We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management new name..... disappointment :-(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vendel Ale Stenar

Vendel Ale Stenar
Kaseberga hamn, Ystad 27178, Sweden
+46 411 52 72 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 56 restaurants in Ystad
Cuisines: Seafood, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New management new name..... disappointment :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

New name: Kåseberga Cafe& Bistro.
We went here a warm summer evening and called in advance to reserve a table on the terrace. The first disappointment was that the table was not a particularly good one, placed just at the entrance with no sea view. Our order was taken promptly, we ordered beer, starters, main course and wine. The starters arrived after quite some time, which wouldnt have been a problem if we had been served our beers while waiting......Now we almost had to remind the staff about it. Quite unprofessional. The food was relatively ordinary, in particular considering the prices. When we had finished the main course nothing happened for at least 40 minutes. Noone payed us any attention, asked if we were happy with the food or if we wanted dessert or coffee. The new management of this place seem to have high ambitions but unfortunately havent found good enough staff. At least the team working this night were really no good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    6
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been here many times, in the summer when you sit outside the service can be really really bad. Inside it is much better. The bread excellent, the food very good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The second time and always the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The backstage, the service, the sea, etc.... so excellent. The dream.

All my family, all my friends have no other words than "ahhh, mhhhh, ohhhh".

So beautiful for the eyes, so excellent for the tongue. Each time it is the perfect evening. You can go and be certain of the success of your trip.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don´t miss Vendels Ales Stenar when in Österlen / Skåne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Went today to Vendels Ales Stenar and realised that they are even better this year than last year. We ate at their outside restaurant and they had a limited menu but with very good alternatives - this year they even have an alternative for children (55 kr). We choose a small "tapas-like" menu. It was actually "all you can eat", but with the first serving we were all satisfied. It was very good food - everything from the bread to the dishes.

Also the service was super, eventhough the restaurant was full and the kitchen was struggeling to cope with the demand.

This restaurant is totally worth to be visited at least once a year!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We visited the restaurant during a rather cold and chilly july evening. The service was slow and it took a while before we were given a table even though the restaurant was almost empty. It took even longer to get the menues, but from there on our young, female waiter was swapped with a nice, knowlegdable man who knew how to provide good service. (Only minus was the warm white wine... shouldn't happen at a place like this)
I thought the food was just ok, but my boyfriend and the couple we were dining with were very happy with their food. But the true highlight of the evening was the dessert! A rich, dark chocolate cake with grilled pinapple and coconut foam. Yummy!
Prices were very good (at least compared to norwegian restaurants).
Nice atmosphere overlooking the sea.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vendel Ale Stenar also viewed

Ystad, Skane County
Ystad, Skane County
 
Ystad, Skane County
 

Been to Vendel Ale Stenar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vendel Ale Stenar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.