We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dorion to your Saves list
Hotel Dorion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ornos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

i stayed in Dorion @ Ornos mid June 2012. it was a great place to be.. very happy with our choice.. very friendly ppl managing the hotel and very helpful all the time.. loved it and i mean it..

the only problem was the wind!! i think we were unlucky with the wind too (and not with the weather as the temperature was good but was windy).. so couldnt really enjoy any of hotel pools and balcony etc. so, mykonos is windy but the hotel is kind of where gets more windy than the rest of the island..

apart from that one thing (which might not be a problem for ppl prob travelling in july/ aug) everything else was perfect!! just perfect..

few things other ppl mentioned too: have sth with you if walking to the ornos beach, as get very dark in the short cut you'd walk to the beach..

if the weather was windy, the beaches close by such as paranga, super paradise etc are all well protected for the wind.. and to good extent ornos beach too...

definitely try ithaki restaurant at ornos beach - very good seasfood and atmosphere..

Room Tip: you might want to say you like a couble bed b/c all the beds are single which need another mattresse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Dorion for 3 nights in May, 2012. The view of Ornos harbor was wonderful and the restaurants at the beach easy to reach. The Dorion's rooms were nicley furnished and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellant with plenty of everything. The staff was very helpful in providing information about Mykonos and good restaurants.

Room Tip: lower floor rooms may have small swimming pools outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here with my wife in August 2010, my wife having stayed numerous times before. Mykonos is a phantastic island and offers an unlimited choice in hotels. Many of those do not justify their price or publicity. This is a not so well known but perfectly fine hotel, on the quiet side, in Ornos bay (opposite the hugely publicized, ridiculously priced and totally indifferent Santa Marina) a few minutes from Mykonos town by car. Rooms are large and nicely decorated, reception is pleasant, breakfast is fine, staff friendly, oh, and the price absolutely in tandem with the quality of services. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed a week at the Dorion with our 12 year old grandson. he had his own room next to us and felt very grown up! the staff could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast was outstanding as were the pools and view. we had our own small pool right outside our rooms!
This is a real find in Mykonos, definitely 4 star yet very affordable.

Room Tip: better views up higher but I preferred fewer stairs so we opted main level. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were looking for a quiet, comfortable hotel in a good location so decided to give the Dorion a try. I really do not think we could have made a better choice!

The hotel is situated in a quiet location on a hill site about 200 meters from Ornos beach. Access to the beach and its restaurants is via a pathway, about 50 meters of which is unlit so take a torch for night time. The buildings are in the same style as surrounding housing, and being just 2 storeys means the hotel is not out of place.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well kitted out (TV, DVDs, Music Centre and AC). All of them seem to feature great views out over Ornos beach and harbour. There is one large pool and 4 smaller plunge pools, all of which are quiet and have very comfortable recliners for the guests.

Despite the feel of it being a 'boutique' hotel, the place is really freindly. The staff could not be more helpful, such as helping me get hold of a cake and flowers for the room on my wife's birthday. Because it is quite a small hotel the atmosphere is very informal and you are made to feel very at home. There is even a hotel dog (a cute little King Charles spaniel called Emma) who is keen to share the sunbeds with you if you let her!

Last but not least is the breakfast. We included this in package and I am so pleased we did. There is a huge buffet choice including cereals, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, bread, and even do it yourself pancakes. Best of all is the selection of local cakes and pastries which tasted great but did my waist line no good at all.

I have no hesitation in giving the Dorion top marks and would certainly stop there again.

Bob

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michgan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This quaint charming luxiourous hotel was tucked away in Ornos, and perfect for privacy and seclusion. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Views are amazing and tranquil. Nice spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Well maintained, quiet hotel off the beaten path, near Ornos beach. Great view, a number of restaurants within walking distance, and friendly staff. My wife and I wanted a peaceful reprieve in Greece, and this was our favorite hotel of the three we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dorion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorion

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#6 Family Hotel in Ornos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dorion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Dorion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorion Hotel Ornos
Hotel Dorion Mykonos/Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.