We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous views, lovely horses and a great family run business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Riding

Rainforest Riding
| 1 Mile, Sugar Loaf Estate, Portsmouth, Dominica
+1 767-265-7386
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All our tours are customized to your length of stay and riding ability. Riders will view a mixture of local agriculture and forest, several species of birds and local livestock. We offer five different trails and a beach ride where you can swim with the horses. It's a lot of fun.
London, Canada
1 review
“fabulous views, lovely horses and a great family run business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

we went on a horseback riding tour up a mountain side where we experienced wonderful views of the ocean and surrounding mountains ( of which there are plenty in this carribean country!). We also got to see many of the native plants including a local farmers land who was growing coffee, bananas, citrus, cocoa and lots more growing through our route! very cool and our guide was extremely knowledgeable on all of the local flora and fauna. Our horses were also lovely and gentle and happy to go where we needed them to. We had such a wonderful time and I recommend it as a way for anyone to get a great view of a bit of everything in a short period of time...plus, we werent exhausted after!! I love hiking but this was a great way to see the mountains and still ave some energy left over!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing ride through the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My 16 year old daughter and I enjoyed horseback riding with Valerie and her delightful chatty 7 year old daughter Collatta. The riding was done in the Portsmouth area (about 1 to 1-1/2 hour bus ride from Roseau - the bus driver will drop you off right at the entrance if you ask). We were riding up in the mountains and the walking guide who accompanied us pointed out the local flora such as lemongrass, cinnamon trees, bay leaf trees, coffee bushes, fruit trees etc. Valerie was a wonderful host/guide and also accompanied us back to the bus stop. We rode for about 2 hours on well cared for horses. Prices very reasonable and worth the adventure of taking a bus (rather than an expensive taxi).

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great horseback through Dominica's rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Had a great time and good price. Owner was very nice and informative. Very easy for people who never have ridden a horse before. Sampled local floral along the trail

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great first riding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This was the first time both my girlfriend and I have ridden horses and we loved it. The owner, Valerie, and her coworker, Irvin, were both very informative and very welcoming. They brought us through the rainforest and up a mountain on the horses, stopping periodically to sample fresh fruit on the trail. Great cultural experience as well as a cool new way to see the island's beauty. Can't beat the price. I think its a necessary part of anybody's trip to Dominica.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomadic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A lovely way to see the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Valerie is charming and helpful with lovely friendly horses. A group of 6 was no problem, even with 4 year-old and 8 year-old boys. The ride was gentle and easy for all of us novices and with some lovely and unexpected views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Riding also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Rainforest Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Riding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.