We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever - Hidden Paradise in Brazil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Itacare Village

Save Saved
You added Itacare Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Itacare Village
Rodovia Ilheus/Itacare, Ba 001 Km 64, Itacare, State of Bahia 45530-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Itacare
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever - Hidden Paradise in Brazil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

This private eco paradise sits on an old cocoa plantation and is nestled in the side of a hillside directly on the coast. Brazilians love this vacation village but it does take about two days to get to it from the States. We spent the night in Sao Paulo and then took another flight up to the central coastal state of Bahia, then an hour car ride to the resort. The village people surf all day and then open their shops in late afternoon. The shops line cobble stone streets and dancing and eating begins! We did not see one American our entire trip.

The resort sits next to a beautiful little lagoon where you can kayak. The resort is small and is actually a collection of villas built into the hillside nestled among the giant palms. The beach is amazing with palm trees and wonderful sand. The service is excellent and, since you're so close to the kitchen/bar, very fast too.

At night there are thousands of frogs singing like a symphony in the marshes on the property. The property is a protected animal reserve a few times a day, the horse back rangers will come galloping by.

Almost each day or evening, the rains would come which was a delightful break from the hot Brazilian sun. The power would go out which made the resort quite romantic and guests would gather in the main restuarant by candlelight, drink, eat and share wonderful stories. I suggest you learn a little portugese for going. They guide you through yoga on the beach in the morning and you can get wonderful massages near the lagoon.

The most amazing part of this trip is how the staff and locals will go out of their way to get you anything you need. They once drove an hour away to bring us batteries for our camera, which took two days but they showed up with our change and our batteries.

One particuluar day, with a guide, we canoed across a bay up to a waterfall in the jungle. As we got closer in, the mangroves got smaller and smaller and there were hundreds of varying colors of crabs hanging from the branches, unbelievable birds and wildlife but we saw no monkeys. After a beautiful trek up to the water fall and an afternoon swim, another monsoon came and began to fill the canoes with water. We tourists stay under a "restuarant" until the rains stopped. The guides worked the entire time bailing water out.

We found an incredible resturant in the village one evening and while dining another monsoon came. This restaurant had no walls so the rains came in and flooded the restaurant. The owner moved us to a higher table, lit candles and preceded to give us free shots of alcohol. We still could not pay by credit card so the owner told us to come back the next day and pay. We missed the taxi back to the resort so the resort's staff came and got us. When the power would go out in the village, we used our video camera to get around the cobble stone streets. Nothing stopped the locals from dancing or dining in the streets by candle light.

The ride to and from the resort to Ilehues is absolutley stunning with cliffs and the giant waves. You can stop and zipline down the cliffs or trek back into the jungle to see the monkeys.

The locals love Americans and hardly ever get to meet any. We never saw another American the entire trip. We made friends of a Brazilian couple and hung out with them a great deal...it was so much fun and we have stayed in touch.

This was a trip that was out of this world and an adventure no doubt. The hardest part is the two days to get there and back to the states. We definitely will go back to this little piece of paradise in Brazil.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

First of all, the beach is one of the most beautiful I have seen in Brazil. And am Brazilian!
But they dont' understand much about the business. Our room didn't look at all like what we saw on the website. No sofa, no rug, only a very old bed cover. We changed to another room and it was very dirty, with sand over the table. I had to pay the maid some extra bucks to make sure the room was properly cleaned. The pool in very small and has water from the river, so some days it was brown. But the worst part was the service. They are building a new pool and I don't know what one thing has to do with the other, but they decided they were not serving anything at the beach, which is only a few steps from the restaurant. So, the waiter would wait for you at a little gate and you needed to go there and pick up your coconut. They also decided to upgrade the telephone system, so we didn't have any kind of room service and our room was about 400m from the restaurant. It was raining and we have a 3 year old kid. The kid's area was very messy and dirty. The cushions you lay on at the beach are dirty as well. It's really a pitty, because the place is great for kids - there a beautiful river, very clean. Stay at the Eco Resort, which is only 100 meters from Itacare Village.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balo Horizonte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

The hotel is very good, but without much luxury. The room is big and clean! But the best is a private beach our disposal. The look is wonderful! The Brazil has beautiful beaches, but had never seen so beautiful.
The hotel pool is small but the sea is all ours!
Once in the morning also to exercise and stretching on the beach in late afternoon yoga. The astral is very good!
Has lual night with live music. Very Good!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I own a house in the same property as the Itacare Village. The condo has another hotel, the Itacare Eco Resort. Last carnival I had some work done at the house and stayed at the Itacare Village.

It is a great place to spend time, with direct access to Praia de Sao Jose and Prainha, the latter, constantly in Brazil's top 10 beaches by all major travel magazines. Alternatively, from town, getting to Prainha means a 45 minute walk from where the car can be parked.

Staff is great, but of couse work at Bahia speed, but service and restaurant are great.

Only annoyance is that guests need to use a van service to get around, which is not the case for house users.

A piece of paradise in Itacare!

  • Liked — the beach !
  • Disliked — the van service !
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We travel several times a year and this was one of the most awesome trips my husband and I have ever enjoyed! We swapped our timeshare out for Village Itacare in Bahia, Brazil which was our first time ever in Brazil.

If you are truly looking for Paradise and a whole lot of adventure, it is well worth the 2 day trip to get to this remote village and resort. Upon entering the resort, you are blown away by the beauty. The resort is on an old cocoa plantation now turned into a protected wildlife park. The village of Itacare has 20,000 people living there and is a popular destination among brazilians. Surfing is supposed to be great and the beaches in Itacare are known as some of the finest.

Though only 2 staffers speak English, service is excellent. They LOVE Americans and did everything to please us. We needed batteries for our camera which would have to come from the city of Ilheus (40 miles away). The request was passed from the staff to a local along with $60 and after 2 days our batteries and correct change showed up at the lobby.

There is an open air restuarant with excellent food directly on the beach. There is a pool a short walk up the property to the hotel area (we stayed in one of the hillside bungalows). You can also take a very short canoe trip up the lagoon which flows from the hills. Nights at the resort are romantic with very low light and lots of incredible sounds of nature.

The resort offers free shuttles to the village which starts bustling at dinner time. Most locals surf during the day. This is a very old village with cobble streets and lots of little shops and great resturants!! No one speaks English.

We rented a canoe and headed 6 miles up into the mountains to a beautiful water fall. On the way there we passed through mangroves. Found a resturant and little shop up at the base of the water fall. You can swim after the treacherous hike to the top.

Global warming is causing some very unusual rain in the area and although it rained nearly every day the people still carry on. The resort and village would experience some intermittant electrical outages and no matter what could have happened on our trip we met some of the nicest people, enjoyed this little piect of paradise and had some incredible food!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Itacare Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itacare Village

Address: Rodovia Ilheus/Itacare, Ba 001 Km 64, Itacare, State of Bahia 45530-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacare
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Itacare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Itacare Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itacare Village Hotel Itacare
Itacare Village Ilheus
Itacare Village Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Itacare Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.