We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ornos Bay treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dorion to your Saves list
Hotel Dorion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ornos
Mequon,WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ornos Bay treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

We traveled with 4 adults and 4 older teens and had no trouble at all
finding plenty to do. The hotel was clean with beautiful architecture
and the rooms were adequate to excellent. The adults got larger suites. The walk to Ornos Bay beach where there were several restaurants was via walkways and steps, only about 1 block on the road. The pool was a great asset as it has an enclosed veranda and it was quite windy while we were there. Buses and taxis were plentiful for the kids to go clubbing in Mykonos town. The beach had rental beds and umbrellas and the food was good at the beach side restaurants. Spectacular views, very friendly staff, great breakfast.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HolidayGodfadda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We couldn't find any where to stay at such short notice (Since it was high season) and so we booked this 4 star hotel, outside of town.

Walking in, its really nice - nothing run down, its all pleasing to the eye. Multiple pools, with one main big one. The staff were really really friendly, they make you feel at home as soon as your in the hotel.

The rooms - well - these weren't what I expected. The rooms were really plain and boring, with a tiny television and an analog radio. The beds were rock hard (which I guess can be a good thing, for your back) and we were given sheets for blankets. I know in many hot countries, this is obviously the best idea, but these were extremely thin bed sheets folded up at the end of your bed to sleep in. The mini bar was alright, colas, fantas etc. The rooms also do not have a 'do not disturb sign' and so the cleaners would get frequently mad at us for sleeping in, and would sometimes charge in our rooms while we slept....(which was really annoying).

The Hotel does NOT supply lunch and dinner, only breakfast (which, from my brother, he said was just OK, nothing special). But the lunch and dinner is not a problem at all, as you will be probably wanting to be out when you wake up, and its really nice to go around and see places. The Hotel Kivotos (right opposite the hotel) has an amazing menu if you do not wish to travel far for lunch.

Traveling - if you can, book somewhere close to the town!! It is extremely hard to get taxis in mykonos, and sometimes we had to take the bus which was annoying in the dark.

Overall, the hotel was good, I think, nothing ever struck us as "OH MY GOD" (as in nothing bad) it was all rather pleasing.
If you can, book somewhere near town, yet this hotel is still a good choice if you can't. (or choose the Kivotos opposite this hotel which is much better).

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The cleanup of the rooms - they didnt even clean properly!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

- My daugther and I booked this hotel as a "choice" for a
beach hotel through a bulk travel tour operator and we stayed there in May 2006. Unfortunately it
overlooks the beach from a high hill.
It is a spectacular view from the deck or windows there.
It is NOT on the beach per se.
Also there was only a wonderful breakfast buffet at the hotel-but
no other food service.
This means you have to walk down to town
about 4 unlighted blocks to local restaurants at
Ornos Beach. This isn't a big issue except coming
back in the dark. There are no sidewalks.You do need to
be prepared for this.
Also to get into Mykonos "town" you will need to be prepared
for a taxi trip.
Fortunately the tours for Delos and other sites DO stop by
the hotel so which is good.
The outdoor pool and gardens are nice and we got some
sun on the pool deck there in leiu of going down
to the beach.. this is a better alternative as it turned out.
We had a nice stay at the Hotel Dorian which is
quiet and romantic for couples. I think as two single
women we found it restful- but think next time we go
we will likely stay "in town" where there is more
action at night.

  • Liked — The view was great. Comfortable rooms. Breakfast Buffet.
  • Disliked — No other food service after breakfast at hotel.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

Stayed in the Hotel Dorion for 4 nights in September. The hotel is very clean with marble bathrooms providing fluffy bathrobes and slippers and balconies overlooking Ornos Bay. Rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated and the buffet breakfast is very good. All this for 80 euro a night!!!!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dorion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorion

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
#6 Family Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dorion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dorion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorion Hotel Ornos
Hotel Dorion Mykonos/Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.