We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the one hotel in sovata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trandafirilor Str 111, Sovata 545 500, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sovata
Baia Mare, Romania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“the one hotel in sovata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hi, at first, this hotel was packed when all the other hotels were empty. Second it's a good hotel, very good food, nice staff. The only bad thing is the overcrowded spa region. You had to wait to enter the saunas or jacuzzies. The other unpleasant thing is that they kept the water cold. they didn't measure the temperature more than once a day, which resulted in cold water in the afternoon. The parking was small for the number of cars, we were a group of 30 cars...The guests were a bit older, and if you don't go in a group, you may get bored to death.

Room Tip: ask for a rooom far away from the elevator shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked a weekend at Sovata to relax and also take advantage of the properties that the waters and mud has there. And we did just that. booking was easy. The Hotel had a lot of people but we didn't feel it was crowded. They have 2 floors of pools with sweet and salt water, plus saunas, jacuzzi, showers everywhere, kneipp baths. The place is clean and they have a lot of other facilities that you can benefit from, that you have to pay for extra, if you wish - like massages, special baths. I was hoping to have some mud treatments, but they only do that from Monday-Friday, and for some you need a medical recommendation.

The room and the food was ok. We had breakfast included. for lunch and dinner you have 2 options: to order from the restaurant's menu or pay a sum and have access to the buffet. We chose to order from the menu, but the offer was not too big. A few courses. It was ok for a weekend, but if we had stayed longer, it would've been nice to have a bigger variety to choose from. And both food and drinks were quite pricey!

Overall, we had a relaxing time. We didn't go outside at all, because it was snowing, but also because we always had something to do indoors.
I would definitely go again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there in february for a few days. It was very relaxing. The swimming pool, sauna, massage make all the money. A little bit expansive taking in consideration rooms. Nice view from balcony. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A real time warp hotel this looking like something out if the communist era, but inside the Spa facilities are second to none. Fantastic massages. Location is great, breakfast is eastern european and you have to go with the flow on this. We found the staff helpful, friendly and attentive. But this is a pricey four star hotel (by Romanian standards) and so a bedroom with no air conditioning in the 21st century is pretty unforgivable. wifi was intermittent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Was there in August, the room is very small the bath is as you see in the attached video, no cold water in the morning, we were not able to have a shower, when we told the reception the answer was "We can do nothing about it". Being very expensive we expected much more.

Room Tip: do not choose upper floors since the water is not getting there in the morning :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new forest hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few days to relax. The hotel was ok considering it is an unattractive block of concrete but we had a great view of the lake and mountains and a sunny balcony. Only problem was not the hotels fault but due to the the nightly war of the local restaurants and their live singers competing for customers- trying to encourage them in. So what could have been lovely local songs ended up just a loud noise! The hotel restaurant had a buffet dinner or a la carte which we experienced and was very nice even though quite expensive for Romania. Had a few spa treatments which were wonderful, the prices are excellent value but be aware the staff may not speak much English. Not a problem if you are wanting to relax. Breakfast buffet choice was enormous and good quality. The bar in reception was underused by other guests but we enjoyed the drinks and snacks available. Prices are more than a less touristy place still acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was very cold outside and the city of Sovata was a bit emply but this hotel's spa was breathtaking. Very modern and comfortable, I had a great relaxing and reguvinating experience there. Will be repeating!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata

Address: Trandafirilor Str 111, Sovata 545 500, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sovata
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sovata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata Hotel Sovata
Danubius Health Hotel Sovata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Sovata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.