We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Visitor always well looked after” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lordleaze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lordleaze Hotel to your Saves list
The Lordleaze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henderson Drive | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Regular Visitor always well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at The Lordleaze many times and have always found it to be welcoming, great value and excellent service. On my latest trip I arrived later than planned but nothing was too much trouble, reception was friendly and the bar as well stocked as ever! Breakfast was good and plenty of it and checkout was painless - recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for the great comments.
It's always a pleasure to see you.
The bar awaits your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    87
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
164
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a great find this hotel is, set in a very secluded part of Somerset you won't get more secluded than the middle of a field which is where this hotel is. As previous reviewers have said it is difficult to find but well worth the effort. Rooms are not huge but are adequate, beds are very comfortable no problem getting off to sleep here. Rooms are cleaned to a very high standard, my wife is a cleaning freak checked everything but could not find athing wrong. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast with cereals and fruit available the choice is yours. All staff at this hotel deserve a huge pat on the back as every member of staff were super friendly and helpfull they have a wonderfull attitude to there guests. The owners of this hotel could show the big hotel chains a thing or 2 about looking after their guests I would say to anyone looking to book this hotel is go ahead you won't be dissapointed.................

Room Tip: If you walk in to chard bring a torch as it may be dark on your return....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
We make an effort to keep standards high and it's great when it can be appreciated.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was quite a basic hotel it was tucked out of the way. It is surrounded by residential homes and the town was 15 minutes away with barely anything in it. We were hoping for some country walks but there wasn't anywhere there to do so. The cooked breakfast was the worst I had ever attempted to eat. The egg was average but the bacon was just cooked instead of crispy. The sausage I couldn't even eat. The breakfast was tepid the toast wasn't browned off. The young girl that served us was soooooo rude she ignored us for over 10 minutes I thought I was a ghost! Her attire was inappropriate, looked as though she was wearing a band which just about covered her backside! Needless to say we left after 1 day. I wouldn't stay there again if they paid me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
This is not a true reflection of our hotel and our wonderful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights here from 9th till 10th November and it was ok to use as a base.

Our room overlooked the car park and was very small with a bathroom so squashed in that you had to move the shower screen door to sit on the toilet or your elbows were banging against it.
The cleaner didn't replenish our tea/coffee and we had to call down and my husband went to collect it from reception. Neither did she replace the toilet roll of which we had to fetch ourselves again.
Upon arrival we were met by a young lad who I think is the owners grandson (may be wrong) and he was very miserable looking, no smile and no welcome. (was talking a lot about making bacon flavoured vodka for Christmas ...yuk!)
We were handed a key and told go up the stairs through a door and a corridor and your room is down the bottom on the right! Some welcome! He didn't even look at us when he was talking.
We found our room and old fashioned is an understatement, the bed looked like it had been there for 50 years ... some romantic weekend we were in for!
Breakfast was lovely I must say although very small but we almost had a heart attack when we saw a sandwich was £5.95 for just cheese, dinner was £20 each for the cheapest meal and that was just a basic no frills dinner, needless to say we ate out and just came in later for some drinks at the bar.
We got the deal via Amazon but had we of paid full price I would of been devastated.
The hotel is situated just off a 1960's housing estate and hard to find because the sat nav took us to the back which is an industrial estate, upon finding the hotel we had to drive along a long driveway of some 200+ meters or so which is wide enough for only one car. 4 times over 2 days we were faced with the problem of reversing around the bends of this drive so an elderly person could drive past, it was a bit of a pain.
The hotel were having a stamp collectors dinner party when we were there, and this I would say the youngest member could have been about 70 and the eldest 90+ and to be fair I think this is the general ages of visitors to the Lordleaze hotel and due to the pre war décor and peeling paint and wallpaper I would say the owner is of that age group too.
Not recommended to those under 60 and if your bank balance does not have a few zeros on the end I wouldn't bother either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast!
Don't think that your stay was a true reflection of this hotel.
Many people who don't leave reviews love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I booked this hotel on a Wowcher deal for a 2 night stay in a twin room with breakfast and at a bargain price. The hotel was well signed with brown tourist signs from Chard, so although its a liitle remote it was reasonably easy to find and a nice peaceful location. Our reception was warm and friendly and we were given a key and shown to our room, which was spacious, well appointed and overlooked a courtyard garden. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed drinks at the bar, which had several local real ales and a good selection of wines, spirits & soft drinks.In the evenings the log burning stove was lit in the central fire place and we relaxed in the comfortable snug area next to the bar.We dined in the restaurant both evenings & found the food to be of a very high standard with locally sourced produce. The menu choices were the same each evening, but we found this adequate for a 2 night stay. The 3 way pork dish was in my opinion worthy of a MasterChef finalist! The service in the restaurant & throughout the hotel was friendly & efficient. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The fresh fruit salad and full English breakfast were both excellent. We made the most of the hotels good position for visiting both country and coastal attractions. Lyme Regis is only 20 mins drive.
I highly recommend this delightful and charming family run country hotel, which upholds good old-fashioned standards of friendly hospitality.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff when booking and I'm sure that they will find a room suitable to your require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad the beds were comfy we replaced them recently.
We put in a lot of effort to please everyone with our menu.
We hope to see you again, was a pleasure having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We got a cheap two day break through Wowcher for this hotel. The room was large and comfortable.' tastefully decorated and had a two seater settee. Food was very good and although the menu was the same for the two nights we stayed the chef cooked a different meal for me as I have an onion allergy and all mains had onions in them. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 24. Very quiet and looked out on to the garden which was accessible by patio doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Public Relations Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Glad you both enjoyed yourselves- we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very enjoyable stay in this small, family run hotel. Delightfully quiet at night. The hotel was warm and fresh with none of the damp odour so common in older properties. My only criticism of the room would be I would have liked a thicker curtain or extra blind to cut out the early morning light. The restaurant was busy every evening we were there with some large parties but with three different dining areas they did not intrude on the intimacy of a romantic break. A nice, quite reasonably priced menu and wine list in the main restaurant and a comfortable bar and lounge area. The weather outside was windy and wet - some would say wild - so it was nice to be cosy in front of a fire.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Public Relations Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review- we are glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Address: Henderson Drive | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lordleaze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.