We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a real luxurious feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos Ammos Hotel to your Saves list
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ornos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a real luxurious feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I spent my 30th birthday here. we loved it, the hotel is beautifully designed and finished to a high spec. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The beach is fabulous a real paradise beach to unwind and soak up the sun. We would definately come back!

Room Tip: 106 the terrace backs directly onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    60
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved this beach hotel, great service, very friendly English speaking staff, bar and restaurant excellent although is more suitable for the under 60's as chilled Ibiza music pumped out until late every night. Weather was perfect with a nice sea breeze to keep you cool. The bedrooms are renovated to a very high standard and very stylish. Had a lovely sea view room, always something to look at as the yachts and fishing boats come and go. We were to above the back entrance to the restaurant and did find it a little noisy at around 2-4 am when the cleaners were cleaning the kitchen for the next day, but we got used to it and it certainly wouldn't put us off coming back again next year, which we will!

Room Tip: If you choose a beach deluxe apartment they are very close to the restaurant so potentially noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is on the best beach in Mykonos. The staff is incredible, it features a top notch restaurant, and it is dirctly on the Aegean Sea!! What more could you ask for? Also, it is a stone's throw from the city bus that takes you into Mykonos Town for some shopping and nightlife!!

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are fabulous! Ask for 205 or 209!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

From the facilities, design, food, staff and service - this is everything I wanted in a Mykonos hotel. I really just cannot say enough about this place, but I will try.

Facilities & Amenities.
Apparently just renovated, the grounds of this place are amazing. Very modern design throughout, free parking, really great restaurants, great drinks and music at the beach bar, beach beds were free with our rate. At night the hotel grounds are lit perfectly and make you feel as though you really are in paradise. The hotel also has two pools, the downside being they dont seem to be heated and there is no jacuzzi/hot tub.

Rooms.
We had a superior double on the second floor and it was, in a word, awesome. Excellent use of space throughout the room, great (and quiet) a/c, large closets, well stocked minibar, and a chilled bottle of white wine waiting upon our entry. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were soft. The bathroom was also excellent, especially the blue lit rain shower - very nice touch. One of my pet peeves is rough and word bath towels. Ammos towels were perfect, which may have been because they were brand new. But, whatever, I loved it.

Restaurant.
The main restaurant had several options for lunch and dinner. We had fish and steak, but it also has a sushi bar. The second restaurant was Italian and we were very impressed with the quality. Service in both places was great. The one downside was all the smokers, but I get that this is just an unfortunate characteristic of Europe. Breakfast in the main restaurant every morning was good (not amazing). It consisted of a buffet with various breads, eggs, meats, yogurt and cereal.

Service.
The staff was excellent, even months before we checked in. I found a great end of summer deal online that I booked, but later needed to change slightly our arrival date and departure dates. I was worried that the hotel wouldn't honor my booked rate given that the special had ended. I was wrong. When I emailed they were more than happy to honor the low rate and adjust our travel dates. When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a complete tour of the grounds before the front desk attendant brought us to our rooms and immediately had our bags sent up. We wanted to try a new beach each day, and the girl working the front desk gave us excellent recommendations.

Overall, we were so happy with our experience here and would most definitely return. Our hats off to the owner/management and staff of this great place; a job well done.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not directly on the beach to avoid the daytime music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived back from Mykonos Ammos and would, without a doubt, return again.

Mykonos is great and the hotel was spot on and directly on the beach. There is a frequent bus running into the town so being about 2 or 3 miles away was not an issue at all.

If I was to criticise anything at all the CD needs alternating in the bar and a couple of members of staff could be a little more on the ball but that really is being picky!

I would definitely recommend both Mykonos and Mykonos Ammos to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Book a three night stay at the end of a week of sailing to gain the "land legs" and chill out. The hotel is ultra modern - immaculate in every way. The room (a superior double) was well equipped and had a veranda, shower with rainfall shower, a very large extr4a king size bed with lovely crisp white sheets. Safe, fruit, drinking water, fridge, etc. etc. Eevrything one could possibly want. Staff were all exrtremely helpful and polite.

The hotel is situated on the south of the island and is literally on the beach. The beach, however, is full of sun beds which are, unfortunately, chargable. With the charge come iced bottles of water.

The main restaurant has high quality and imaginative food - the service is, however, sub-standard with lots of young good looking waiters spending far too much time chatting with their friends.

Overall a lovely place to spend a few days - and we will definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the sea. One row back. They are much quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Arrived 31/08 & told hotel had overbooked us for 2 nights so transferred to a 4* hotel (Manoulas Hotel) in the next town. Upon arriving back at Ammos we were upgraded from garden to superior sea view room, given a free meal in the Kuzina restaurant & free sunbeds for the remainder of our stay (normally 12 Euros for 2 beds, umbrella & bottle of water).
Our room was really modern, exactly like the pictures online with plenty of plugs! The staff were all very polite and helpful. Other reviews about service not being a priority (in the restaurant) certainly ring true here. Guests of the hotel are entitled to a 20% discount from Kuzina restaurant which helped since their prices were quite steep. Wifi is free & can be accessed in the rooms.
The hotel is directly on the beach & we would happily have paid more for this as most hotels in Mykonos don't have this feature. Unfortunately the sea in Ornos is freezing & beaches elsewhere (Paradise) definitely have warmer water. The pools were hardly used & are overlooked by the rooms however this wouldn't have stopped us from using them had we wanted to.
There is a bus stop literally 30 seconds away & the bus leaves every 30 minutes. There are other beachfront restaurants. Other shops in the area include a butchers, bakery, sports bar, supermarket, cash machine etc.
If/when I return to Mykonos I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ornos
#3 Family Hotel in Ornos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mykonos Ammos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Ammos Hotel, a 4 star hotel and a Proud Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is here brand new and totally renovated, right on the magical beach of Ornos to offer it all and even more. Mykonos Ammos Hotel opens its doors and unveils the true holiday beauty. This 43 room boutique hotel, situated literally on the beach, blends magically the crystal waters, the white sand and the unparalleled Mediterranean blue sky and offers you a new experience you will never forget. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is ready to seduce you with its prestigious accommodation, elegant luxury and unique location. And it is only a step away from the cosmopolitan Chora of Mykonos. You will undoubtedly be aroused by the delicate natural beauty and liveliness of Ornos beach. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is definitely the new favourite destination and is calling you to discover it throughout the day from spring till fall. It combines supreme guest rooms and suites, clear blue waters and unique dishes in Kuzina and Farina restaurants. New additions to our hotel: a trendy boutique GO ammos and Spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mykonos Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Ornos
Mykonos Ammos Hotel Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Ammos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.