We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ornos bay | GR 846 00, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ornos
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We´ve stayed at Kivotos for 3 nights from September 21st to 24th.
Our experience was MAGICAL, the hotel is so much more than what the web pictures show. The hotel is situated in a bay so it has its private beach with sunbeds, sun umbrellas, a pier where you can have a romantic dinner and just to complete the perfect landscape of clear blue waters, the hotel has a beautiful wooden sailingship (PRINCE). Every space is special and different.You can easily tell that there has been lots of time and love put in the decoration details. None of the rooms are the same, they all have different furniture and decoration. I happened to visit a couple of them and I was told that it is so unique because the owner himself is very involved in this details and wants their guests to feel unique and special.
The decoration is classic minimalist but with modern details. For example, one of the rooms have very tiny led spots in the floor so it feels like being in the sky. These makes the hotel suitable for all ages.
Another reason for the hotel to be unique is the personal. They make you feel at home from the very moment you make the reservation (Manuj), the girls in reception (Esmeralda and I dont rememeber the name of the blonde girl) are really cool, always happy to help you and suggest the best places to go in the island. Always friendly and with a smile. The girls and boys at the pool and the beach are also wonderful, Constantina and Petros, the barman!
We also had the chance to have dinner at La Meduse, the hotel´s restaurant. Really breathtaking views from its terrace and exquiste dishes. Prices are ok for the high level of the restaurant.
The pool has its own bar and you can have your drinks whether inside the pool or outside.
We stayed at the villa called Noahs which is right over the sea, I have no words to decribe it. Just perfect. Everytime you return to your room you notice that housekeeping has been there as everything is clean and shinny.
If you go to Mykonos and you are expecting a unique experience, stay at Kivotos. You´ll never forget it and will dream about going back, just as I do now as I write my review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    49
    15
    21
    23
See reviews for
37
229
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

it was our second time at kivotos... i have to say this time they had made some wonderful changes... they just renovated some rooms and we had one of them... just great!!! they also had a new shopping boutique with nice unique and interesting clothing and accessories... and of
course i could not forget to mention the art gallery they had... amazing...
I also love the fact they dont change they staff... Xristos the driver was great and always helpful!
My husband and i wanted to thank the family Michopoulos and the staff again for our wonderful stay...

Room Tip: the best rooms are, 85,80, 110,125,150 and of course 130 my room... this rooms have grate see view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When the staff of the hotel wake you up with a great smile as a goodmorning while you have your breakfast , serve and treat you like if you are a celebrity ,make your stay at the hotel unique then you can not tell something less than great. Excellent job guys keep up like this . See you next year !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

With a 5 star rating and also 5 star pricing, the actual experience at this hotel fell substantially short of our expectations. The room details from quality of the bed (old and loud in # 215) to the primitive shower set up (flooded the entire bathroom each time) and non working Wifi in our room (the owner claims it does, yet we and the guests in the room next to us were unable to connect), there were just too many details missing, which should be standard at a premium hotel. Particularly room 215 is a disgrace, with walls so thin, that we heard the neighbors pouring a glass of water.
Other observations included room service trays with food remains (not ours) staying outside in the heat for over 12 hours (nobody cared to remove them). While the staff was friendly, they lacked professionalism (coughing on food, room service missing silverware, slow service etc.) and were eager to finish the season. We requested to change the room, which was met with attitude by some of the front desk staff. All of that should not happen, when guests pay $ 750 a night during the post season.
It should be mentioned that Makis was friendly and accommodating.
The hotel property is certainly beautiful with a nice pool area, however it also has too be mentioned that it was sometimes a challenge to get fresh pool towels after 2 PM.

Room Tip: By all means avoid room 210 and 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

IT seems almost impossible for me to believe that staying anywhere for 4 days would give you the sense of becoming part of one's family, but my stay at the Kivotos proved me wrong. First of all the hotel was beautiful. My room was comfortable and gorgeous. The staff made the stay. The food and ambience was delicious. We spent an afternoon on the hotels yacht and again the value was incredible . We travel once a year and stay at some of the finest hotels in the world . The Kivotos will take it's position at the top of the list . My thanks to Makis, Jason, Eleni, Pedro, Mohammad, Hammad, Esmeralda, Constantina, and his fine staff for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a NOT a luxury hotel. The shower water was barely warm and the last night it was cold. The bathroom was dirty and outdated. The shower head was mounted too low. I am 5'6" and had to sit down in the bathtub to be able to wash my hair under the shower head. There was no shower curtain and water flooded the floor with every shower. The toilet required you to hold down the handle for a full 60 seconds to work. The bed was horrible! The mattress was old and sunk in through the middle. It creaked loudly with the slightest move. The complementary wifi did not work in our room. Breakfast was disgusting and unpleasant. We went at a different time each day and still never got a table outside or warm food in the buffet. We had to get up and ask for silverware each morning. We chose to skip the complimentary champagne breakfast because we didn't enjoy being in our room. We were unable to schedule our complementary couples massage. The pool looked beautiful, but the grounds were not well kept. The odd mix of antiques and modern flare gave the entire hotel a weird vibe. We spent as little time as possible at the hotel. Esmeralda was the only saving grace. Her dinner recommendations and directions were superb and we did still enjoy the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I simply cannot thank and praise Kivotos enough. Two weeks ago our son and his fiance held their wedding and enjoyed their honeymoon there. All I can say is that they had 38 guests nearly all of them young successful professionals from the world of business ,sport and the professions plus a few oldies like me and my wife. I lost count of how many guests enthusiastically said how it was the best wedding they had ever been to and that it was the best hotel they had ever experienced.
I can unreservedly recommend Kivotos to all my fellow Tripadvisors without hesitation. If you are looking for a top quality ,comfortable friendly boutique hotel in a fantastic location with spacious luxurious comfortable rooms furnished to the highest traditional standards most with sunny balconies and glorious views some even with their own private pools, a hotel with fabulous facilities, including gym , spa ,two pools, private beach, swim up pool bar,fabulous food seved by wonderful staff under the watchful eye of Pedros ( probably the world's best restaurant manager ). I can promise you that you have just found it !. My wife and I are already planning our next trip and can't wait to get back there.
Thank so much Kivotos . See you next year. Best wishes. John Bancroft MBE

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel

Address: Ornos bay | GR 846 00, Ornos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
#8 Family Hotel in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Escapio, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kivotos Hotel Ornos
Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel Mykonos/Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kivotos Luxury Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.