We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lordleaze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lordleaze Hotel to your Saves list
The Lordleaze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henderson Drive | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Valentines night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Lordleaze, staff friendly, rooms clean and food excellent. Such a relaxing, homely place and it made our Valentines weekend so good.
Thank you to the owners and staff for the experience, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
We aim to please everyone with our menu.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    92
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
187
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Took advantage of this local hotels deal for bed /breakfast and valentines meal .
Very welcoming staff as always , great atmosphere , great food , the choice of menu was great which catered for all tastes , highly recommend the salmon main course and the cheesecake !!!



Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Guest Relations Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Pleasure having you here, enjoying the food, atmosphere and us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a most attractive place with a very warm welcome and friendly efficient staff. The bedroom was comfortable with a modern bathroom and was spotlessly clean. The menu at dinner was pleasing and with a good choice; most of the food was sourced locally, was well cooked and attractively served. There should be more hotels like this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for these great comments.
Great that you enjoyed your dinner.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A lovely family-run hotel in a slightly weird location, the drive up to it through a housing estate was not very inspiring, but the hotel was there first and can hardly be blamed for housing developments! I was not there when checking in but understand the welcome was warm and helpful. I arrived on a very late train which was mentioned by a different member of staff the next day which shows a caring attitude. The room was not huge but perfectly pleasant with everything needed, it would have been nice to have been able to use the courtyard (our ground floor room had a door out to it) in better weather. My only slight negative, and it is a standard one for all hotels, is I wish they would stop covering the beds with old and slightly grubby looking bedspreads; I would much prefer to see bright clean white linen rather than it being covered by the bedspread as I am also never sure how often these are washed! Everything else was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast both days was extremely good; cooked to order, and very tasty, using good quality produce as well as a help yourself buffet of fruit, cereals and fruit juices. Toast was plentiful and a good selection of spreads was provided on each table, including my favourite; Marmite! The service by a lovely Spanish(?) lady was really friendly and efficient. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night (we reserved a table in the afternoon but changed the time later on, this was no problem and we were told we could arrive whenever we liked which was nice), the menu was good, service quick, friendly and unobtrusive and the food was very tasty. We both had the bacon and mushroom gratin to start, it was one of the best starters I have ever had and was substantial enough to be a main meal! My sister ordered 2 starters instead of a main course and this was catered for with no problem or surprise. We had a very nice Pinot Grigio to drink then retired to the pleasant bar area for a pint, it was nice to see 2 real ales on offer and the owner and his son Tom saw us looking at the collection of Champagne bottles in the corner and gave us details on the names of the sizes and the background of the collection.
We stayed on a deal which was extremely good value and would stay again if a similar deal were available and we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All beds now have brand new fluffy white duvets and pillows with a simple runner and cushions for your comfort and pleasure.
Constantly upgrading bit by bit in this old converted 18th century farm house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Having never been there I looked round and met the owners, friendly, warm and cosy.
Booked my wedding there last year. Everything I imagined and more. Lots of family stayed and loved it even my brothers dog!
Have been back since for a friends surprise birthday party, It was wonderful. So much care to detail and will create whatever you want to make it personal.
Lovely family run hotel,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you, this place is a great one stop venue for any party of any size.
All the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had taken advantage of a voucher for our stay to a part of the country we had not been to before. The drive to the hotel was reasonably easy, courtesy of our sat nav as without it, the housing estate near the hotel could have been confusing. Our welcome was pleasant and we found our room easily. Not a large room but the facilities were as expected. It was clean but the carpet could have been hovered better as there was quite a bit of fluff, dust etc near the skirting boards. We had been previously warned of a Christmas Party taking place on our first night, but this caused us no problems with any noise or disturbance. We ate out on this night at a nearby pub but had dinner at the hotel on our last night. The choice was not large but was well cooked and we had more than enough. Breakfast was as expected, choice of continental and/or cooked with all the usual on offer. However disappointing that we did not get a pot of coffee, we had to ask for refills. All staff we met were friendly and happy to chat when possible. A reasonable place to stay if exploring the area, but without the voucher full price looked expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your evening meal.
We have recently added to our menu with even more exciting food.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had our wedding here October 2012,and it was brilliant. The staff, food, and rooms were amazing. Even now our guests are still talking now about how good it all was. Very reasonable as well. Our wedding day was pure magical and a lot of that was down to the Lordleaze.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you, congratulations again, an absolute pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Address: Henderson Drive | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B and Priceline so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lordleaze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.