We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It! Brilliant Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Warwick Fiji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Warwick Fiji to your Saves list
The Warwick Fiji
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Road | Via Queens Highway, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Coral Coast
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved It! Brilliant Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

My husband and I took our 2 boys to The Warwick for a week in Nov/Dec 2005 and we absolutley loved it. I do not understand how anyone could write a bad review on this resort.
We had an "all inclusive" package which included all food, wine, beer, local spirits, water and soft drinks plus an ice cream cone each day. It also included all activities.
We took out own snorkelling gear as both my boys have their own that is specially fitted but you can borrow the resorts and there is no time limit on it - you can use it all day. We went out snorkellin several times and while it certainly isn't the Great Barrier Reef there is an abundant amount of life to be seen. We saw a moray eel, many blue starfish,a lion fish (that was special), many schools of fish, parrot fish, clown fish, and many other types of fish that I don't know the species of.
We also went kayaking several times and the boys loved it, as did we. The water was so clear that you could see the fish and sealife as you floated along the water
There was always something happening, whether it was pool volleyball, beach volleyball, bingo, tennis, archery, horseriding on the beach, frog or hermit crab racing, firewalking show or the meke show. My kids had the best time and are already talking about when they go back.
The food was great and so plentiful you couldn't possibly go hungry.
All the staff we so friendly and smiling and they all love children so much.
We caught the bus into Suva and stayed in there overnight which was an experience. The shopping in Suva was nothing spectacular although I did manage to find some perfume in one of the chemists selling for less than half the price it sells for in Australia. THAT was a find.
I am planning on going back in June/July and taking my mum this time.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    428
    158
    79
    37
See reviews for
599
496
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2005

I was very surprised to read the poor reviews for the beautiful Warwick resort. I have stayed here 3 times, the most recent in November 2005, and always found it to be heaven on earth. The Warwick is a paradise on earth location, with lush tropical gardens, a lovely pool area, restaurants overlooking the ocean, white sandy beaches and clear green waters. The main areas of the resort are beautiful and quite breathtaking, the rooms are clean, comfortable, cool and in good repair. The bathrooms are a little outdated but quite functional. After coming from a week at Sonaisali Resort where everything was broken, filthy and over run with bugs, The Warwick seemed even better this time around. No insects at all of any type in our rooms. The people were all always friendly and helpful.
We snorkelled off the beach daily although I agree there isn’t a huge amount to see. I stayed here in 1982 and it was superb snorkelling but of course it has been destroyed by tourists since then. We went on a hotel guided trip out to the channel a short way off shore and saw many different types of coloured coral, as well as a coral shark and a lion fish was very special. Not quite as spectacular as the island snorkelling on the west coast but still pretty good.
The food at Warwick is quite good, especially the Italian restaurant which is a bit more up market. Didn’t have time for the Walu this time and we don’t eat Japanese but We did the Walu last time and it was superb. After Sonaisali with the food poisoning and inedible buffets, it was heaven. Breakfasts were great and the chicken with mustard sauce is a must at the Café. Also you can have breakfast until 10.30 am so we actually HAD breakfast most days whereas at Sonaisali it is 9.30 so we rarely made it at all!
The shops at Warwick are great and well priced, and you wouldn’t really need to leave the resort to shop. They also have local villagers come in and sell handcrafts most days. The entertainment is all provided free – village singers and dancers, Meke performing group, Polynesian dancing, firejuggling etc, and then more mainstream stuff like karaoke, crab races, limbo etc. Firewalking also on site for a fee. There are also external hire car and tour firms on site. We went on the Caves Tour which was a fun inland tour to limestone caves and rafting on a traditional raft in the river. Highly recommended if you like something different. They do a waterfall tour as well, same company. We also got a car and drove to Suva, great to see the beautiful scenery, and the girls loved the shops. The cost of coke, water, chocolate etc is very cheap at roadside stores. We recommend stocking up as the resorts charge a fortune even by our standards. We recommend using your card over there to get cash outside the hotel as the exchange rate is about 80c, but much less in the hotels. A great place to stop on the way to Suva is Pacific Harbour, they have the best brownies and great shopping.
I don’t know why there are bad reviews for the Warwick. You have the usual Fiji Time issues but they are issues anywhere in Fiji. Compared to Sonaisali, the service is far better at the Warwick, beyond comparison I would say. The beauty spa was good but cut the times a bit short. They have a great hairdresser who can braid your hair in the little plaits quite cheaply and also does great general hairdressing. They have horseriding on the beach as well. The $2 icecream cones are a bonus here as well. Dairy food is great in Fiji.
I don’t think you could go past the Warwick for a Fiji holiday, especially for families but possibly if you are a couple wanting some quiet you might want to go somewhere more exclusive.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

The hotel bus from the airport was not there to pick us up, and after a 20 hour flight we were in no mood to be hasseled by the hundreds of taxi drivers outside of nadi airport. we eventually made a deal with a bus driver who was going that way to take us, which was around an hour drive. Also, at check out time, the hotel charged us for the bus that was never there, which took a while to sort out because everything there seemed to be based on what they call "fiji time". "Fiji Time" was very annoying, because nothing ever got done. I requested an extra pillow in my room, and the next day I eventually went down to the cleaning room and got my own pillow. I also recommend leaving a day before or at least several hours before your flight as the bus service returning to the airport is not too reliable. Our "15 minute wait" for the bus ended up being around 3 hours.

Regarding the appearance of the hotel, it is very nice, however I found the restaurants to be over priced. The hotel is located on the ocean and the landscaped area around is nice but the prices for food are rediculous. I got a special deal for around $150 a night, but it did not include meals, and it is easy to spend $150 per day for meals...also keep in mind the hotel is in a rural area and there are not places outside to easily access. At lunch, the cheapest meal on the menu was a hamburger for $20, dinner is much more expensive.

The room we had was nice, until we saw a huge cockroach on the wall. Also, it is advised not to drink the yellow water out of the tap.

However, the beach is beautiful as were the sunsets, but for the overall price of the hotel, I am sure there are better deals around.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

My wife and myself took our 2 young kids off to Fiji in Feb 2005 and we stayed at the Warwick.

The staff were brilliant as was the kids club.

They were able to eat,fly,and stay for free,and we only had to pay for our own airfares,and dinners,as our breakfasts and lunch were all included.

We intend going back to the Warwick for 2 weeks in 2006.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2005

My husband and I booked a Club room (6 nights) which was extremely comfortable, wonderful view, clean and well looked after each day also fresh fruit and flowers. The staff were warm, friendly and very helpful with everything. The food was great with a lot of choice, as well as other restaurants within the hotel. The wicked walu had fantastic seafood served. The hotel on the whole was great - entertainment and facilites for sport were available and the atmosphere was always very relaxing, I can not understand why anyone would write a bad review on this hotel - even the 90 mins travel from the airport isnt that bad when you see what a lovely place fiji is. If you want to appreciate a few days rest with tranquil surroundings then this hotel is for you, I just think some folk are pretty picky.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

This place is the pits, there is a saying, you get what you pay for, rooms old and mildey, fod average and greased up and got sick from wicked davu, overly rated and not 4 star as they say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Shocking is the word for the WAR SICK SORRY WAR WICKED.......NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Warwick Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Fiji

Address: Queen's Road | Via Queens Highway, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coral Coast
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Coral Coast
#6 Spa Hotel in Coral Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Warwick Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warwick Fiji is uniquely located on a stretch of brilliant gold sand beach with crystal clear lagoons on Fiji's famed Coral Coast. It is nestled among acres of lush tropical gardens and has long been regarded as one of Fiji's premier holiday destination. Boasting a total of 248 carefully decorated rooms and deluxe suites, The Warwick Fiji strives to offer every discerning traveler with the opportunity to fully enjoy a tropical and culturally rewarding Fijian holiday experience. The Resort offers a fine selection of exquisite dining options, including Italian, Japanese, Seafood and alternating nightly International themed buffets which are complemented by a choice of 7 bars including a swim-up pool bar. The Warwick Fiji also boasts excellent conferencing facilities and its team has the versatility and the expertise to ensure that your next meeting or event is successful. An exotic location coupled with its picturesque garden setting also makes The Warwick Fiji an ideal weddings and honeymoon destination. Truly a favorite amongst couples, families, groups and senior travelers, The Warwick Fiji is your perfect choice for an unforgettable and inescapable tropical holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Warwick Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Fiji Hotel Coral Coast
Warwick Fiji Resort And Spa
Warwick Fiji Viti Levu
Warwick Viti Levu
Fiji Warwick
Viti Levu Warwick
The Warwick Fiji Hotel
The Warwick Fiji Coral Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Warwick Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.