We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Always PERFECT!!!!”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar to your Saves list
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$81 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Houston, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
““Always PERFECT!!!!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pending review
5 of 5 stars

Our last trip was Dec. 14-20th and was the best yet!!!
Even though they are usually closed on Sunday evenings, knowing we were coming with a big group, they had dinner & karaoke for us & a party started.
Lise & Hans always make sure that when you are with them, you feel "loved" & at home.
One of my favorite places ever!!!!
Thank you for the love and attention we were always given.
Texas will always be in love with The Champs Restaurant & Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you Chari, it feels so good when your guest becomes your friend. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
70
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

De Champ Hotel, Bar, and Restaurant was like my home in Dominica for the last 16 months I stayed in Dominica. Lise and Hans (the owners) treated me like a family. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Must try Friday Fine Dinning, the steak and the tuna are great, they also have a very nice selections of wines. The view is great from up the hill, beautiful sunset and rainbows while dinning or in the Jacuzzi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure accommodating you and we would like to thank you for your great review. We are happy to know that you felt satisfied with our service.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed yourself in our remarkable dinner setting, while eating our excellent gourmet dishes and sipping on our fine wines.

We would be happy to have you here again with us and anticipate your return in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Always a pleasure to stay at the Champs with Hans, Lise and their welcoming staff.
Comfortable, air-conditioned rooms. Excellent breakfast every day. Sumptuous Fine Dining with Chef Eric Subin at the weekends. Neat Spa Area with Jacuzzi. Always great advice and help in organizing hiking, fishing, diving and whale watching activities.

Excellent accommodation, good food, efficient staff, great value.

Any time I visit Dominica I stay at The Champs.
Over the years I must have stayed here over twenty, yes twenty, times

Room Tip: With just five rooms you will always get a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It is always a pleasure having your as our guest. Please keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you're looking for pampering in a luxury resort, move on. Those who become impatient easily, or who travel with an attitude will do better in a high end hotel. But if you love interesting conversations, if you have a sense of humor, if you value human connection, this is the place for you. You can have a personal interaction with Lise and Hans that makes you feel you've been invited to the home of your best friend's aunt and uncle on an island paradise, because that's the degree of interest and enthusiasm they show in trying to make guest happy and comfortable. Guests who will especially enjoy staying here are those who are flexible and patient, who love adventure, a personal touch, and who want to learn about their surroundings on a deeper level. And I should mention the view: It's truly a million dollar view. You could easily spend several wonderful days just sitting on the porch in front of your room or on the higher floor in the breakfast area or the restaurant, just staring at the ocean, the sky, ships and sailing boats and the lush greenery. Read a book, take a nap, practice laziness, turn off your screens. Or finish your novel without interruption. Ask Lise or Hans or one of there staff dozens of questions about whatever is on your mind--they will never be impatient with you. Or they will gladly connect you with the best people in the area for a car rental, for a tour, or they will advise you about where to find an easy morning drive, an afternoon hike, a swim, or whatever you're looking for. When you're ready for a unique and wonderful hike through the mountains, ask Lise or Hans to connect you with Gregory. Spend a day hiking through the jungle with Gregory, slow down your talking, and open your mind to his knowledge of the plants, birds, the larger ecology, the history, and local culture. You'll never be the same. Gregory is a treasure. The comments of some other guests about occasional plumbing issues or noise should not be a significant issue for most guests. We also, like most people, enjoy a quiet sleep and a clean room. We weren't disappointed at all. We were a family of four staying in two rooms side by side for four nights, and we all agreed that we will eagerly return to the Champs for our next trip to Dominica.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Manager at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It was nice having your at our hotel. I loved the interesting chats we had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Champs has 5 well-appointed, air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant, and a bar. The owners, Hans Schilders and Lise van de Kamp, go out of their way to ensure that your stay is comfortable and pleasurable. Before making a reservation, I had read complaints on Trip Advisor about noise from the bar. I mentioned this to Lise and told her that I would be going birding early in the morning. I also asked for a superior room as far from the bar as possible. She had told me about their Taco night on Tuesdays, but assured me that the noise would come to an end at about 10:30. I was later told that she had also asked the bar to turn down their volume at 9:00, which apparently they did. I had no problems at all with noise. The next day, I mentioned to them that there had been a loud hum from a TV transformer in the room, which, though it did not particularly bother me, might bother others. Lise told me that they would replace the transformer. By the time I returned from birding the next day, they had not only removed the transformer, but had replaced the entire TV with a larger model. The story is more complex than I am making it, but I use it as an example of how hard these people work to make sure that their guests are comfortable. They do not have a beach, so if you require one, The Champs will not work for you, but if not, this is an excellent choice. The superior room (low-season 2013) cost US$150.00/night including taxes and breakfast. They packed a bag breakfast for me for the first two days. These were brought to my room at ~7:30 the previous evening. The Champs is ~8km from the turn-off to the Syndicate Estate. All in all, a great place to stay for a birding trip to Dominica.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the superior (upper floor) rooms. Better view, and for birders, one can look directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for your review. And indeed this part of the Island is perfect for bird lovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our stay at The Champs. We have never been treated so well. Everyone on staff is incredibly helpful. Lise, the owner, accommodated our every request.
The view from our room's veranda, breakfast area, bar and spa area is spectacular. We sat on our veranda everyday and photographed the sunset over the bay. Enjoyed watching the iguana and hummingbirds at breakfast.
Food was good. I especially enjoyed the lionfish. Probably can't eat enough to make a dent in this invasive predator's encroachment, but it's a tasty job trying.
Fine dining on Friday night is a highlight.
Taking a tour with the on-staff guide, Jackie, is a great way to see the island. He is very friendly, informative and accommodating.
We spent half of our Dominica trip at Champs and it was by far, the best part.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you could not find enough good things to say about The Champs. We are indeed thankful and honored to receive such a great review from you. Thanks for complimenting Hostess Lise for a job well done.

We were happy that you loved the location and atmosphere of our Hotel and your room location. It is good to know that you were one of the few lucky guests to see our Iguanas and humming birds in our garden.

We would like you to feel free to join us again in our Friday Evening Fine Dining. Thanks for your compliments of tour guide Jackie. It would be nice to have you spend more time with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The thing that makes champs a great place to stay is the service and the great location, however the rooms are a bit dated and while we were there, there were plumbing problems in some of the rooms (guests were complaining, we were lucky not to have any). The cleaning was also a bit hit and miss. If they had to refurbish the rooms, and supervise the cleaning to make sure it takes place, this place would be a 5 star all round!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. We already made some small changes and will keep working to earn the 5 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.