We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect resort for families with children and relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nalusuan Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Nalusuan Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nalusuan Island Resort
Olango Reef, Cordova,, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 37 hotels in Mactan Island
Greenfield, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect resort for families with children and relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in april. It was about a 45min boat ride from cebu to resort and 1hr back(rougher water going back). Once we arrived we were greeted with shell necklaces by the staff. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Staff carried our bags to our room and informed us where restraunt and rental items were located. Food was just ok. Free breakfast of same things daily of toast egg or sausage and mango. Decent food choices for lunch and dinner. Prices little higher than in cebu but it is still reasonable priced and tasted ok. If u were to stay more than 2 days the menu could use more options. Room service was nice but they never came for dirty dishes unfortunately. Island had like 15 rooms on stilts. Very beautiful views. Basic rooms but clean and romantic views from balcony. No point getting air conditioning cause power cut off during heat of day. It would be better if power stayed on during the day to and add tvs to room. Water is not deep during the day. Perfect for small children to come along. Nice views snorkeling. Lots star fish, fish, sea cucumbers etc. Snorkeling and diving equipment can be rented and all priced very reasonable. After snorkeling there isnt much else to do. Nice place to relax but needs to add jet ski or wave runners etc for other thngs to do and please sell sun screen. U pay ur tab at check out. Got soaked on boat ride back to cebu. Was disappointed was not told water would be choppy and everythng would be soaked including us and all our recently paid laundered clothes in our bags. Thankfully my passport wasnt ruined and my camera was water proof. Owner was extremely nice and friendly and seems to enjoy talking to guests and make sure they had a comfortable stay. We did see 1 poisonous snake during our stay but it slithered away outside. Resort arranged taxi once we got back in cebu. i believe was a fee for boat ride to resort and back. Overall was very nice get away and we enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again with the kids. Perfect romantic get away. Relaxing. Family atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the smallest island we've ever stayed in. It's only about 1 hectare so having the cottages on stilts allowed for several cottages without compromising space. We absolutely loved our stay there! It was about 1 hour from Mactan Island by banka. The staff was very accommodating and the manager was great.

We went scuba diving in the marine sanctuary first before checking in. If you snorkel or dive don't miss this spot. Abundant marine life and lots of corals are what you can expect to see here. When we checked in to our cottage we were in awe. It definitely had an island feel to it. We opened the sliding door that led to the balcony and, oh, my! We were above the water and we could just jump off the balcony into the sea, especially at high tide. It was pretty breezy, if you opened the front door and the sliding door, creating a wind tunnel. It was a pretty basic accommodation but it would ruin the island feel if it wasn't. We had a/c from 6pm to 8am but no hot water. It was not a problem though as it was pretty hot outside.

Food was decent and some items on the menu were not available, but, again, everything had to be brought into the island so it was understandable. We didn't go hungry so it was not a problem. They had wifi at the restaurant, which was a bonus. We didn't expect that.

Our kids, 4- and 5-year olds had a great time there. They loved feeding the fish and swimming with them. They got so excited everytime they found a starfish or a beautiful shell. We stayed for 2 nights and we were not bored, at all. On the second night, our group of 16 were the only ones in the island. It was wonderful to have a private island with a complete staff! I would imagine Tahiti would have a similar feel but would cost a whole lot more!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Website is dry and lack of new pictures and the place is far from main land mactan where the the airport is located but the island is so beautiful and the staff are very nice. The Resort Manager is so smart and very knowledgeable. He even help his staff during the busy day. The resort is crowded during lunch time because lots of tourist from main land visit the resort for SCUBA Diving and Snorkeling. The Resort Manager offered us fishing outside the sanctuary around 100 meters away from the boundary. He even encourage us for SCUBA Diving and he accompanied us. It's our 1st time to do SCUBA Diving and we really enjoyed. We will coming come we more friends. Thank you for everything. Sir Alan please do not resign yet,

Room Tip: No hot shower and tv inside the room. Wifi available at restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went there just for one night and went to another island before so that we were only there when there was no day guest. So close to mactan and far from everything, we were almost the only one to sleep there. Great snorkeling, very photogenic jetty and cool balcony. Having said that the accommodation is totally basic and the food more than average: just don't go there for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Firstly, if you are looking for exciting nightlife, then this resort is NOT for you. The island it is on is tiny - about the size of a football pitch - but if you like relaxing and just lazing around, this place is great for a few days. And with no wifi or mobile phone coverage, you are guaranteed peace and quiet, sort of. We stayed for 2 nights, and its about an hour by boat from Cebu island. The rooms, on stilts over the water, are basic but very nice, and the sound of waves underneath is relaxing. There are no real beaches as such around the island, but the island itself is sandy, so plenty of space to lie around. At low tide, you can walk for miles, and its very shallow and safe. My 6-year old loved it.

The snorkeling is amazing - some of the best I have ever seen, but this does mean the island is fairly full with day-trippers during the day. However they are all gone by nighttime.

It's a single resort, so food is from one restaurant, but it was pretty good, and not too expensive. Yes, more so that you would pay on the mainland, but it has to come a long way.

Staff are ok. Not great, but not bad either. Until we came to leave.

With a connecting flight, we stayed our last day on the island, and had arranged with the island staff to be picked up by car at the other landward end of the boat journey. The boat journey was fine, but when we got to the mainland, no transport. And to make matters worse, absolutely no-one around to help. Calls back to the island were dealt with rudely, with staff saying we had not booked transport, and the hotel switchboard not helping at all. Finally managed to get help from the hotel next door, who took us to a taxi rank to get a taxi to the airport.

Not a great way to end the vacation.

Would I go back? Probably not. It's very small, and whilst nice, I think a second trip may end up being just a little too quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

my family and i stayed there for 1 night. you'd be impressed at first glance. fish and marine life scattered on the sea floor, amazing! but after a while, we got bored, especially the kids. they don't have electricity which is understandable becoz nalusuan is a small island, 30-45 minutes away from the mainland. however, they do have a generator set, but unfortunately, they only turn the thing on at 6pm until 8am in the morning. so during the day, especially if it's humid, it would be uncomfortable to stay inside the room. and there is no television too.

this is a bit tolerable becoz afterall, you're there not to stay inside the room the whole day. but! their food is crazily priced. it's as if you're dining in imperial palace! they serve free breakfast though. but it only consists of a very lightly toast bread, an egg and a teaspoon of jam plus a small glass of juice. and their food service is soo slow. but their staffs are friendly.

this is a good place for snorkelling. but the day we arrived there, the place was jampacked! maybe it's good to visit there on weekdays? anyway, if you love marine life, maybe you'd enjoy more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This tiny and just gorgeous island can be walked across in less than 2 minutes. The food is great, the employees are so friendly and professional. Our rooms were # 14 and 15. They are located right above the water wih an incredible view! At night we could hear and see the fish swimming and feeding below our balcony. The only complaint I have is the old diving equipment thy offer, and the guide who was barely ok. I had many problems with the equipement, having to cut my dive short 30 minutes :(

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nalusuan Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalusuan Island Resort

Address: Olango Reef, Cordova,, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mactan Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nalusuan Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalusuan Island Hotel Mactan Island
Nalusuan Island Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nalusuan Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.