We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it for an airport hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort to your Saves list
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Moo 15 Soi King Kaew 43, King Kaew Rd | Bangpli, Racha Thewa 10540, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well worth it for an airport hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very close to the airport so able to get in and out easily (very grateful not to have to deal with Bangkok traffic the morning of departure). Great design, very modern looking. The rooms are huge. I would agree that the bathrooms are awesome. Pool is very relaxing and the bar/restaurant is fine. The staff is very friendly and helpful (English not so good, but not an issue). Great value and very glad we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    208
    77
    28
    19
See reviews for
51
180
76
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised that the hotel wasn't a shack or a prison compound as the way in wasn't particularly nice...
Would be great if the air con was on pre arrival in the rooms as they were like a sauna but soon cooled down whilst we took in a few drinks from the bar and the food at the restaurant was surprisingly good.
The pool area is nice if not a bit overlooked but for an airport hotel it's fine.
The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are its best feature, the rooms floors though are just polished concrete and are a little too 'contemporary'...someone needs a word with the interior designer but other than that I would stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The only reason that I can think of to stay at this hotel, based on its location, is for a layover or an early flight out of the airport. The front desk staff was accommodating to me, upon check-in, which is very much appreciated, however had some difficulty with coordinating a shuttle pick up from the airport and with applying a payment from my credit card to my bill for a charge at the restaurant.

That said, it is a beautiful, beautiful building. Concrete floors, clean lines, tall windows, very modern and very cool. The bedroom chambers of the rooms we had were clean, the beds were comfortable and the water was hot and cold appropriately. The pool is beautiful! Everything appears to be relatively new but it seems to be either constructed cheaply or are not maintained, as the building is quickly starting to show signs of age and disrepair. In our room, the shower door did not open completely because the floor had buckled to a point where it impeded the ability for the door to open further. Similarly, the sliding door to the bath did not open completely because of it rubbing against the wall. The white calk/silicone sealant between the sink and the wall was stained black in large measure, presumably from mold. Finally, the doors and most of the furniture appeared to be constructed with hollow core materials, which allowed us to hear the music from the lobby (100 meters away?) quite well.

The hotel is located on an underdeveloped side street which did appear to my family to be ready for tourism or walking around. Perhaps it is just me, but we felt that once we arrived, the safest bet would be to stay at the hotel until we could be driven away from the area. The restaurant is, without a doubt, the worst part of the experience. The wait staff is understaffed, the menu is limited and the food is awful. Awful, awful, awful. Oh, and the prices charged were among the highest I paid during my 10 day stay in Thailand (Thonglor and Chiang Mai). If there were any viable alternatives nearby, the restaurant would surely go out of business. So, why three stars instead of something much less?

For right now, until the maintenance program or the shoddy materials get the best of it, it is impressively appointed and it serves the needed function of offering a place to sleep close to the airport with comfortable beds, hot water and reliable wifi (and a killer pool!). I am hopeful that someone from the hotel reads this and tries to save the situation. The surrounding area will likely develop over time and if changes are made to the way the restaurant is run and the building is maintained, this could be a great little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at this hotel quite late and were leaving reasonably early the next morning for our flight home. The airport transfer was quite easy to find but only because I had read on trip advisor where we should collect the airport shuttle - when I emailed the hotel to find out I didn't get a reply.

The hotel itself is very strange. It's quiet and clean and the staff are helpful and friendly but it looks like it is half finished. The rooms go from extremes to having very large comfortable beds and beautifully laid out bathrooms to then having no TV reception, concrete floors, bare walls and poor plumbing. It looks like they ran out of money and so had to finish the hotel with limited funds left.

We ordered room service and the food was fine - it was a very comfortable nights sleep and a decent price and although we didn't use it, the pool area looked very nice too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is no doubt, Vismaya was an incredibly affordable hotel for our early connection out of BKK. Airport pickup was smooth with someone from the hotel waiting for you at the arrivals terminal. Within 15 minutes the shuttle was there to bring us to the hotel. On the ride to the hotel you start to realize you're so glad you paid for the airport transport. The road is rough and hard to find in the dark. After a night out, our taxi driver had the hardest time trying to find our hotel. Even as a native Thai, I wouldn't advise going out on the street alone at night. It is dark and a bit unsafe. The hotel is a safe haven.

Our stay was fine until we missed our morning shuttle ride to the airport because we didn't receive our wake up call. Neither did we receive any follow up calls when we didn't show up for our scheduled shuttle. When we arrived at the lobby the front desk told us that the shuttle had just left and the next one wouldn't leave for the airport for another hour. Which was strange because the shuttle came back about 5 minutes after he said that. The alternative he gave us was to call for a non-metered taxi that we'd have to pay ฿200. For a 5 minute ride that was a complete rip-off. After minutes of arguing with the front desk about their faulty phone system. We had to take the taxi in order to catch our connecting flight. What rubbed me the wrong way was they wouldn't admit fault and blamed us for not hearing the phone calls. However, my wife and I never received a single call. What a way to treat one of your very own countrymen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is the best hotel nereby the airport. The Design of the entrance is nice and the swimmingpool is a nice to have.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The design of the rooms aren't exquisit but the bathroom is awesome.

You receive a free shuttle ride from and to airport. What is much appreciated.

Nice staff and excellent service. Wake-up call - shuttle on time - free coffee before leaving, ...They plan everything for you.

We recommend this hotel for you if you are arriving or leaving to take a flight. It isn't a resort to stay for two weeks.

A suggestion to the Hotel: Paintings in the rooms could give some charisma, more plants in the garden - around the pool it is a bit impersonal.

For the rest GOOD JOB

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bottom line, we recommend it to friends and we go back ourselves. It's out in the middle of frelling nowhere, so we would not stay there if going *to* Bangkok. But overnight when flying through, and you don't want to stay air-side, it's a great choice.

They picked us up at the standard meeting point, #3. It was a ten minute ride in your standard minivan. Check-in was easy, as it is not on a real road, no need to ask for a quiet room. The decor is spartan, concrete, stone, and cloth, with a bit of wood. Large room, a comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. Breakfast was OK, we do not eat large breakfasts and ordered a la carte.

The price was reasonable, the WiFi worked, and the service was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort

Address: 98 Moo 15 Soi King Kaew 43, King Kaew Rd | Bangpli, Racha Thewa 10540, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Racha Thewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vismaya – the name derives from Sanskrit and conveys a sense of wonderment, even amazement. Indeed, guests are certain to experience the very same when visiting a hotel of such grace and tranquility a mere five minutes from Thailand’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport.The low-rise, resolutely modern setting encompasses 67 well-appointed and technologically advanced rooms comprising 63 Deluxe, three Executive Suites and one Signature Suite accommodation types. Guests likewise enjoy a courtyard with swimming pool and garden area; food and drink venues including poolside terrace dining for Thai and international dishes; as well as a lobby bar serving not only cocktails but also fine teas and coffees along with gourmet bakery.Located in a quiet side street off Kingkaew Road, the hotel lies outside the main flight path of Suvarnabhumi yet nonetheless allows the convenience of stepping from a plane to stylish accommodation in far less time than would be required if one were staying in central Bangkok. Further adding to such convenience, Vismaya operates its own airport shuttle service providing transport to and from the airport. Come to know the wonders of Vismaya, where traditional Thai hospitality enhances contemporary boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort Thailand/Racha Thewa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.