We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesriem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site
Save
You added Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cnr of C19 & D854, Sesriem 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My parents and I stayed at Little Sossus for two nights and had a lovely time. Pierre took us on a drive to the sand dunes early in the morning, we had breakfast at the base of the dunes and then proceeded to climb one and run down the side towards a pan. All the staff were very welcoming and the food was also very nice - especially the tea time carrot cake!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Totally agree with other reviewers. I struggled to find accommodation for 10 of us and this was almost a last resort. If only I had known. Fabulous dinner and very comfortable rooms with expansive views. Well organised and great breakfast. It was a stop over and nothing to do except head to the dunes.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Sesriem. Had we known it was such a nice place, we would have booked for more nights and then only drive the small distance to the Sossusvlei Dunes and Canyon (there are park fees involved). Our campsite had 2 seperate bathrooms, each with loo, basin and shower and it was very spacious. It also came with a little kitchenette - perfect washing up facility. Would have been perfect if it had a lockable door, but we were over the moon. The campsite had a shed, high and big enough for our two 4x4's to park there and enough space for our rooftop tents to be sheltered against the wind.
If I have to mention a negative, it would be that the shop wasn't open when we went there to buy fire wood.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great place to stay, only 30 min. from the entrance of the park. Friendly and helpfull staff. But the chef in the kitchen, mother, is the best! Every night 4 course diner and they take care of you, if you are having a special diet.

Cabins are nice, nut basis. The only thing, the bedlinnen was old, with holes and stains, a pitty!

Room Tip: They have a camp site too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

As you might have noticed, the lodging options around Sossusvlei tend to be either super-expensive luxury lodges or super-cheap campsites and a few rundown B&Bs. Little Sossus is the perfect middle-ground option and represents exceptional value for money.

The cottages are basic but clean and comfortable, most of them with a nice patio and a beautiful view over the plains toward the mountains.

We particularly enjoyed the pool area, since there is not much more to do during the heat of the day. We hit the dunes from sunrise to about 10am, and again in late afternoon, but for the rest of the day we lounged around the pool. Just a small splash pool, but surrounded by some comfy shaded chaise lounges. There is also an "honor bar" where you can grab a beer or soda, so it makes for a wonderful lazy afternoon.

Every single person on staff was friendly and helpful, and made us feel completely at home. The meals were simple but delicious, prepared largely with produce from the lodge's own greenhouse.

The lodge is about a 45-minute drive from the Sesriem gate, which is the entrance for Sossusvlei, which we found reasonable. If you want to be right outside the gate, you'll pay double or triple for the convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very friendly place with great service and food. It's slightly further away from the entrance to the park than some of the other lodges, but it still only takes 30 mins to get to the gates.

There is a great self-guided walk around the surrounding grassland. The restaurant was very good in the evening and there is a small pool for swimming. For breakfast they gave us a packed meal to take to the dunes.

Overall I'd definitely go back. It's quite pricey but then again everywhere in the area is. One minor thing is that the bathroom within the rooms is not very enclosed so you don't get much privacy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a lovely little chalet - nice big bathroom with natural stone, water is heated by an outside donkey (wood stove) - everything very clean except for the sand which you cannot avoid bringing in. The food was probably the best we had in two weeks traveling in Namibia - great breakfast and a four course dinner every night. I don't eat meat and was served a very tasty bobotie (curry) with lentils instead of meat. We did a tour with Jandré, one of the three sons, to Sossusvlei and the Sesriem Canyon - absolutely worth while, he knows so much and can tell interesting stories. All in all a very special place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site

Address: Cnr of C19 & D854, Sesriem 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this exquisite location, you will be accommodated in stylish stone chalets, built from the local occurring rock. A Little Sossus Lodge will ensure you an unforgettable stay in the tranquil desert surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site Namibia/Sesriem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.