We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few days away from Manila with wife and girls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nalusuan Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nalusuan Island Resort to your Saves list
Nalusuan Island Resort
Olango Reef, Cordova,, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Mactan Island
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Few days away from Manila with wife and girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Thanks for a great week to Raymond and Michael Mendoza for helping us set up a nice few days away from Manila. Make sure you dive the area and ask for the sea food. Great place to relax and get back to nature.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We just recently spent our vacation there; it was our last stop in our itinerary of 11 day vacation in Cebu/Bohol.

Booking:
It was through their website. But there was an issue when they informed me that there was no room available for the dates I selected though I got an email that stated i successfully reserved the room. They sorted it out and the person I talked to was very helpful.

Getting there:
Their rate does not include the boat transfer and you have to pay for it (whooping PHP2000 for a small boat)!!! The boat ride took around 40-45 mins because it couldn't sped off due to the waves. for a big boat, I think the travel time will be just 20 mins max. And there was no life jacket provided!!!

The Resort:
we were excited when we were approaching the island. the water was very clear, very inviting!!! There were staffs waiting for us and gave us seashell necklaces upon arrival... It was a warm welcome. The room/cottage was OK and the bed was comfortable. The cottages are located at the side of the island, they have little verrandas facing the neighbor island and where you can see and feed fishes too! It has a foot bridge to their snorkeling site in marine sanctuary where you can enjoy lots of fishes! They also have a dive shop there. Lots of Island hoppers stop by and include this island in their itinerary. Regarding their staffs, most are accommodating and helpful.

The Dive:
The DMs and boatman were very nice and helpful throughout the dive. The dive site is a steep slope located in the marine sanctuary. The main feature of the dive site was groupers and stingrays. Of course there were also lots of other fishes there but they're nothing compared to my diving experience in Balicasag, Bohol a week earlier (can't help not to mention it!). But still, it was a nice dive. My wife and son enjoyed swimming and snorkeling while waiting for me to surface.

Food:
Their food is just ok. They have small servings of food per order. For me, the food there is expensive. Because it is an island you might say... But it's not that far from the mainland! A PHP20 fruit juice in can that you can buy in the grocery/supermarket costs 4 times more for the guests and 5 times more for the-non guest on that island!

The BAD and Some Observations:

- We reserved an air-conditioned room but the air-conditioner was not working. It was OK on our first night because it was windy but i reported it on our second night because it was humid. I requested for an additional electric fan. They adjusted the room rate on our second night to non-aircon. The first night was not adjusted because they said we did not report it right away :( Well, it shows that they dont check their facilities!

- UNFORTUNATELY the family (and friends) of the resort owner/s were there during our stay. I wanted to dive in the afternoon on our first day to have ample avoiding DCS before flying back home. But, unfortunately the DM said their bosses have a schedule on that afternoon so it's not possible and i can only dive on the next day because the owners will rest. I just shrugged my shoulders and said OK, 24 hours after diving before boarding the plane will do. But it leaves me somewhat negative customer service.

- We had a warm welcome when we arrived the island but we felt the opposite during our checkout. When we arrived, the staffs carried our bags to our room but noone when we were about to leave. And there was a thing that I really didn't like. We paid for our boat and i thought we were the only ones whose going to use it but behold, the owner's friends also rode our boat! So basically, I paid for their boat transfer! One more thing, the gesture of the owner was just not right, she let her friends to board first and after that she said to us, "OK, you can go now!", as if we didn't pay for that ride! it was a very bad gesture.

Final thoughts:
The place is nice for a day tour, one night max. We stayed two nights so it felt too long. You can already enjoy the island on a day tour, nothing extraordinary. Also, one reason not to stay more than 1 night is that your bill will be huge! Like I said, the food there is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The snorkeling here is just fantastic! The rooms are basic but comfortable enough. The staffs are nice as well and helpful. The whole area is clean and not tired. If there's something to improve right away, i think it should be the food. It is not bad but it's not that good as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This has got to be the best snorkeling I ever did in Philippines - and I didn't even have to move around much for it! Often (especially in the morning and evening when the water was still and totally transparent), you could see starfish, corals, and beauriful colourful coral fish right from the verandah.

On - first the resort - it has about 14 cottages, on stilts, so you are right there - on top of the water. The view is simply awesome (see the photos) - I actually woke up at 5 to see the sunrise , and did not regret it. Every cottage has a private view of the sea and corals.

Food is fine - the island is really small (it takes 5 minutes to walk from one end to the other) and has nothing other than the resort and dive shop.

From 11 am to 4 pm, the resort gets run over by tourists on island hopping sprees and gets noisy, but after that, it is totally peaceful. When the water runs low (every evening), there is an entire stretch of sand that gets exposed (it is bigger than the island) teeming with live starfish crawling around! Never seen so many (and so pretty starfish - orange, white, checked, brow, dotted, blue...

There is a marine sanctuary all around, and you need to go over a 500 mtr long wooden bridge to snorkel - and wow - does it have fish! Barely 2 steps into the water (sometimes you don't need to go IN the water at all!), and you are surrounded by fish of every hue and colour - blue, yellow, striped, and of course, clown fish in the midst of sea anemones. The corals are sjhallow - about 1 to 2 metres and I could spend hours just snorkellign and watching the water.

This place does not feel as secluded as Balicasag (Bohol) and yet is extremely peaceful. Not much of a beach here (actually it is a wet beach!) - but enough to do for 1-2 days.

The only flip side is that electricity is switched on only between 6 pm and 8 am. There is no TV either. If you don't eat seafood and do not care much for delicacies like knuckles and tongues, choice of food is limited. (Sadly there is no buco or buco juice! No fresh juices either)

Otherwise a great place to stay.

You HAVE to take a bangka from their jetty (on the way to Plantation bay resort Mactan) - The resort will give directions to the taxi driver over the phone. The boat ride is about 45 minutes (the last 15 minutes is slow as we sailed over corals - wow!). It passes Hilutungan island en route.

There is a well equipped dive shop - All dive shops in Philippines have lots of lifejackets as standard issue, so you really do not need to know to swim to snorkel in Philippines.

There is also a pond where water comes in as the tide rises, and is daily filled with fish from the sea outside (and the fish are put back into the sea too)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Me and my best friend stayed here for 2 days. You have to call the resort ahead of time because you have to take a boat from manland t othe island. They have their own transportation, sio that is why you must call ahead. It is about a 20 minute boat ride to the island. Once at the island, we had it to ourselves. The staff was friendly and the room as great. Breakfst was complimentary. Lunch and dinner was very good. If the resort doesn't have supplies then you will be limited on the menu.

The rooms were awesome. We walked in the door and you are right over the water. On high tide we were feeding the fish from the balcony. Electricity is on at night and it cuts off at around 7 or 8 am. If you stay, you might be the only visitors on the island besides the staff. During the day groups will come and enjoy the island for the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

me and my gf had a great stay there! quiet, cute small island with a truly blue transparent water.
the rooms are clean and good.
food is also good, but have to wait at least 45minutes before it arrives on table.
the trip was great and cheap!
the rooms are on the water, you can jump from your balcony into the water.
we paid for two, two nights, boat transfer, sea kayak renting, snorkeling kit renting, food-drinks... about 200USD in total.
oh yeay, you got thousands of fish in the water, amazing!
I recommend this place for people that need to escape civilization.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Glad to say the resort says they've released the turtle into the sea. Their responsiveness to my complaints deserves acknowledgement.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nalusuan Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalusuan Island Resort

Address: Olango Reef, Cordova,, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mactan Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mactan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Nalusuan Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalusuan Island Hotel Mactan Island
Nalusuan Island Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nalusuan Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.