We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare huge and secluded resort in Mykonos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Marina Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Santa Marina Resort & Villas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ornos Bay, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ornos
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A rare huge and secluded resort in Mykonos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Size and location, rare qualities on this crammed island, are the main highlights of this resort. It occupies a whole peninsula at the edge of Ornos bay and has a beautiful private beach with grey powdery sand, turqoise waters, cocoon chairs and a great beach bar. Service is impeccable and features many VIP facilities like a heliport. Unlike the rest of the bay, the resort is quiet and secluded. The only disappointment was room style; it could easily have more of an island character and a design edge. Having said that, it was comfortable, clean and the bathroom was imposing. Outdoor spaces also lack attention to design and detail, though the sea view, flowers and multiple pools make up for it. Recommended overall but a bit too pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    35
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
94
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

this is our first night in Greece. We love it. since this hotel is not in the town (only 5-7 euro by taxi), we can enjoy the peaceful environment and beautiful private beach. but, if you need something, there are some shops close to the hotel(only 5-10 min by walk). So, the location is perfect. Also, we can have a nice breakfast facing the sea. everything is just wonderful here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our first trip to Mykonos was made pefect by the most beautiful hotel. I can't say anything except it was so beautiful. Everything was perfect. The staff were lovely and helpful. The room was fabulous, the beach was beautiful. Breakfast was amazing. Its also in a great spot. We hired a quad bike for 5 days so it was easy getting into the town but we really didn't need to go there except to shop. There is a lovely little bay just down the road from the hotel with quite a few excellent restaurants right on the beach. It was close enough to town but just far enough away to miss the crowds of the main town. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room just up from the beach. The views were great. It was quiet and just a short walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I spent the first leg of our honeymoon in Mykonos; Santa Marina could not have been a better choice for such a special trip. It is, quite simply, breathtaking! We had some unfortunate hiccups getting here, so neither of us were in the best of moods (shuttle driver left without us and my luggage was lost for 36 hours...all of this on the heels of missing our first connection because of a mechanical problem so we had an unexpected overnight layover in London!). One step into the lobby and our grouchiness disappeared. Our suite is out of this world. Deck that overlooks breathtaking views, beautiful pools, delicious restaurants...what more could you ask for? The hotel closes in early October, so do yourself a favor and book your stay close to this time...the resort is quieter, the rates are lower, and you get fantastic service (since you aren't competing with anyone else). The resort is within walking distance from some cute restaurants and bars off of the property, and the gym is FANTASTIC. It's open 24 hours so you have plenty of time to work off the baklava, gyros, and greek yogurt. Really great breakfast on site (wonderful buffet complete with mimosas!). Stay at Santa Marina; you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Stay at the end of September!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recently went to Mykonos and had the pleasure of staying at the Santa Marina hotel. The property is gorgeous--very lush with greenery and flowers everywhere. Which is not usual for Mykonos. The hotel has 3 pools (1 children's pool) and a jacuzzi on property for swimming. Plus other decorative pools. The hotel also has access to a private beach with real sand--not rocks or pebbles. There is a beach bar that serves food and drinks and plays music. My husband and I rented a scooter one day to check out the other local beaches--Paradise, Super Paradise, etc. After driving around and checking out 6 other beaches, we drove back to the hotel because the beach there was nicer then the other ones we visited. The lounge chairs and umbrellas were free, as opposed to 12 euros and the sand was softer. The breakfast was the best that we had while in Greece. Besides the greek yogurt found at every hotel, there was also an array of sweets, crepes, cereals, egg dishes, prosciutto and cheeses. Plus champagne included! Definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel staff are very helpful, the hotel is provided with all amenities you'd ever need, two pools (one salt water, big size, good for proper work-out type of swim, and one fresh water with Jacuzzi, perfect for relaxation), well equipped jim, boutiques, hairdresser (with a very capable, friendly and accommodating professional, open till 10.00pm in the summer and 9.00pm from september), restaurants (2)and bars(2). THe private beach is a joy and a blessing if you try to have a little rest from the partying on all other beaches in Mykonos. Rooms are ok, nice enough, not stunning, compared to the gorgeous lobby ant the other facilities, but never the less offer pretty much a comfortable stay in a clean and nice environment.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beach- private, lots of nice loungers, calm water very protected from wind
Restaurant at beach/ bar- great service and amazing food and view/ decor.
Rooms- well appointed, very clean and comfortable, beautiful view, and very private
Service- staff was extremely helpful and nice. only complaint is that there could be additional transportation service, as there are very few taxis on the island and it can be difficult to get in and out of town at night.
Overall- would definitely stay here again. True 5 star experience. beautiful setting, relaxing and fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Marina Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Resort & Villas

Address: Ornos Bay, Ornos 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#2 Family Hotel in Ornos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Marina Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel in Mykonos, Santa Marina Resort & Villas in Mykonos, member of The Luxury Collection, Starwood Hotels & Resorts, is nestled on a secluded peninsula in Mykonos, complete with its own private beach, exquisite restaurants, infinity pools, tennis court, gym and a lotus spa, but also just 3km away from the lively Mykonos town. Luxurious accommodation in Mykonos. Unparalleled service. Spectacular views. Gourmet cuisine. The lifestyle. Discover at Santa Marina Hotel in Mykonos, 100 sea-view guest rooms, suites and villas with private pools. Experience at the Santa Marina Hotel in Mykonos the Marine Club, Pool and Beach Restaurants in a stunning seaside environment and attentive services. Be pampered with the finest Spa treatments, relax on our private beach or refresh with a dip in an infinity pool. NEW FOR 2014: Guests can look forward to a completely redesigned concept for all rooms, suites and suites with private pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Marina Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Resort And Villas
Santa Marina Resort & Villas Hotel Ornos
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Resort & Villas Mykonos/Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Marina Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.