We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar to your Saves list
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$81 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Grand Junction Colorado
1 review
“What a GREAT place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The facility is fantastic, and Hans and Lise are top shelf. Hans is rich with the history and understanding of the country and Lise is generous and kind. Our room seemed to be sanitized daily, certainly one of the very best locations on the island.

Hans and Lise are so great and hospitality savvy they could have pitched a tent and I would have still loved it.

I highly recommend a stay at the Comfortel De Champ, it is well located and provides a great cross section of local culture.

Jodie and Tom

  • Liked — Cool and Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
72
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

The hospitality at the Comfortel de Champ was extraordinary. Hans and Lies bent over backwards to be sure that our stay on the island was fantastic. The hotel was sparkling new, comfortable and "green". The views were dramatic from their mountain top bar and the tapas menu was perfect for a light meal at the end of the day.

We started and ended our vacation at the Champ with a 4 day excursion to the South. Hans and Lies sent us off with cell phones and great recommendations of where to eat, shop, and enjoy hot springs. When our accommodations in the South were disastrous, we called Hans who graciously directed us to a more comfortable dwelling.

An added bonus was that they made arrangements for us to be picked up and dropped off at the airport. The road between is terrifying for flat-landers that drive on the right side of the road. Hans also negotiated a car rental for us that was better than any deal that we could get on our own. He brought us to the dealership and returned the car at the end of our trip.

The Champ was unforgettable!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, views, staff
  • Disliked — The road up to the hotel (soon to be paved)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My husband and I were very fortunate to stay with Lise and Hans at this wonderful guest house. We came to Island to meet up with our daughter and her husband who is a student at Ross University. The hotel is situated on the hill overlooking the university and the town of Picard. I must not forget to mention the awesome view of the Caribbean Sea. One could be as busy as they wanted with the many tours available. Lise and Hans have many suggestions and were so helpful with anything one would need. Great relaxing breakfasts, the bar is comfortable, reasonable and a great place to watch the sun setting.
Again, very homey and would recommend this place highly.
We may be lucky enough to go visit again.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Comfortel De Champ for a night while my parents were visiting the Island. My husband is a student at Ross U so we live on the Island but this was a nice break from daily life! Lise and Hans are very friendly individuals and went out of their way to make sure we were having a good visit. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the view is amazing! Lise serves a great breakfast in the mornings as well which overlooks the Caribean Sea. Overall a great experience and will recommend it to all our visitors.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veghel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly people Hans en Lise.
We stayed there for 14 days. They have very nice rooms, excellent big beds, with beautiful design bathroom. Breakfast is very good!!! View is perfect on the caribean sea. Very well located on the island. They pick you up at the airport. We have done already many countries but this country is very special. The people of dominica are so very friendly. They like very much talking to you, they are pure and natural like the nature of dominica. The nature of Dominica is so very beautiful.
I can highly recommend this hotel and Dominica!

  • Liked — Very friendly people, beautiful clean big rooms with design bathroom, good breakfast.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Our party of 4 - father with two daughters and middleaged lady stayed at the Champ for 2 days. Rooms are very nice: large with a large bed, wonderfull bathroom with all amenities. Lies and Hans were extremely friendly, maybe because we are Dutch. The certainly made the girls ( 9 and 11) to feel very much at home, showed them DVD's, made individual breakfasts and were extremely helpfull. They even allowed us to use their Skype to call home and this without charge.
The view of the hotel is fantastic, location is good and once the Tapas bar will be ready it hopefully will become a favourite spot for the local students.
The only disadvantage is the very bad road leading up to it, however, I am sure this will also be improved upon.
It was like staying at a friend's house.
I can only highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The very helpfull and friendly owners, the nice and confortable rooms
  • Disliked — The road leading up to it
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We met Hans and Lies a year earlier diving with Cabrits Dive Center and had followed the progress of their construction of the 5 guest room Comfortel de Champs on their website. The construction still is underway for the new bar and hot tub area. Without a doubt the de Champs has the absolutely best view of all Portsmith. The guest rooms are very comfortable , new and the bathrooms are to die for. The showers are the kind where there are multiple spray nozzles. Clear glass double sinks. AC is new and efficient with a well stocked refrigerator in the each room. Breakfast and an evening cocktails are on the upper level with a spectacular 180* view of the bay. Hans has a fantastic Spanish red wine that is perfect for the end of the day. Would we go back - in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.