my bf. Awesome!

We went to Bluewater for dinner. The hotel itself is beautiful. It's much better than White Sands!!! We sang along with the live band while the bar was not busy. We had a wonderful night there.

I will recommend you to stay at bluewater and book a sunset boat trip from white sands!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Pros: The staff are friendly and there are lots of them, I'm not sure what they all must do. Ponds with large carp.
Cons: Rooms are bit shabby and worn looking. No bathrobes. No kettle (you have to phone 100 and ask for a flask of hot water to be delivered to your room). The plumbing makes you feel like you are on a small island. The beach is tiny, about 20 meters long and not much space to sit down, you also can't walk along the beach as it's sectioned off with a wall. Breakfasts are basic, I am amazed how the chef could turn an egg into a bit of rubber.
After 2 days in this hotel we checked out and stayed for 4 nights at the Radisson Blu in Cebu City, this worked out cheaper than White Sands and is 100 times better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We really enjoyed the pools of the resort, especially my only son. The landscape of the resort is good as well. We hope to be back at the resort in the future ;)

Room Tip: You can surf the net for cheaper rates ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu city
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

location is good...ambience is average.rate is too expensive & the staff/crew are soooo terrible! all we know if we go to resorts/hotel or any accommodation,we are there to relax but all they do is monitor you.they kept on calling your room and making countdowns of the guest you have! the people who run this establishment must learn more about hospitality.Philippines is known to be a hospitable people and friendly...but what happened to this resort?it seems that they are just good to the tourist/foreigners.

To the management,you must teach your employees to be nice/accommodating to all your guest! foreign or local guest...you must be fair! it is not just the resort/accommodation/ambiance why your guest kept on coming back to you resort/hotel but it's because of the service you are providing...

we can't relax on what your security has been doing.they kept on tracking on the guest.they kept on checking the guest!

i won't recommend Cebu Whitesands spa/hotel @ Maribago,Cebu Phils.

to the tourists/foreigners I suggest that you go directly to 5star hotels because the rates are almost the same.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach

Address: Maribago Beach, 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu White Sands At Maribago Beach Hotel Mactan Island
Cebu White Sands At Maribago Beach Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.