We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anixi Hotel Mykonos

Save Saved
You added Anixi Hotel Mykonos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anixi Hotel Mykonos
Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ornos B&B and Inns
oxon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“1st class...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

we have just returned from mykonos and the anixi studios.. these apartments are excellent..most of the studios have sea views over mykonos and the bay..we had 9A it was lovely..modern.. clean fresh towels everyday!! maid service was good..double bed with mosquito netting..good shower room with bath but no plugs! no hairdryers..simple but beautiful..the wind was awful so strong..ornos is small with tavernas on the beach and a nice south facing bay.. average meal with wine for 2 is 40 euros..free sunbeds at the end of the beach if you say you are with thomsons..5 euros by taxi into mykonos town very pretty but expensive..bus service good..there is a supermarket next door..bakery.. lovely cake shop..shirley valentine beach is walking distance 20 mins..but disappointing..elia beach is gorgeous ..and super paradise for the young is fabulous..there are water taxis daily from the beach...we hired a car from north autos next to anixi for 30euros a day and visited the whole island ! quad bikes and mopeds are 20 euros.. the studios are not suitable for the disabled with lots of steps..and the island is not geared up for children..lazing with a book on the beach.. watching the world go by..fabulous hospitality from Eleni and her family..definitely would recommend fabulous chilled out holiday...

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room 9, 10 and 11 overlooking the bay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely apartments and lovely family running them. Lots of shops close by, would recommend for a nice relaxing holiday. Village not suitable for children in my opinion

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have just returned from Mykonos. The Anixi studios are superb, spotlessly clean, with fresh towels daily and sheets every other day. Eleni and her family bend over backwards to please, however there is traffic noise from the road. Ornos beach is a lovely bay with restaurants and tavernas on the beach. Mykonos town is a bus ride away or a forty five minute walk. Mykonos is expensive and I woud say not traditionally greek, however you should try Joannas / Nicos taverna which is on the beach, on the road into Mykonos Town, the food is a little more greek than the other Tavernas and you get a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire, uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went to Mykanos town on a cruise in 2011 and fell in love with it immediately. We went back in May 2012 and stayed in Ornos, in the Anixi appartments, we were not disappointed at all. The appartments are only ten mins away from the airport which is always a bonus, and they are so clean and pretty. The towels and tea towels are replaced daily and are so white that i didnt like using them. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and the sheets changed every other day, these were also crisp and white. We had appt number 10 in May which is a fab location when its not windy, which it wasn't for the first 4 days so we could sit outside chatting to our lovely neighbours Lynne and James, and the three boys next door, Adam and co. Then the winds came (which isnt unusual for Mykanos im told), it then turned quite chilly on an evening, but it was only early May so I suppose when its the height of the season the cool winds are a welcomed respite from the heat. We had fab weather for May and walked the short walk to the lovely beach regularly. This wasnt the beach that can be seen from the terrace of the appartments where the windsurfers go as it isnt a very clean or pretty beach, ( although i think Ornos is missing out here as it could be lovely if it was prettied up). The larger beach down the road is lovely, i have read many reports about paying for the use of the loungers but we never did, this could be as we were the first visitors of the season so the beaches weren't busy at all. The supermarket on the road down to the beach is good with very friendly staff who work hard and also sell the local olive oil based hair masks which are amazing. My hair is very curly (frizzy in the heat) and this mask made my hair soft, smooth, shiny and manageable, i will be ordering more as soon as i can find a supplier in the UK. CARAMELLO was the most amazing shop I have ever been in, their cakes and chocolate mousse are the best, with too many to choose from. I had the chocaolate and hazelnut one then the chocolate and caramel one later on in the week. They were both absolutely fantastic and only just over two euros each which is a bargain for Mykanos. This is a shop that you must visit if you go to Ornos, it is right next to the Anixi appts, and also sells lovely icecream, although I have had better.The bakery next to the flora supermarket is amazing too, lovely fresh bread and superb tarts, with either apple, chocolate, fruit and nut or lemon centres, and they are only 1 euro. each.
The owners of the appartments are all so friendly and can not do enough to help you. We had a few ants in the little kitchenette and they came to spray them almost immediately. They all make you feel welcome beyond anything i have ever experienced other than on Cruise ships. The Anixi restaurant down the hill is lovely and the food is great but the portions are huge, we could have shared our steak and Greek salad. The Ithaki on the beach is a lovely place to eat and do a mean moussaka with tasty fried potatoes. Their lamb chops are wonderful too and the Thai food looks very nice but I didnt get to try it. Lots of the locals eat there which is always a good sign to me and my hubby.
The local bus service to Mykanos town is regular and prompt, the bus stop is outside the beauticians on the corner or at the beach, but it goes past you all to another pick up point first so dont be annoyed if it sails past you,(as we were), just be patient and it will return. It costs 1 euro 20 for one way, dropping off at the top of Mykanos town. A trip to Paradise beach is a must, its a lovely day out, very picturesque with a great beach drinks and snacks service, sun loungers are free too. If you go to the Super Pardise beach be warned that the hill down to it is extremely steep, we only just got our car back up the hill in first gear. The poor people on the quad bikes struggled, some had to push them up the hill, so take pleny of water to keep hydrated. Some people have payed to have their cars towed up this hill, it is a lovely place but Paradise was more magical for me.
Be warned that the roads in Mykanos are not very good, this may apply to other Greek Islands but I only know about Mykanos so I was quite surprised. They are pot holed, narrow and very bumpy, with poor or no road markings.
All in all it was a lovely holiday, a bit expensive to eat out and the appartments were quite basic and rustic but soooo clean, well run and a lovely family feel. I would reccomend them to anyone. No pool but we didnt miss it as we prefere the beach, but the terrace would be lovely if it had a dip pool/and or a small jaccuzi.
Annie and Tony
Lincolnshire

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

In 1985 I made my first visit to Mykonos and stayed at the Anixi Hotel in Ornos Beach. Twenty Seven Years later I continue my wonderful vacation moments in the Aegean Islands, staying faithfully at the Anixi Hotel, where one finds the essence of life "springing" anew with each visit to the turquoise waters of Ornos Beach. Anixi, in Greek, means Spring. It is always a homecoming, welcomed by the wonderful Kousanthana family, whose hospitaliy will quickly make you feel a part of the Mykonian family. Their hospitality is to experience Greek life at its best. The hotel situated in a wonderful location, looks over the beautiful waters and sparkling white buildings, as you gaze upon wind surfers, yet are just a short enough distance from the beach area that you actually feel you are a resident of the small hamlet along the Aegean. The Anixi Cafe and the small shops at the quaint intersection lends for convienient shopping as well as casual dining when you return from the nightlife in Mykonos Town. Let me just say, that the experience of staying at the Anixi is one that can create wonderful feelings throughout the year when you have returned home - for the owners of the charming, spotless hotel, will maintain a friendship with you over the miles and over the years so that if you ever return, you will feel as though you have come home to family. I have found solace and peacefulness on the small porches outside my room, sitting quietlyl writing in the early evening, or watching the moon travel across the star studded sky. There is much ZOE, "life" to be found here, as much as you are willing to emerse yourself in the life of the Mykonian experience. Each yearly visit, I experience something new and insightful about traveling and Greek life. But most importantly I rediscover a wonderful place to call home, You will love The Anixi Hotel, when on step into the gem of the Cyclade Islands and into the embraces of Dimitra, Mathos, Eleni and Adonis Kousanthana and their family.. Ron Cadmus, USA New Jersey

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Extremely polite and helpful owners. Ask for the new rooms. The old ones are good as well but the new ones are bigger. Good spot

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms. more quite and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went to Anixi Apartments in October 2011, lovely small complex overlooking the sea. Really friendly welcome here very spotlessly clean apartments with small kitchen although adequate for your holiday, comfortable beds, they also changed the towels and tea towels on a daily basis, all of which were spotlessly cleaned, sheets/pillowcases changed every other day again spotlessly cleaned. There is no swimming pool but we didn't miss this one little bit as it is Ideally located with a 10 minutes walk to the spotless, beautiful beach, the beach is down the bottom of the hill, take first left, it is not the windsurfers beach, great restaurants. Ornos small village location, with a wonderful beach, good supermarkets, one right next door to these apartments, bakers, butchers, fab Ice Cream shop again right next door to these apartments and you like peace and quiet then this is the place for you. You can walk along the coastal road to Mykonos Town which is approximately 35 mins walk, well worth it! Although only walk this road in the day not the night! If you don't fancy the walk excellent bus service to Mykonos Town, takes about 15 minutes. Bus Stop down the bottom of the hill on the left outside hairdressers.

The temperature in October is around 26/28 degrees although it is very windy, I don't know if it is normally this windy for this time of the year as this was our first visit to this island.

Restaurants
Our favourite Ithaki was excellent right on the beach.

Tours:
Jeep Safari - excellent you see places you would never find on your own, and it covers the whole of the north side of the island - highly recommended

Delos - Don't bother booking through your travel agent, if you want to go buy your ferry ticket at the Mykonos port, our travel agent did say there was an entrance fee but when we went there was no entrance fee and we paid over the top via our travel agent. It's a huge site lots of history, Personally we wouldn't say its a must visit. If you haven't got very good sea legs, the sea is very choppy, take travel pills before going!

Day Cruise
Cruise boat leaves from Ornos Beach, full day from 10am to 6pm - Well worth the money excellent way of seeing the South side of this beautiful island and the wonderful beeches. Fab lunch included in the price too - again highly recommend

We would also recommend a trip to Mykonos Town and little venice excellent, absolutely stunning town, although does get very crowded when the cruise ships visit. Best time to go in the morning.

We would without doubt recommend the Anixi Apartments Self Catering.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bedded room if you want a double bed as they have twin and triple rooms too. If goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anixi Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anixi Hotel Mykonos

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ornos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anixi Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anixi Hotel Mykonos Ornos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anixi Hotel Mykonos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.