We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Fiji” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Warwick Fiji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Warwick Fiji to your Saves list
The Warwick Fiji
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Road | Via Queens Highway, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Coral Coast
Denman, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Fiji”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We spent 6nights at the Warwick Resort, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had booked a suite but after some time it came to light there was a problem with the room and we were given 2 inter connecting rooms as we had 9yr old & a 5yr old. One of the things I will always remember was how friendly all the staff from the cleaners up – the kids were greeted by “Bulla’s and high fives every where, and the staff even rebreed their names. My wife celebrated her bday during our stay and the staff stoped and sung to her at dinner. We had a ground floor room close to the pool which was great for the kids as they were there from dawn to dusk. The safe beach was a hit with load of snorkelling and fish to be seen even only a few steps out. ( we went snorkelling at south sea island and were impressed at how much more you could see at the Warwick) The resort was a great safe place for kids which made our stay enjoyable>

The breakfasts and lunches were great (which I only had a few times on acc of having too much to eat) and at dinner there was usually entertainment. The restaurant Wicked Walu was a lovely experience, sitting outside we go drenched by a wave but enjoyed the experience and had a lot of laughs (Dinner vouchers obtained a 50% discount)

Drinks were a bit pricey – but in true Auzzie style I came with a carton, hot water in the evening was at times in short supply but a luke warm shower in the tropics is not all bad. We latter stayed at the Radisson ant Denaru which was spotless and superior accommodation but we missed the friendly atmosphere of the Warwick

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    428
    158
    80
    37
See reviews for
599
497
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Travelled to Fiji for a family holiday, our expectations for the Warwick were realistic but have returned very disappointed. It started with an argument 10 minutes after our arrival about our all inclusive package and what was infact included- one would think the dedicated staff member taking dinner reservations would have known what was included or not- this had to be resolved by getting management involved to advise the staff we were in fact correct. Then came the nightly cold showers, the last night was a bonus, it was at least warm.The food was average to say the least and the japanesse tepanyaki was a joke, fried chicken drizzled in sauce, followed by their version of fried ice cream- plain ice cream rolled in corn flakes then kept in the fridge until ordered- confirmed by staff who were amazed how we explained what fried ice cream actually was. The staff were friendly and helpful in most cases, and I appreciate things run slow in Fiji but having to wait 45-60 minutes for a drink every single evenning is simply bad service in anyone's language. I don't normally write reviews but I feel that should another family be interested in traveling to Fiji, I am sure there are better places offering better value for money, service and food than the Warwick- I would rate it at 2-3 star, but not 5 star. We'll be going back to Fiji, but not the Warwick, very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We should have known to avoid this place when we tried to book it. Our preference was for a suite, but for some bizarre reason you can't book the suites online. We then attempted to contact the hotel by email to make a booking. Talk about an exercise in frustration. Eventually we sent a message to Warwick central reservations, which at least provoked a response from the Fiji operation, though no apology for the hassles! We then had to negotiate an acceptable cancellation policy (they wanted 4 weeks!). We had intended to arrange a transfer from Nadi through the hotel, but quickly retreated when the email circus got going again.

We arrived 2 hours after the advertised check-in time, but still had to wait close to an hour before we could get into our room. I suspect it would have gone on indefinitely, if we hadn't continuously harrassed the totally disinterested front desk staff. We finally got to our room, and despite the advertised promise that all suites have an ocean view, and that we would get a bowl of fruit on arrival, there was neither.

The rooms are pretty old, run down, and haven't been cleaned properly in a very, very long time. The cupboard doors were falling off, light fittings were dangling, the floors were filthy. All in all, the rooms are in desperate need of a renovation. And then there are the curious little things - a DVD player in the room, which doesn't work, apparently because they aren't going to be connected. It prompted us to ask why put them in the room, but we got the usual disinterested response from the staff. And then there was the inroom safe, which guests are encouraged to use - but it is not bolted down, and easily light enough to put under your arm and walk out with. Curious indeed.

The meals are, like most of the resorts in Fiji, grossly over-priced in terms of the quality. We had also stayed in the Shangri-La Fijian on the same trip - the meals were also over-priced, but generally better than at the Warwick.

Our next surprise came on day 3, when we were served a letter demanding that we pay our bill to that point. Now I have stayed in literally dozens of hotels in many different countries but never in my life have I been asked to do that. I tried to discuss it with the Front Desk, and got met with the same silent indifference that they must practice every day.

The final insult was delivered on departure. We arranged a car back to Nadi through the hotel, for which we were charged F$140. I made very specific inquiries on booking the transfer (2 days ahead) about the nature of the vehicle and was reassured that it was a good quality 'hotel' vehicle, with aircon etc. Well, the vehicle they delivered up was a broken down old taxi, hailed off the road. It had no aircon, the suspension had worn out a good while ago, and it could not go faster than 60kms/hr. Without the time to protest at being seriously ripped off, we endured trip of 2 hrs that should have taken 90mins, hot, tired and banged about. This was nothhing short of dishonesty on the part of the hotel - I could have gone to the road and got the same car for a fraction of the money they took from us.

As some other reviews note, the resort is quieter than some and the beach is ok. However, in terms of the beach, it is very exposed and in the afternoon the winds make snorkelling and boating pretty uncomfortable (cf. the Fijian, which has a more protected beach).

If there is anything good about this hotel, it is the Wicked Walu restaurant, which has a great location and staff who are really trying. Indeed, quite a few of the local staff at the hotel did go the extra mile (e.g, our cleaning staff), but the service certainly ran a range that started from more or less non-existent.

As noted above, we stayed also at the Shangri-La on this trip. If you are looking for a quality experience, you are much better off going there. It will cost about the same, as the Warwick charges for many things that are free at the Fijian. We ended up with bills that were pretty much the same for an equivalent number of days.

We would never stay at this hotel again, we would never recommend that anyone should stay there, and we would never stay in another Warwick property anywhere.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Me and my bofreind stayed at the Warwick last week for 5 nights and there is not too much to complain about! You shouldn't arrive with expectations that the resort will be of a 5 star Australian standard, but you have to put this in perspective with the price. We stayed in a standard room and purchased the all inclusive meal package.
Rooms: Our room overlooked the tennis courts in the Suva wing. The room was clean and very large (it had two double beds), it had a balcony, large TV with some free channels, mini bar, large bathroom which was spotless. The room did have a slight mildew smell but i didnt notice it after the first day. The room also had an ice bucket which was great for mixing drinks in the room.
Food: Out of the 5 nights, we ate 4 at the restuarants (which we received a $45FJD credit for each). The other night we had the traditional Lovo dinner which had enteretainment outside. The food was suprisingly good. Our favourite was the Italian resturant (we went there twice) and the seafood maranara was delicious and packed with seafood. The Japenese and Seafood resturants were also really nice. We did have to pay a bit extra at each of the restuarants (on average an extra $30 between us), but we didnt mind.
Location: The Warwick is about 2 hours from Nandi town and 1.5 hours from Port Denarau which is where all the tours leave from - this was a hike and I would not stay at the Warwick if you wanted to do more than one Island tour as its just to far. However, it was close to a village which we went horse ridding at (only 20 mins) in Korolevu, which was convenient - highly recommend this. http://www.facebook.com/pages/TheWildBoarFiji/202614473574
The village also had wooden souveneirs for sale in the community hall which were much cheaper than in any other place in Fiji
Activities/Facilities: At the resort, there was a lot to do. We played tennis ($5 pp), table tennis, put put golf ($5pp) - but this course needs a make over, swimming and snorkling. The resort also gives you an activities list which tells you what is happening every day at the resort (there is an adult and a kids list). There is stuff like fish feeding, guided snorkel tours and even bingo.
Overall, It was extremly enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We read the reviews on this site before choosing this resort. It was hard to work out why the reviews were so mixed but now having been there I can understand why this place gets the good and the bad. There are pros and cons to this place.

Rooms

We booked an adjoining room. When we got there it was not available and we spent the first night in a room that had the strong "musty" smell that many in here talk about. Next day we moved to an adjoining arrangement and this new room was as fresh as a daisy, no smell at all. I'm guessing this is just going to be the luck of the draw. Many rooms have recently been refurbed and they are a substantial improvement on the ones that haven't been. No doubt the Suva side is the quiet side of the hotel, we were on the Nadi side which is better for kids access to the main pool but quite noisy until about 9pm with various resort activities. Rooms are good size but bathrooms are small. The hot water in our shower did not work the whole 8 days we were there.

The Beach

This is a big plus for this place. Probably 400 metres of sandy beach front to choose from, very good snorkeling right off the beach and lots and lots of water activities available. We have been to Malolo Island before and I think the fish life off The Warwick is better than off Malolo although the coral at Malolo is better. Water clarity was very good.

The Food

This is the big minus for this place. The food is truly average. The voucher system is a very clever rip off. The service is appalling.

We ate at all the venues. The dinner buffets are very cheap and nasty and everything is over cooked and heavily laden in fat and salt. The lunch menu does not change, fries come with everything and they are bad fries. Breakfast buffet was passable but for an island supposedly laden with tropical fruit, there was little fruit available and what little there was seemed confined to papaya, pineapple and bananas.

The Italian restaurant is about as Italian as my Irish mother and again everything is overcooked. Pizzas are truly awful. Wicked Walu is a very romantic setting but again really disappointing food. Fish was dry, salads are just an afterthought and the sauces just taste of not much at all. The Japanese restaurant was probably the one saving grace unfortunately we went there on our last night but the food was good.

There were a few dishes that were OK and to give you the advantage of not having to eat all the awful dishes to find them they were - Kokoda, Chicken Shawanam, the Beef noodles at the Lagoon Bar, the Green Lip mussels at Wicked Walu, the Sushi at the Japanese restaurant.

If good food is important to your enjoyment of a holiday, do not come here.

The Service

It is frustratingly slow and many times just non-existent. "Fiji Time" seems to be an excuse to leave people waiting up to 20 minutes just to get a drink or a cup of coffee. Calls to the front desk to get some hot water to our room spread across 3 days before something happened. Don't come here unless you are prepared to wait in queues for food and drink.

The Voucher system

This is a very clever rip off. You basically pay FJ$80 per day for lunch and dinner vouchers worth FJ$30 and FJ$50 respectively. The problem is, if you underspend - say you order a $22 lunch - you are not credited with the $6. But of course you pay for anything over your credited amount. Where it gets clever is that the restaurant you can use the vouchers at for lunch has nothing on the menu over $28 and most of the menu is priced at $22 to $26. So unless you order 2 courses very lunch time (and believe me after you have tasted the food you will not order 2 courses), you will always be underspending on your vouchers. Add to this that all drinks are extra, and by this I mean even a lemonade, and you quickly work out the the vouchers are just a clever way to turn every dish on the lunch menu into a FJ$30 dish.

Add to this the mind numbingly complex process of signing things off and you end up with a bill at the end of you trip that is completely indecipherable and about twice what you were expecting. Give the vouchers a miss.

The Resort

Fantastic for kids and the activities available. Two pools, great mini golf course, tennis courts, squash courts and "arcade" area, lots of water sports and lots of activities organised daily. They are not great at telling you how everything works and it takes a day or two to discover things for yourself.

And despite all my criticisms above, we actually felt this place does a lot right and would recommend it to a family that wanted a "kids" holiday.

And this to me is where the mixed reviews come from. I would be scathing of this place if I came here as a couple seeking a romantic, relaxing holiday. But come with kids (as we did) and the good probably just outweighs the bad because our kids had such a great time.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor in facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here in Jan 2011 with my partner and another couple for 7 nights. This was our first international holiday so we had no idea what to expect.
We stayed in a garden view room which was great as we didn't care about the beach views or anything pointlessly costly. We got newspapers and newsletters every morning.
The Hotel is about 90 minutes from the airport which felt like a very long drive, considering i had motion sickness. We were greeted by the friendly staff, and checked in. We booked two rooms which we thought would be conjoining rooms, but we were down one end of the hall way and our friends were at the other (which worked out well anyway :) The room was just big enough for us with a balcony. The hot water would run out a little at certain times.
The staff was so friendly and happy to have a chat, and entertain. There was different entertainment every-night, from dancers, hot rock walkers, frog races.
There is a tour shop where you can book trips and tours which is very helpful.
Food at the buffet was amazing every-night there was a different themed dinner, my favourite theme was the traditional Fiji dinner. But there are also other restaurants there which we tried, favourite was the Italian one. Very nice pizza, gnocchi, and pasta. Breakfast was by far my favourite including, cereals, juices, breads, pastries, eggs, bacon, pancakes, fruit.
The beach was lovley bit shelly from the coral but what do you expect going to the coral coast. You can snorkel for free, go on kayaks. The staff usually have games of volley ball and soccer on the beach and try to involve everyone :)
If you walk down the beach you will find some villages huts where they sell some food (for cheap) also some great souvenirs, hair braids also cheap massages. I liked to visit these villages as i knew the money was going straight to them and their family.
Only down thing about this Resort is it is a "family" resort there were ALOT of kids there, but we did go in the school holidays, and the staff does a good job to keep them entertained.
If you decided to stay here, i would suggest definitely to get all inclusive package.
Happy holidays!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson - New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just got back from a week at the Warwick with my husband, son, and four wonderful friends (relatives!!)
It is a long drive from the airport - 90 (long) minutes. One thing about this resort is that for a main land resort it does have a lovely beach for swimmimg and snorkling. Even got up close to a Octopus. It cannot compare to the snorkling around the islands - there just isn't the coral to sustain enough gorgeous fish! There are two very distinct areaswithin the resort. The kidz zone plus swim up bar - then another pool on other side of resort, the quiet side!!! Be sure to book rooms in Suva Wing if you want a quiet room!! The restaurants are fabulous, the staff as always are so friendly. we loved our time there - but the island resorts still come first in our book. Oh and make sure you try the mini golf course - hardest damn course I've ever played!!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool for kids and pool bar - pick the Nadi Wing If you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Warwick Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Fiji

Address: Queen's Road | Via Queens Highway, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coral Coast
#6 Spa Hotel in Coral Coast
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Coral Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Warwick Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warwick Fiji is uniquely located on a stretch of brilliant gold sand beach with crystal clear lagoons on Fiji's famed Coral Coast. It is nestled among acres of lush tropical gardens and has long been regarded as one of Fiji's premier holiday destination. Boasting a total of 248 carefully decorated rooms and deluxe suites, The Warwick Fiji strives to offer every discerning traveler with the opportunity to fully enjoy a tropical and culturally rewarding Fijian holiday experience. The Resort offers a fine selection of exquisite dining options, including Italian, Japanese, Seafood and alternating nightly International themed buffets which are complemented by a choice of 7 bars including a swim-up pool bar. The Warwick Fiji also boasts excellent conferencing facilities and its team has the versatility and the expertise to ensure that your next meeting or event is successful. An exotic location coupled with its picturesque garden setting also makes The Warwick Fiji an ideal weddings and honeymoon destination. Truly a favorite amongst couples, families, groups and senior travelers, The Warwick Fiji is your perfect choice for an unforgettable and inescapable tropical holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your The Warwick Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Fiji Resort And Spa
Warwick Fiji Hotel Coral Coast
Warwick Fiji Viti Levu
Warwick Viti Levu
Fiji Warwick
Viti Levu Warwick
The Warwick Fiji Hotel
The Warwick Fiji Coral Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Warwick Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.