We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sisters Sea Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sisters Sea Lodge
Save
You added Sisters Sea Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Picard Estate | Lizard Trail, Portsmouth, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Sisters Sea Lodge is in a great setting and location. The beach bar is fantastic. Lovely food in a relaxed atmosphere with great views across the Caribbean sea. The prices are reasonable and affordable. All-in-all, a real taste of eco Caribbean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Sisters Sea Lodge is located directly on the bay. It is a beautiful setting right next to Ross University. It provides access to one of the longest and nicest sand beaches in Dominica. Also, because of the University, it is very close to an IGA grocery store that is quite substantial and has a 24/7 ATM. The hosts, Christine and Lavina, are very pleasant folks. They also have a beachfront bar/restaurant where one can get drinks and a nice dinner. It was very comfortable. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is a lost treasure. Located right on the ocean, you can hear the waves roll in as you sleep at night. The rooms are huge with two beds, large living rom, kitchenette, and a bathroom with stone walls and an open shower. Chris, the manager, went out of her way to make us feel at home and provide any assistance we needed, She even cooked us a special dinner one night that's one of the best meals I have ever enjoyed. We were visiting a friend attending Ross medical school, which is a short 5 minute walk away. The restaurant is located right on the ocean and we spent much of our time there enjoying the breeze, the beautiful gardens, snorkeling, and eating coconuts that fell out of the tree next to us. We have truly found a new home in Dominica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We thought Sisters was absolutely lovely! We had a tropical garden right outside out door, and a view of the beach and water as well. The restaurant is right on the beach and serves delicious food and drinks, and we enjoyed the sunset there every evening. The rooms were very comfortable - everything we needed. We loved the lizards, hummingbirds, tropical plants and fruit trees. Chris was so very helpful with anything we needed - where to hike, how to get around, anything! Our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We traveled Dominica without hotel reservations so we were not tied to being someplace on a certain date. We had ideas of where we might stay if/when we were in certain areas. Sister Sea was one that worked out great. Amazing combo of lush garden and beach; Chris was a charming hostess and accommodated us quickly; excellent dinner (both my vegetarian dinner and my husband's fish dinner) at tables near the water; bartender Jahcall (sp?) was fun to talk to and made some great rum punch; rooms were good size. The only thing that stops me from giving a 5 is cold shower and, for me, the one of the most uncomfortable pillows ever (if you like a massive pillow though, you would be fine). I would definitely recommend Sister Sea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dominica85, Manager at Sisters Sea Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Zanner5

Thanks a lot for your spontaneous stay at Sisters Sea Lodge and for your review on trip advisor!
I'm happy that you rated us as a "great choice" and, besides the two exceptions, enjoyed your stay with us.

I will certainly pass on the good feedback to Chef Karine and her husband Jahcall at the Bar, who will happy as well.

Please apologize, that you had to shower under cold water and that the person who brought you to your studio obviously did not explain, that you had to press a switch in the bathroom to activate the heater for the shower! ; )... This is usually part of my introduction, but unfortunately I couldn't be there when you arrived.

And sorry for the uncomfortable pillows. I will get some thinner/softer ones, so guests have a choice.

Hope you enjoyed Dominica as a whole and will come back sometime. Would be happy to welcome you at Sisters again.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last week we spent five wonderful days in this peaceful lodge in a big beautiful tropical garden. We could hear the sea and the birds in the bungalow, there are a lot of lizards and hummingbirds arround, you smell the flowers and trees...
If you need something you will get the best advice and help from Chris the new manager of the lodge. She cares a lot.
The local bus and a supermarket are very close to this hotel. And you can walk to the Indian River and the Cabrits NP or to Porthsmouth.
A very friendly couple is managing the very nice restaurant on the beach, where we got delicious smelling and tasting meals, relaxed and had beautiful views.
So this is a place we would love to return to again.

Room Tip: We choose the cheepest room, because we didn't want a television. There is no air-condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a couple of nice days at Sister's, where we lived in a bungalow, only 50 meters from the ocean. We were welcomed by Chris, the manager of the establishment. She was incredibly helpful and did everything she could to make our stay pleasant.

There is a really nice beach bar where you can see an amazing sunset.

You are getting your money's worth here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sisters Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisters Sea Lodge

Address: Picard Estate | Lizard Trail, Portsmouth, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sisters Sea Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since 2012. Cozy, self-contained studios in a wonderful tropical garden right by the beach at Prince Rupert Bay. The on-site Sisters Beach Bar & Restaurant, located on the beach front, is known for its unique ambience, lovely sunsets and tasty food and drinks.One of the best beach in the Northwest, refreshing river pools, Dive Center, Kajak Rental, Car Rental, Shopping (Supermarkets), ATM, Pharmacy, Take Away Food Corner, variety of Restaurants and Bus Stop in immediate vicinity (5'-15' walking distance). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sisters Sea Lodge Dominica/Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sisters Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.