We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Friendly Staff, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Moon Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moon Mountain Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   C 19 Road, 30 km south from Solitaire | 50 km from the turn off for the gate at Sesriem / Sossusvlei, Sesriem, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sesriem B&B and Inns
Bungay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Friendly Staff, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our trip around Namibia. This was a magical introduction to the peace and serenity of the area and the perfect start to our holiday. We were warmly welcomed by the staff on arrival and offered refreshments before being taken to our room - an airy canvas covered chalet on stilts looking out over the wilderness. We stayed in one of the suites with our bathroom attached via a little walkway.
As a vegetarian I am always a little anxious about staying in lodges and I had checked with Michelle at Moon Mountain whether this was likely to be an issue. The food was an absolute delight - 3 nights, 3 excellent dinners freshly prepared for me - my partner does eat meat and our hosts checked with us each morning whether the menus were ok. When you consider you are in the middle of the desert, the thought and effort that had clearly been put into making our stay comfortable is incredible. The catering and hospitality puts many of the larger set-ups to shame.
As for the scenery, there really was something magical about waking up and watching the sun rise over the mountains and the night sky was stunning. Thanks to Nick, we can both identify the Southern Cross now too!
We could easily have stayed longer at Moon Mountain, using it as a base for more exploration of Sossuvlei, Sesriem and the surrounding area or just relaxing at the lodge and enjoying drinks on the deck.
I hope we will have a chance to go back again. Thank you to everyone there for making us feel so welcome and for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Set on a the edge of the mountain, with stunning views. This family run lodge is a welcome stop over. It is worth breaking the journey to Sossusvlei to overnight here. Warm, obliging staff, who were happy to cater to specific dietary requirements. Be sure to get there for a sundowner on the deck (with great snacks) and a great view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hentiesbaai, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had 2 nights stay at Moon Mountain lodge and my guests and I had a fantastic time there.
Staff were great and the food was excelent!
One can not beat those views where one can just sit and be. Absorbing the surroundings and bird songs, nature noises and the stunning sunrise and sunsets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Moon Mountain Lodge in mid-September 2012 for two nights. We wanted a base close to Sossusvlei for a full-day trip there, and booking 6 months before traveling, were disappointed to find many lodges like Sossusvlei Lodge were already full for the dates we wanted. Our travel agent (Bonita @ go2africa.com) suggested Moon Mountain Lodge, and that's where we headed. I'm glad we ended up there!

Location: The lodge is about 50 minutes drive north of Sesriem, the park gate to Sossusvlei. It's built on the side of a mountain facing west over an immense, flat desert valley, with more mountains popping up in the distance. The views from our room and public/common areas all look out over vast distances, where there are precious few signs of humans. This is Namib desert, but instead of the gravel and sand I expected here, the valley was an endless sea of blonde grass, punctuated with prickly bushes, contorted trees, and billions of sunburned rocks. I was a little concerned about the distance from Sossusvlei, but it was a non-issue; we left early in the morning and arrived just after the gates opened. In fact, it was nice to be nearly an hour's drive north of Sesriem, as we had a head start our final morning as we headed north towards Swakopmund.

The Lodge: The buildings are architecturally impressive; the rooms and large back patio of the dining room are elevated on stilts. Every room has a great sunset (facing into the sun) and sunrise (watching mountain shadows crawl over the valley floor). Common area interiors are decorated with interesting cultural artifacts, wood artwork, and desert-related scenery. We especially admired the dining room tables: each table held a shallow tray, covered with glass, with a display of colorful desert sand, rocks, and camel-thorn pods. Some tables mimicked a small patch of desert (complete with animal tracks), and others held geometric patterns, like Namibian mandalas. Our room was a giant square canvas tent with a sturdy wooden (or wooden/plastic composite) floor, some understated wooden furniture, and hammered-metal light fixtures and artwork. The doors and walls around the bathroom area are solid but hand-crafted and textured. Altogether the room and lodge felt rustic and modernist at the same time. Our room had several electric outlets, a small fridge, and a phone. In the afternoon of our first day, our water stopped running, but we called the office and it started up in 5 minutes…that was our only technical difficulty.

Staff: We never met the owners, but we were in good and capable hands. We were given a very warm welcome as we checked in. The three young women who introduced us to the lodge were very polite – maybe too polite, as the fawning felt artificial. But later, one of the women (Helen, I think) who was also our server at dinner, dropped the artificiality down a notch and teased me about not finishing my dinner. The manager, Nicci, was full of helpful advice as we asked about visiting Sossusvlei the next morning. We ended up hiring Nicci to be our personal guide to Sossusvlei for the day. You do not necessarily need a guide in Sossusvlei, but Nicci helped us spend our time more wisely, drove us through the stretches of deep sand in the park (we would've needed to use a shuttle), led us to her favorite vistas and hiking areas, located and identified animals, and was a thoroughly knowledgeable naturalist and good company.

Food: Breakfast was fine; the chef cooked eggs to our choosing. When we first arrived, an afternoon chocolate-cinnamon tea-cake didn't survive long; it was addictive. You *will* be eating dinner here, as it's a long, dark drive to the nearest town (Solitaire or Sesriem). Our two evening meals at Moon Mountain were both good; Chef gives each diner a choice from two entrees each night, and our picks were hearty and delicious. My first night I had a Kudu steak and the next I had a pork chop. Both were succulent, and our veggie sides were even better. We did think the lighting in the dining room was too dim.

Activities: Many guests go on a sundowner-trip the lodge offers. It sounded fun, but we skipped it, and enjoyed two brilliant sunsets from the lodge itself. I explored the lodge's private hiking trail, which meanders under the camp, crosses a short plain, and then hugs the contour of two hillsides, culminating in a small hilltop with nice views back at the camp. I was very glad for this chance to exercise and see many of the local trees, bushes, and birds up-close. The tents each have a small plunge-pool, but it was too chilly in September to tempt us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having travelled to many locations around the world, this Lodge in my opinion has it all. It has all the facilities needed for a quiet relaxed and restful stay/holiday. Situated at one of natures most spectacular locations amongst the hills and dunes of the Namibian Desert. The owners are both friendly and extremely helpful. it is a must for at least a couple of night stay just to take in the Namibian changing landscape/wildlife, and experience the hospitality. The food is excellent and the ambience memorable.
From your the lodge the terrain changes as the sun light moves across the dunes and hills. At night the stars are touchable and a sight to behold.
Thank you both for most wonderful stay. Next time we decide to just come north we will stay longer.
Peter and Mary

Room Tip: Lodge Challets give spec views, as does the family and bar areas coupled with a sence of complete is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I can not think of any better place, honestly, it's absolutely breathtaking. Everthing, just perfect. We stayed for two nights this August 2012, and will be back, for sure...

The service, the rooms, the view....just gorgeous. We loved the food as well.

Room Tip: It doen´t ahve a fitness centr or Spa, but I didn´t want to click on "terrible"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

it was amazing to be back again and to be able to spend another luxuruios night here!
we keep coming back again and again the food is great the place is amazing the staff are great and the setting is breathtaking!
thanks for a great stay once a gain!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Mountain Lodge

Address: C 19 Road, 30 km south from Solitaire | 50 km from the turn off for the gate at Sesriem / Sossusvlei, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sesriem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Mountain Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built and completed in 2009 on the Moon Mountain Top, as fixed "tented rooms" with all the comforts of a room, but the airy feeling of a tent. Moon Mountain lodge is ideally situated for any holiday guest who wants to visit the world’s highest dunes in Sossusvlei, as the lodge is only 50km away from the entrance gate and close to the quaint little village of Solitaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Moon Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Mountain Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.