We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded African inspired lodges with beautiful views, wonderful sounds of nature and 100% Eco-conscious...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manicou River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manicou River Resort to your Saves list
Manicou River Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tantan, Portsmouth, Dominica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Secluded African inspired lodges with beautiful views, wonderful sounds of nature and 100% Eco-conscious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

The Manicou River Resort is truly a special place to stay. The lodges are situated about 400ft above a wooded area, with spectacular views of Douglas and Prince Rupert Bay. We had the pleasure of staying in the Red Cedar Cottage for 3 days. The cottage is fully open, tastefully decorated (water bed, raw cedar furnishings, beautiful linen) and comes with a wonderful hammock to relax and enjoy panoramic views. Tess and Kevin, the hosts are lovely people, who provided us with excellent tips/information about travelling around Dominica and really took care of us during our stay.

A few things to note, make sure you bring some ice with you if you plan to bring some drinks with you that you'd like cold (like beer!), as this is an eco-lodge, so there is no fridge (a cooler was provided for us). We stayed during a bit of a rainy week, and so when it rained at night, it was very loud because the cottage roof is made of galvanized sheet metal. We got used to this, and it truly is a wonderful feeling to sleep way above the tree tops. The breeze is bliss, and you feel like you're part of nature. It also gets dark early, so make sure you cook early (kitchen is well equipped) and be prepared to chill-out in the dark which is truly romantic and a tranquil experience when you're that high up and removed from the world below. (candles were supplied, and solar-charged torches).

All in all this place is truly an amazing place to stay when in Dominica. It's located in a great part of the island, with lots of wonderful things to do nearby. Plus, Tess and Kevin and their beautiful dogs served as great hosts to get you acquainted with all the treasures of Dominica.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
64
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Dominca is a place for someone who is well traveled, as is the Manique River Resort. That said, we found it perfect for what we were looking for. A total escape from the American way of life. To call it a "resort" is miss leading. There are 3 cabins, very separated from each other on the mountainside. Our hosts were helpful in everyway, from additional bedding requests to suggestions on things to do and see. The room was cleaned daily, alway with some suprise treat left for us. Fresh fruit, flowers, etc.

The drive up to the resort is a true 4 wheel drive adventure! We ofen parked the jeep and hiked up to go easy on the vehicle. This is not a place for the un-fit!

The most fun thing we did was hike down the middle of the Manicou River from the resort out to the coast, about an hour or two hike of great adventure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Manicou River Resort is one of the most romantic places my husband and I have ever stayed! The island of Dominic is truly an undiscovered treasure and the views from our room were simply spectacular. The Hunneybells were so gracious and accommodating - we can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Manicou River Resort is one of the best choices for the value minded traveler interested in a natural setting just a stone's throw from Portsmouth and a short drive from the best beach's on the Island. You can find more luxury for five times the cost but you will not find another resort in this setting at this price. The owner's bent over backwards to see that our needs were accommodated. While on the west coast overlooking the breathtakingly gorgeous Cabrits park and Caribbean coast ,which offers swimming/snorkeling, you're just an hour drive from the beautiful black and white sand beach's along the east coast road to Calibishie, a must-do day trip if you're in the area. Another 15-20 minutes will take you into pristine rainforest , and from here it's less than an hour to the Carib territory , another great day trip from the resort.

The owner's have lived on the Island for some time and were were very knowledgeable about the local culture and interesting things to do as well as the caveats that go along with any third world travel. If you're looking for a quite , reasonably priced resort, immersed in nature, not far from a number of top spots to visit, with kind and responsive service then Manicou River is well worth a week or two or even more if you have the time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The time we spent here was the best of our whole trip. The views and accommodation are absolutely stunning. Our 4 year old little boy totally loved going on adventures in the woods and took a real shine to our hosts Tess and Kevin who were wonderful, very accommodating and helpful. Absolutely idyllic. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is simply the best holiday we have ever had!! And we have had a few !! They made us feel so welcome and are friends for life - I cannot speak too highly of this place - if you have one holiday - have it here - beautiful place - hosts - everything was wonderful !!! Thankyou - we will be back !

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011 via mobile

I am a pro eco traveler and this resort went above and beyond my expectation! This is the holiday of the future where the staff are not only friendly but appreciate the land they have built on (you don't get this often) would advise to any visitor to the beautiful island!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manicou River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manicou River Resort

Address: Tantan, Portsmouth, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manicou River Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT SINCE APRIL 2013. Manicou River is a collection of hand-crafted wooden cottages perched on the mountainside high above Douglas Bay and the Cabrits National Park on the beautiful, pristine island of Dominica. Our view is one of the best on the island, taking in mountains, the Caribbean Sea and the small town of Portsmouth below. We offer a simple, relaxing, nature experience with just the right touches of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manicou River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manicou River Eco Hotel Portsmouth
Manicou River Resort Dominica/Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manicou River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.