We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howley Tavern

Howley Tavern
Howley | Nr Chard, Chard, England
TA20 3DX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Chard
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Maidstone, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I ate at the Howley Tavern twice over this weekend just gone. Once on Friday for my Dad's birthday (had the rump steak) and once on Mothers Day (Roast Turkey). The food is fantastic value, huge portions and there is a great notice on the bar telling you where all the meat has come from. My Dad is a Coeliac and they cater really well for him and give advice on what he can eat and go out of their way to ensure that he does not have anything that he should not. My parents are regular visitors to the Howley and I love visiting there when I see them. I come from Kent and I just wish that we had more pubs like this where I live.

The service is exceptional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Brilliant Pub Meal - one of the best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As I type this I'm still shaking my head with the disbelief that the Howley Tavern languishes in 10th out of 18 in restaurants in the Chard area. Having, for example, suffered at the hands of the 'service' at the Windwhistle Inn it was a pleasant surprise to come here for a birthday meal.

Very warm and cosy rooms. Not the best decor or modern tables, chairs, cutlery or crockery but that doesn't really matter. The food was excellent. The lamb rump special was beautifully cooked. Two of my party also had the salmon in chilli and honey - they loved it. Portion sizes are considerable too - especially when seeing the huge bowl of curry delievered to next doors table!
The only thing they got wrong was to give us the lunch rather than evening menu at the beginning but a minor quibble really. As for the drink, there is a decent choice, whilst not plentiful or greatly varied, should be enough to cover most requirements. One farmhouse cider plus Thatchers Gold for example.

If only I had a pub like the Howley Tavern near my home. Family run, with great food. Well done to all involved!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Always tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We visit the Howley Tavern whenever we visit friends who live next door!
Thank goodness the menu had changed this time as after eating there on many occasions over the last few years I almost knew the menu by heart!
Having said that there were always the specials.
Anyway, true to form the food for all 5 of us was excellent.
I would recommend that you seek this country pub out - dont let the single track road put you off.
It is well worth the diversion from the A303 or A30 to break your journey with a tasty meal. Mine came with 6 different vegetables can you believe it and that doesn't include the creamed leeks that my chicken was resting on!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice little country pub with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Went here for a birthday meal with family. Menu not overly extensive but plenty of specials. The meals are all huge - we ended up taking the crispy duck home as my daughter and mother-in-law couldn't finish them. Nice atmosphere and great views (although it had been raining when we went so we couldn't sit outside). Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best food on our trip to England and France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Was recommended by operator of a B&B in Chard. For dinner my wife had the lamb, I had the pork. Both were outstanding! Great atmosphere, good service. Will stop by again when in this part of the world.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howley Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Howley Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howley Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.