We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst experience in my life. this hotel is like a bad taste joke. Avoid it!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Armenia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Armenia Hotel to your Saves list
Armenia Hotel
20-th February Street, Building 4, Stepanakert 375000, Azerbaijan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stepanakert
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“the worst experience in my life. this hotel is like a bad taste joke. Avoid it!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was in this hotel one night. I have booked 2 month before be there.we was two male and they know it. well they give us just a bed and no so much big, in the smallest room I ever see.
Nobody speak english there, just the recepcionist.
The breakfast is like a bad taste joke. The cofee is soluble and have NO MILK!!!!! the food poor and bad.
My faather broke a glass by accident and... the make pay for it!!!!!!!!!!
If I were the owner I throw off the manager and, if I were the manager quit resing inmediately.
If you don't haave any other place to go, take your own milk in you want to dirk coffe with milk in the breakfast.
There are aa great hoitel in a little town 10 miunutes by car from there, soushi, the grand hotel. Is better in all aspects

Room Tip: MY advice is: avoid it. dont go.!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

New, clean and comfortable. Not sure it will age well but for the time being a decent option for Stepanakert. Service could be improved, reminded me of the good old days in the Soviet Union. Breakfast and restaurant ok but not more than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Well, well, this is supposed to be the best hotel in all of Nagorno-Karabach, the creme-de-la-creme of the south eastern caucasus.
It starts off well when you find out that the hotel and the government building of Nagorno-Karabach is one and the same building, couldn't be better if you want class and status.
The Hotel itself is not bad, good rooms, well equiped sauna and pool room in the basement and a wonderful veranda overlooking Republic Square.
If only for these facts the Hotel would be worth 4-5 stars, but the drawback is the Hotel restaurant, and I'm really sorry to say it, this restaurant is in a major lack of chefs or at least people with any kind of cooking education. The dinner is a disaster and not even the breakfasts are more than half-boring.
So employ a chef from Yerevan or Bishkek and the Hotel reputation will increase dramatically.
By the way, fix the elevator while you're waiting for the new chef to arrive.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Republic square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel has gotten better then last time I visited this hotel. The entire hotel grounds now have full wifi and there are more international television stations. The breakfast also has a larger selection and more international foods. The service is still very good and the staff was very helpful. They helped me go to new destinations in Nagorno Karabakh and found me some new restaurants. Overall it was a great stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have been coming to the region for many years,the first stopover was with a displaced pair of Bacu pensioners, my how things have changed.
I stayed in the Armenia for the first time last year, it was as I said then a "gem"
It still is , it continues to provide excellent service, the delightful reception desk girls go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy the hotel and it many amenities. Am pleased to report that one can now obtain a glass of wine in the bar and a bottle of wine in the restaurant , progress indeed! Single room here is a single room but none the less is much larger than any such room in the uk! I failed to convince the desk to provide me with a room facing the square, instead I looked out onto the road that leads to one of the towns schools and each morning I was able to watch the ballet that is Armenian driving on snowy icy roads. From every cloud there is a silver lining! Yes the hotel is of good standard, the breakfast had improved beyond measure and the winter price structure was more than reasonable.

Room Tip: In the summer take a square facing room in the winter it is an either or situation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Arriving late, hungry and with children was to much for the front desk. It took one (!) hour to check in two families and get in the two rooms. By this time, although at the front desk assured otherwise, the restaurant did not service anymore. The front desk was clearly not trained, slow and showing lack of intelligence. Giving and insisting on the much more little room (but same price) for the family with the more persons and no place for the (charged) extra bed.
There is friendliness in this hotel, but also a great portion of ineffectiveness for the traveller. When the bread during breakfast is up, the staff only fills it up when you ask for it, although they noticed it before themselves.
There is lack of professionalism which on the first encounter is over-tuned by the new building, new rooms and good location. But as I have been there before coming back leaves me unsatisfied.
You can look for the cheaper and better alternative in Shushi (see my other review).

Room Tip: Ask for a frontside room. The view on the backside is not very inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three nights a couple days ago it is amazing. It is even better than last time. It is amazing what this hotel has accomplished right on renaissance square close to fountains, government buildings, and stadiums. Right next to the hotel there is a small park that has go carts, arcades, and other rides. The hotel has great and very good priced restaurant rooms are very nice and clean. The hotel has car transfers and a sauna and billiards. The hotel is also very happy about the new airport that is set to open soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armenia Hotel

Address: 20-th February Street, Building 4, Stepanakert 375000, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Nagorny Karabakh > Stepanakert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stepanakert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Armenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.