We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Wallander lore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Ystad

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Ystad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental Ystad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamngatan 13, Ystad 27143, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ystad
seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good for Wallander lore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a quick stopover in Ystad to see Wallander settings and experience some of Kurt's town.

There don't seem to be too many places in town to stay, as it is a very small town. This hotel is billed as the nicest, and almost certainly the most expensive. It is quite historic, with beautiful stained glass windows at each landing. The rooms themselves are unfortunately a little dreary and dated, and really just average. The value for money is unfortunately just not there. Also, we couldn't secure a "quiet" room at the back of the building so we had to settle for a "quieter" room on the side of the hotel. Since it was warm and we had our windows open, we could hear every screech and scream of the many commuter trains stopping at the station across the street. Not a very restful night or morning.

The upside of the hotel is that a nice breakfast buffet is included. There was a good variety and plenty of seating, even though we had to sit behind the wax dummy placed at the piano (???) The staff were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, or at least as far away as possible from the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
28
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were on a Kurt Wallander tour, looking at places Kurt "lived" (he's a character in a series of detective novels), worked, found dead bodies, etc!
In the books, Kurt has eaten at Continental, and the impressive interior is mentioned. We were not disappointed! The decor is overwhelming and stunning. Quite old fashioned, but with such warmth and beauty! We said we could imagine Jeeves booking rooms here for Bertie Wooster, because this was the type of place they stayed when traveling: the best, the most ornate and beautiful.
There are lovely crystal chandeliers in the entrance and dining room. Beveled edges on windows and mirrors. Open, carpeted areas and wide, carpeted stairways. Old-fashioned charm throughout.
The staircase is straight up to a large landing halfway, then straight from there (no narrow, curved stairs). At the landing are three huge and absolutely breath-taking stained glass windows in gorgeous, bright gem colors. An exquisite backless chair is placed on the landing, and I could imagine a bride sitting there, her groom standing at her side, while their pictures were being taken with those wonderful stained glass windows in the background!
If you are thinking of getting married soon, and are anywhere near Ystad, book a room at Hotel Continental and get the most glamorous pictures ever!
Breakfast was bountiful, varied, delicious! If you sit at the big table in the corner, where you have a view of the entire dining room, you'll notice a small sign. We thought perhaps we'd sat at a reserved table, but read the card which informed us that this is where Kurt Wallander also sat!
The bed was comfy, everything was clean. The staff is great - friendly, helpful, knowledgeable.
Ystad is a lovely little town, with much to offer in the way of beauty, history and good food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front provide a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, england
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we wanted to include a visit to Bornholm along with our tour around Sweden but had no great expectations based on other TA reviews. The hotel was very historic and traditional and elegant and though run by a small staff was better than we expected.
We had supper at the hotel as there didn't seem to be any great alternatives in Ystad as the main restaurant at the marina was only discovered by us two days later.
The food was okay but the meat in our main course was too tough so we left most of it. Unasked the waitress credited both our main courses down to zero; we were impressed.
The room was fine even though we overlooked the car park and we had a comfortable night's sleep.
The buffet breakfast was fine and this seems a good place to stay; lots of contractors there showed it was a lot fuller than we first thought.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed 1 week in this wonderful traditional hotel which harks back to the luxury of former times.
The staff were incredibly polite and exceedingly friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Close to the train station, well placed for several restaurants and bars, rooms were clean, light and airy, and I slept soundly in a nice double bed that was immaculate. Free WiFi and parking and an extensive but Swedish style (healthy) breakfast.

I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed severall times in this hotel during the last two years.

It is well run by competent people and I have never been disappointed.

The piano player in the dining room is special! Rooms are clean and comfortable.
There is ampel parking space adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I liked this fine old hotel. The location is good and central, there is ample parking (not free but inexpensive if you pay at the reception), the rooms are nicely sound proof with extra sound reducing windows facing the railway line. It worked wonders. Slept well. The hotel seems to get by with a very small staff - reception not always staffed though a phone is set up should you need service - but they are friendly and competent and things are well run. Good, clean rooms but no air conditioning. Also no ironing board, kettle or coffee but this is standard practice in Sweden, I think. Breakfast was excellent. All in all a very comfortable and nicely situated historic hotel and I would not hesitate to come back. Remember to ask for login details for free Wi-Fi at check in (I forgot so did not test it)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Ystad Continental for a one-day excursion in June 2013. The hotel was ideally situated for exploring the picturesque city-centre and enjoying the relaxed provincial atmosphere of Ystad. The staff was friendly, and the room-standard and breakfast was fine. We had pre-booked a larger room, which is probably advisable.

If you arrive during weekends, be aware that the hotel restaurant is closed, and the few other restaurants in town are heavily booked. No minibar, tea- or coffee-making facilities are available in the rooms. The reception closes at 10 PM, from when you must access the hotel with your room-key. This however worked without problems. The prise-level might be slightly too high, but then there are few local alternatives...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental Ystad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Ystad

Address: Hamngatan 13, Ystad 27143, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Ystad
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ystad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Ystad 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental Ystad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Ystad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.