We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sting ray Adventure

Sting ray Adventure
Half Moon Cay, Little San Salvador Island (Half Moon Cay)
Improve this listing
Attraction details
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had A WONDERFUL day here. Did the Stingray swim. Had a blast, then spent the rest of the day on the beach and swimming. BEAUTIFUL white sand, soft & clean, creating blue water to fill your dreams. Can't wait to go back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brusly, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HALF MOON CAY, BAHAMAS = PARADISE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've been here twice with and with out kids and it doesnt get any better!! This place is pure Paradise! This is Carnival's Private Island and so the only way you can get there is by their Cruise ship. IF you are gonna do a Bahamas Cruise, YOU MUST GO HERE! The water is Unbelievable!! The only way i can describe it is to say it looks like a Huge Swimming Pool! It's the Bluest, Most Prettiest Clear water you will Ever see! Do yourself a favor and Go! I do have a tip tho... Our 1st trip there we did a bunch of excursions and it sucked up alot of our relaxing time on the beach, so our second time we just enjoyed it. Do your excursions elsewhere bc you wanna enjoy every moment here!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful stretch of beach and great water to enjoy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My family enjoyed our day at Half Moon Cay. With only one ship that day, I was very pleased with having so much space for the number of people. Was able to keep out of sun for s good part of the day to minimize the sun's impact but got enough sun to enjoy it. Saw plenty of different fish around us. The Carnival staff set up a real nice lunch with some good Bahamian dishes as well as burgers and hot dogs. Plenty of cold beverages. It was a nice touch having it in close proximity to the beach so folks could go back and forth at their leisure. It was nice getting to a nice beach without all the shops and folks trying to sell everything. Boats in and out to the ship seemed efficient to handle all of us. High compliments to the crew of the Pride.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
265 attraction reviews
Reviews in 231 cities Reviews in 231 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Swim and play with Sting Rays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

So there is not a ton to do on Half Moon Cay but the beaches are amazing and this was a fun detour. I originally signed up for the first trip of the day at 8:30am but as our ship was late they bumped us into the next group. I asked in the town square how many people where scheduled to go in this group and they said 28, I then asked if there were any smaller groups and she said the 1:30pm only had 2 people, so they moved us to that group. This was an amazing experience with what ended up being 4 people, but really 3 as one person got scared and hopped out of the water. The stingrays do have their barbs except for one who lost his tail. Your guide discusses them with you, assures you that you won't get stung, answers any questions and shows you one up close along with a sea cucumber and a star fish. They provide mask, snorkel, boots and a life vest. The life vest makes it really hard to dive under the water so you end up kind of floating towards the top which is fine if you stay in the shallow area where you can touch the stingrays. They are constantly swimming by you and brush up against your legs. This was great with 3 people, but I couldn't imagine it with 20+ people. You are only in the water for 30 minutes, which seemed plenty long for me and with 3 people it wasn't hard to see and touch a stingray. Be sure to ask how many are in your group, and enjoy the experience, well worth the $30.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beach Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This should be the last beach on any cruise ship itinerary because it ruins you for the rest of them. Sweeping vista. Long white, soft soft soft sand beach. Snorkeling is fun, but there were no fish to be seen, there are no rocks or corals to attract them, I guess. Great place to learn the technique of snorkeling.
You can rent two-storey Cabins which are very pricey ($500), but nice with air conditioning, shower and service. Smaller cabanas are nice too, air conditioning, service and outdoor shower. We went with the clamshells, enough to get out of the sun and store our stuff. Even with one ship in port they oversold them, so get one early.
Carnival offers a lunch on the island, which was good - but crowded (even with only one ship in port). Plenty of seating under shaded pavilions.
We did not book any excursions on this stop and just had a great day enjoying the beach. Pirate bar is available. Wear sunscreen!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sting ray Adventure also viewed

Little San Salvador Island (Half Moon Cay), Out Islands
Sandy Point, Great Abaco Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Sting ray Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sting ray Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.