We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lalakhal, Journey by Boat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalakhal Boat Trip

Lalakhal Boat Trip
Sari Ghat, Tamabil Road | Nazimgarh Resort, Bangladesh
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lalakhal, Journey by Boat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Saiful A Siddique
Come to a place where high rises are made of natural soil rock, makes you wonder and time will still stand. Shari-ghat and there fresh greenish blue water does not come on a bottle, no one ever need to ask are we there yet. Lalakhal, Jaintapur, Sylhet this is the place where is unlike in Bangladesh. Shari-ghat boat will take you up close to nature, face to face with cliffs and caves. Clean water, trees and Small Mountain define nature. Discover this nature will make your boat journey memorable, still today people use boat for their daily transportation. People wait for boat at the side of the river. Explore this master pieces of nature, get the flavor of natural tea will gives you power to go there close to super green. This is border area so Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) inspected that place all time. Water and wind created an image on the cliff of river. It can be taken with an easy camera shot, still and video cameras are encourage then you can take pictures and share glorious memories with your friends and family.
Lalakhal should be considered one of the best ten places in Bangladesh. First of all it’s beautiful, sound is mesmerizing. The color of water is different from others! The water is crystal clear! Small hills, greenery, gardens of coconut tree looks beautiful! I was there 6 years ago on my first job posting there. I was fall in love with scenario, awesome beautify of the nature. We wanted to bring our all friends and family members who visited my house that time and even when officials are come visit our office also there to get natural flavors. I was loved to show the wonderful beauty of nature. There is no noise road or train lines, sound of nature are incredible. The end of journey is a small village market. There are two tea gardens in this area, Lalakhal tea state and Afifa tea state. Hundreds kilometers of small mouthing with tea garden gives you amazing feeling. You may see a lot of wild life. This nature is still untouched my man. I have been to different countries but this was one of greatest I have seen. There is a observation tower from where you can experience the beauty of Lalakhal. It’s really awesome! There are some water activity like Canoe, Kayak are available. But above all the best part of the trip is lalakhal-its unique beauty, clear water, calmness, green hills and valleys! This is why I think the Lalakhal is considered to be one of the prominent places in the country.

How you will be there:
From Sylhet to Shari-ghat is almost 45 kilometers but world class road. Bus from Syshet city to Jaintapur Upazila is almost every 10 minutes. Time and money depends on what vehicle/boat you are choosing to go Sharighat Bridge. Shari-ghat is just after Darbast and before Jaintapur. There are some small boat with diesel engine are available there, best practice negotiate price with boatman at Ghat. Please be cautious that the boat terminal is not friendly for wheel chair bound or senior people. There is a nice restaurant, named ‘Nazimgor Restaurant’ which is very close to Indian border. If you have a reservation for the resort then you will get there reserve boat to travel there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“unique beauty, an excellent experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lalakhal is a 30 minutes drive from nazimghar resort,sylhet! Even if you just want to relax and spend some leisure time in the nazimgor resort, you should not miss a boat trip to lalakhal. Time and money depends on what vehicle/boat you are choosing to go sarighat bridge. the beauty of the roadside from nazimgor to sarighat is also very pleasant. In sarighat you can hire local boat. as we are staying at nazimgor, so they arranged our boats. diffeernt types of boats are available depending on the number of passengers. Cost also depends on that! please bear in mind that the boat terminal is not friendly for wheel chair bound or senior people. so be careful.

Actually lalakhal is a part of sari river. But the color of water is diffeenrt from others! the water is crystal clear! Small hills, greenery, gardens of coconut tree looks beautiful!after a 40 minutes of journey by boat we stopped at nazimgor restaurant which is very close to Indian border. You can take some snacks or lunch there.you can also stay there in tents which have almost all facilities. anorher resort of the group is under construction. There is a observation tower from where you can experience the beauty of lalakhal. its really awesome! There are some water activity like Canoe, Kayak are available. but above all the best part of the trip is lalakhal-its unique beauty, clear water, calmness, green hills and valleys!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lalakhal, the river you saw at your childhood dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Lalakhal is a small calm river came from India. the depth of the river is only few feet and so it is comparatively safer. This river is very beautiful for a boat trip, the water is crystal clear blue, so the scene is really beautiful.

How to go
this is on Tamabil road, around one hour journey from Sylhet town in the way to jaflong. transport is widely available in Sylhet town for hire.budget tourist can go by local bus.

about boat trip
stop at Sarighat bridge. you will find many local boat for hire. arrange a local boat for 1.5 hour for a round trip. besides this local boat you can find better boat arranged by Nazimgahr resort, which might little expensive but they have life jacket for safty. For local boat go for a good bargain.

where to stay, where to eat.
Though this is a wonderful view, but local accommodation is not available till date. But there are 2 resorts are under construction. You can have lunch or snacks at Nazimgarh restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nail Blue refreshing water with scenic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I visited Sylhet several times but never had a boat trip to Lala Khal. I heard the name from one of my friends who worked in Sylhet. We went to stay at Nazimgarh resort and they proposed this boat trip to Lala Khal. They have some speed boat to travel through the Sari River from Sari ghat (located at Sylhet-Tamabil Road) to reach Lala Khal. In Bengali Khal means Cannel. But Lala Khal is actually the last part of Sari river that goes to Bangladesh-India boarder. The river was really beautiful and the small hills on the bank the river made it more beautiful. On the way to Lala Khal through Sari river we saw extraction of sand from the river by the local people in traditional way. The nail blue water made the scenic beauty of the river with the background of the hill was really enjoyable. We stopped at a building of Nazimgarh resort and climbed on a tower to watch the surrounding. Resort people inform us that shortly they will arrange kayaking, cannueing and other water activities for the tourist.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalakhal Boat Trip also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Sylhet City, Sylhet Division
 
Sylhet City, Sylhet Division
Sylhet City, Sylhet Division
 

Been to Lalakhal Boat Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalakhal Boat Trip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lalakhal Boat Trip to your Saves list