We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alround excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos Ammos Hotel to your Saves list
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ornos
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Alround excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Book a three night stay at the end of a week of sailing to gain the "land legs" and chill out. The hotel is ultra modern - immaculate in every way. The room (a superior double) was well equipped and had a veranda, shower with rainfall shower, a very large extr4a king size bed with lovely crisp white sheets. Safe, fruit, drinking water, fridge, etc. etc. Eevrything one could possibly want. Staff were all exrtremely helpful and polite.

The hotel is situated on the south of the island and is literally on the beach. The beach, however, is full of sun beds which are, unfortunately, chargable. With the charge come iced bottles of water.

The main restaurant has high quality and imaginative food - the service is, however, sub-standard with lots of young good looking waiters spending far too much time chatting with their friends.

Overall a lovely place to spend a few days - and we will definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the sea. One row back. They are much quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    54
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
124
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Arrived 31/08 & told hotel had overbooked us for 2 nights so transferred to a 4* hotel (Manoulas Hotel) in the next town. Upon arriving back at Ammos we were upgraded from garden to superior sea view room, given a free meal in the Kuzina restaurant & free sunbeds for the remainder of our stay (normally 12 Euros for 2 beds, umbrella & bottle of water).
Our room was really modern, exactly like the pictures online with plenty of plugs! The staff were all very polite and helpful. Other reviews about service not being a priority (in the restaurant) certainly ring true here. Guests of the hotel are entitled to a 20% discount from Kuzina restaurant which helped since their prices were quite steep. Wifi is free & can be accessed in the rooms.
The hotel is directly on the beach & we would happily have paid more for this as most hotels in Mykonos don't have this feature. Unfortunately the sea in Ornos is freezing & beaches elsewhere (Paradise) definitely have warmer water. The pools were hardly used & are overlooked by the rooms however this wouldn't have stopped us from using them had we wanted to.
There is a bus stop literally 30 seconds away & the bus leaves every 30 minutes. There are other beachfront restaurants. Other shops in the area include a butchers, bakery, sports bar, supermarket, cash machine etc.
If/when I return to Mykonos I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the second week of our honeymoon in August 2012. We paid for a seaview room and were led to a tiny disgusting room in block 4 - these are the old rooms which haven't been refurbished and have no mod-cons (hand-held shower, tiny toilet, broken furniture, no minibar, tiny bed, rust and grime everywhere) - these rooms aren't even advertised on the website. We and 3 other couples (all honeymooners) were given these rooms until we complained - even then we all had to stay at least one night until other rooms were available. We were never given the room we paid for and are now waiting on a response to our complaint via our travel agent, which we have been told will take at least 28 days. We had to ask for our room to be serviced twice as they kept "forgetting" about us, and the air con broke down. Staff can speak perfect English until you complain, at which time there seems to be a language barrier!! Don't book your honeymoon here - ours was ruined - I spent days in tears and we didn't even take photos as we don't want to be reminded of our time there.

Room Tip: They will try to give you a lower grde room in peak season - they deliberately overbook to make more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Pros:
1. Directly on Ornos Beach--you can't get any closer and there are very few hotels (if any) in Mykonos that are literally ON THE BEACH like this one is.
2. Kuzina Restaurant--you take breakfast here every morning and receive a 20% discount at all other times. The food, service, location and music are excellent. They also run the beach bar and sun beds area. All around top notch. One of the best restaurants in Mykonos/Greece.
3. Friendly and competent staff. From the front desk to the maid service---all universally good!
4. Parking is included in the rate. Trust me. If you go to Mykonos you NEED to rent a car to truly enjoy the island. Ammos offers free parking right behind the hotel. It doesn't get better than this in Mykonos.
5. Walking distance to other good restaurants, ATMs, supermarket. Makes for a very convenient location.
6. It's FLAT!!! No STAIRS!!!! If you have kids, are old, pregnant, or just don't like stairs. Stay here! Not many other hotels in Mykonos that are stair free like this one. This hotel is 100% flat and on the beach. Nothing to fear on the hotel grounds.

Cons:
1. Rooms are super small. It's Mykonos so its expected, but still.
2. Music from Kuzina is loud even late at night. If you plan on going to sleep before 2-3am, stay elsewhere or wear ear plugs.
3. No privacy. Even though you are beachfront the negative is people are playing paddle ball right in front of your balcony so it is no way private or relaxing.
4. You habe to pay for sunbeds. Even though you are beachfront you have to pay for sunbeds.
5. Pools are tiny and pathetic.
6. Parking situation can get a little chaotic at peak times.
7. Floors of the room are not really cleaned that well.

Overall, a decent hotel. Honestly, unless you need to be ON the beach and NEED a no stair hotel, I would probably stay elsewhere and just come here to enjoy Kuzina.

Room Tip: Stay in a beachfront or second floor room or don't stay at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, located right on the beach and close to mykonos town. Eleni who worked at the front desk gave us excellent service and really took her time to give us advice on what to do and where to go and her jolly and friendlyness really marked of on you.. The rooms are really clean and tidy! I loved everything about this place except for the breakfast that was the most ridiculous hotel breakfast that I have ever seen. Everything was unfrozen, fried and low quality, no fruits or vegetables..it was just horrible... When im on holiday i love waking up and enjoy a good breakfast because that is something that i never have the time to do otherwise, so if they change this i think this place will be a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Forget all the reviews written before summer 2012, the hotel has been completely renovated during the last winter.

The hotel is the perfect combination of stylish, elegant and modern design, the best location at the beautiful Ornos beach and amazing restaurants (Kuzina & Farina).

We've been with our 2 little daughters (1 year & 3 years) at the beginning of July and the advantages mentioned above were most important to us.

The stuff is amazing, especially Sofia and Yiouli. It's seems like their whole purpose in the world is to please their guests. We felt at home. It's priceless.

We've been searching a lot for the best hotel for us and we found it.
It's the perfect vacation, you can't miss.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second line (farther from the beach) are quieter than the first line, as well as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel, but spent everyday on their beach and spent most evenings at the bar. Well, what a fabulous bar!! The music all day is out of this world and I just couldn't stop dancing, even on the sun lounger. Tried Super Paradise beach one day, but the music during the day just does not compare to the Kuizina. All staff are fantastic being very professional and friendly (shame I can't say that about the owners who are extremely rude).
On the beach, the sun loungers are 12 euros for x2 with a free bottle of water in a bucket of ice. Only thing I didn't like, were the beech sellers, who kept on asking if you want to buy fake goods, over and over again. I have never said 'no thank you' so many times in such a short space of time.
Would definitely go back to this spot in Mykonos

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Ammos Hotel

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ornos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mykonos Ammos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Ammos Hotel, a 4 star hotel and a Proud Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is here brand new and totally renovated, right on the magical beach of Ornos to offer it all and even more. Mykonos Ammos Hotel opens its doors and unveils the true holiday beauty. This 43 room boutique hotel, situated literally on the beach, blends magically the crystal waters, the white sand and the unparalleled Mediterranean blue sky and offers you a new experience you will never forget. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is ready to seduce you with its prestigious accommodation, elegant luxury and unique location. And it is only a step away from the cosmopolitan Chora of Mykonos. You will undoubtedly be aroused by the delicate natural beauty and liveliness of Ornos beach. Mykonos Ammos Hotel is definitely the new favourite destination and is calling you to discover it throughout the day from spring till fall. It combines supreme guest rooms and suites, clear blue waters and unique dishes in Kuzina and Farina restaurants. New additions to our hotel: a trendy boutique GO ammos and Spa facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mykonos Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Ornos
Mykonos Ammos Hotel Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Ammos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.