We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun first time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Riding

Rainforest Riding
1 Mile, Sugar Loaf Estate, Portsmouth, Dominica
767-265-7386
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: All our tours are customized to your length of stay and riding ability. Riders will view a mixture of local agriculture and forest, several species of birds and local livestock. We offer five different trails and a beach ride where you can swim with the horses. It's a lot of fun.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fun first time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were convinced to try Rainforest Riding as our family's first riding experience because of the setting and the reviews we have read. We were not disappointed.

Valerie takes great care to match the horse and rider... we had a very cute progression of small white pony, big brown pony, small horse and big stallion. Valerie's daughter came along for the ride which I think helped motivate our kids.

The ride itself is great... just the right amount of safety and adventure. We were led through the forest at walking speed to see the rainforest, taste some fruits picked from the trees and also have a sort of botanical guided tour. They were great about taking photos.

The tour lasted for an hour which I think was the perfect length for a first timer... the kids would disagree, however, as they couldn't get enough. Valerie tells us that she is moving closer to the ocean, so that would be a really great new setting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a fantastic way to see the nature. Valerie is so nice and knowledgeable, as is her guide Irwin. The horses are well-looked after and very nice to ride. I would definitely recommend this to any- and everyone. Also look out for their new trails.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, UK
1 review
“A great way to see the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful trail ride with Valerie and her very helpful and informative guide Irwin, who identified many of the native plants/trees and even gathered some delicious pink grapefruit for a wonderfully refreshing snack en route. We had such a good time - the elevated position gives a whole new aspect of the rainforest, as well as superb ocean views. We're pleased to say that, although novices, we felt completely at ease and we hope to return in the future for more exploring on horseback.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time at rainforest riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We met a nice young waiter at big pop pas in Portsmouth who suggested we try this trip out.
It was fantatstic. I went with my 2 boys 6 and 10 years old, who rode on their own horses. The owner Valerie is from Canada and has 20 plus horses she cares for. Valerie and her guide brought us high into an old plantation called brandy manor. They showed us native plants and flowers. They were both very knowledgable and the kids were thrilled to try guavas fresh from the tree and now have a whole assortment of things to show their friends. Cinnamon bark, coffee cherries, cacao beans bay leaves etc...
It was a great few hours. Excellent price too.I would highly recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
up north
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rainforest Riding with Valerie and Irvine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and i had the pleasure of riding with Valerie and Irvine in Jan 12, we arrived in Dominica via cruise ship, the adventure started straight away! being Yorkshire folk we were far too tight to catch a taxi to Portsmouth so opted for the bus, Valerie emailed us and gave us directions to the bus stop, now these are not buses as in the UK or US, these are minivans driven by local speed demons! it is worth the £10 each way for two people, far cheaper than than a roller coaster ride at a fun park and i can now grip a bus seat with not only my hands!!!! as the reviews say tell the driver where your going and he will drop you off at the door, we never got to worry about this though as luck would have it Irvine was on our bus.
Valerie was very accomodating and made us feel welcome straight away, yes her daughter is a chatty bundle of fun too, the horses are well tended and Valerie gave us a history lesson of how she brought them to the island and is now breeding her own Dominica horses.
As the other reviews say the scenery is stunnig and Irvine walks the trail while you ride, top marks Irvine and very impressive! Irvine runs you through what is all around you and pick/cuts fruit from the trees and lets you taste the goods, it seems there is a use for everything around you and if Irvine does not know then its not worth knowing!!!
This adventure goes a little way (in my view) in showing you the real Dominica, how it was and how it is today, lets hope it dosent change.
Would recommend the trip to anyone, we are not riders but felt comfortable with the ride, this is rural riding and the real deal, its more cowboy than dressage, so if you fancy getting down to grass roots then take this tour.
Valerie and Irvine thank you for a lovely experience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Riding also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Rainforest Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Riding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rainforest Riding to your Saves list