We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange location but nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lordleaze Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lordleaze Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henderson Drive | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Chard
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Strange location but nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The approach to the hotel is through a post war housing estate and there are some commercial premises nearby but the hotel is well signposted and is nicely situated with fields around. This was a KGB deal to include a two course meal on the first night but the food was not off the normal menu. Instead we were given a special menu (for the cheapo customers) with very limited choice. The meal was, nevertheless, reasonable. The wine, as with many hotels, is quite expensive and for this reason we did not eat at the hotel on the second night. The room was pleasant enough without being outstanding. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and good service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
If you don't actually reach the Hotel then the location may seem strange.
The location is perfectly described in the previous review.
Hotels have Table d'hote menus as well as A'la Carte - you can upgrade any time
dining from the table d'hote is not exactly cheapo but glad that you enjoyed it anyway.
Staying away on a voucher should not be viewed as cheapo - don't do it if that's how you feel.
Our wine prices are very reasonable, especially compared to other Hotels, and they are tasty

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially the Breakfast and Service. Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    74
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
138
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location, a lovely hotel surrounded by fields. The staff all round where pleasant and friendly a credit to the establishment. It was great to find a dog friendly hotel of such good calibre. Had room service dinner one night which was excellent, the breakfast is superb some of the best scrambled eggs ever tasted! Thank you and we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on the 19th of April 2013 in room 23 and were impressed with: excellent personal service, very comfortable accommodation, very cosy/ atmospheric family run hotel where individuals matter, very good food. We will come again! E.C

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay at the Lordleaze Hotel - we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delabole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here 30 + 31 March 2013. When booked, we were told that there was a wedding on the Saturday, which was no problem for us. However, it would seem to have been a problem for the hotel staff. We booked in to a stony silence from the female member of staff, who was more intent on receiving our discount voucher than welcoming us - no small talk here ....!!

Later that evening we needed more teabags and milk cartons (2 teabags & milk cartons left in room,with one sachet of chocolate for 2 guests booked into a double room) - as there was no-one in reception we rang '0' on the telephone as instructed by the written notice - and were met by a woman whom we can only assume was the owner. She huffed & puffed, presumably annoyed that she had been disturbed (at about 7pm). Her frosty demeanour did nothing to endear us to the establishment.

The lack of interface with the staff, even when we tried to instigate a conversation made us feel most uncomfortable and unwelcome. We do not know whether it was because there was a wedding on (in which case, why take our booking), or that we had a Groupon voucher (in which case, why participate in the scheme?). Either way, it made for a most uncomfortable stay.

This, coupled with a noticeable 'grimy' feel - a strong smell of mustiness in the hallway, which pervaded the room and bathroom; the kettle was dirty around the plug; the mirrors were smeared; there was dust around the radiator,etc, etc; we had to search for additional pillows (only one each on the bed),and that our duvet was merely pulled over, not a 'made bed', nor were toiletries replenished, reinforced our feelings that we would not want to stay here again. Indeed the unwelcome feeling lead to our not wanting to drink in the bar, nor eat in the restaurant, which we had initially intended to do.

The redeeming factors were - the breakfast was superb and the waitress very attentive.

The location was not inconvenient for most attractions.

We would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Our Breakfast is superb as are all of our staff , not sure if you caught someone at a bad time but sorry you were upset. We are usually all very happy! We were very busy as you noticed and the rooms are really well cleaned and there is no musty smell here. You didn't book for dinner so I can't imagine that you ever intended to use the Restaurant. Please remember us for the breakfast as this is a true reflection of our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lordleaze in March on a voucher deal. We are really glad we did because the hotel is fantastic. The location is nice and quiet with plenty of on site parking, our room had views over fields. Although the weather was very cold the room was lovely and warm. The room we stayed in (12) was really nice with plenty of room very clean and everything was to a high standard. The staff were freindly, polite and helpful. The breakfasts were good with lots of choice of cereals and fruit. We didn't try the full English but I had poached egg on toast which was good. They source food locally wherever possible, which is something we like to see. We ate one evening meal there as part of the deal and the food was very good indeed. Highly recommended, the deal was particularly good value but the hotel is so good we would be happy to stay there again even at the standard rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which is at the front and overlooks fields and is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i spent the weekend 8/3/13 in chard and stayed at the lordleaze hotel
we were both very pleased with this hotel staff very helpfull and alway smiling nothing was a problem for them
the rooms were kept to a high standed and very comfy. The restaurant food was very nice we had an evening meal on the first night and the prices very reasonable and breakfast was first class. A big thankyou to Tom,and his father and the staff at the lordleaze

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
A pleasure to have you staying with us - hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I were given the stay at the Lordleaze Hotel as Christmas present and we were lucky to get some very good weather when we were there . The room we had was spacious and very comfortable and the hotel is situated in a very quiet area so the nights were peaceful . The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome . We would recommend a stay there to anyone .

Room Tip: If you are very tall just ask and you will find them very helpful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Lordleaze - we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Address: Henderson Drive | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lordleaze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.