We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louis de Funes For people on a big budget” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Table de Marcay

La Table de Marcay
Le Chateau, 37500 Marcay, Chinon, France
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Table de Marcay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Marcay
Price range: $36 - $140
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Louis de Funes For people on a big budget”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We reserved a table at 9 pm. We arrived at 9:03. Our table wasn't ready. We were asked to have an aperitif outside in the 'bar terrace'. Fair enough, we had a glas of home made sparkling rose, which was good, we ordered our food while sipping our aperitives, then the amuses came. Frozen melon with bits of bacon, aubergine with parmazane crust and tasteless parma ham with melon. In one word, aweful. The frozen melon with bacon lacked any flavour, and i was totally puzzled how anyone could find such tasteless parma ham. Supermarkets have better stuff.
45 minutes later we were lonely, thirsty and hungry and no one around to ask any questions about the status of our table. We decided to walk to the reception area to ask around. Everone seemed to have forgotten about us. At 10 pm we were seated at 'our' table. Waiters were frantically racing around, not knowing what they were doing (which continued troughout the evening) Finally we were greeted by a guy with a basket of bread, but weren't offered any bread. Twenty minutes later the somelier came with the wine list and dissapeared immediately in a very non-professional way, we ordered a bottle of Fontenelle from Saumur, very tasty. A waiter came to us to ask us very complex questions about the butter with our bread. Which was odd because we received bread but we never got any butter...
Meanwhile it was time for our 'degustation tomates' to be served. You probaby made it better at home. Tomato with mozarella (5/10), tomato icecream (4/10), tomato tartare (really disgusting =0/10), green tomato with balsamic oil gazpacho (really disgusting). Not a very good start, definately not after the dissapointing amuses. No more bread was served, even though waitors were running around at very high speed.
The highlight of the meal was the cod steak, well cooked, medium flavoured. Unfortunately the sauce served with the cod was anything but memorable.
We ordered a bottle of red wine after the cod was finnished, the second bottle came after the rabbit was served... The rabbit was a huge dissapointment. Not thoroughly cooked, accompagnied by a single carot (someting which is particulary mentioned in the anouncement of the dish...) and a maize cake... Mediocre!
We were then offered cheese, there was no explanation. The cheese was good, but the 'fruit' served with it wasn't. Too bad.
We received a second amuse. Something with tapioca in a bamboo cilinder, really realy disgusting (and i have lived i asia with tapioca dishes and i do drink bubble tea...i never gagged before at a fancy restaurant, but that night this 'premiere' occured. The desert consisted out of mango, gelatine and some sugar figurines. This dish also made me gag.
This meal ,in this setting , was not the worse of its kind, but one of my worse culinary experiences ever!
280 euro poorer we left I in a hurry and swore we would never go back.
Bad food, totally clueless unprofessional service and totally overrated prices. This smells like a very expenive tourist trap! Worth a while if money is no issue and you enjoy slapstick comedy over good food (and good service).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    17
    12
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were staying at the hotel and having eaten here once, we found much better food and service in nearby Chinon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Client,
As I said in my response about the hotel, I am sorry to read your two comments and I regret that we do not have all discussed during your stay about the inconvenience you have experienced.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fab food at Table de Marcay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Amazing food, wonderful wine. Very friendly service and staff. The Maitre d' was charming and coaxed our 6 year old into not only trying the food but eating everything put in front of her!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Clients,
Thank you very much for this so nice comment, it was a pleasure to welcome you at the Table de Marçay.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food was good service was terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The food was great, but they were overwhelmed by the half full room on a Saturday night. Nobody stopped at our table for drinks, menus, or any other reason for 30 minutes after we sat down. Then a harried waiter ran up and said "ok ready to order?". "Not really as we don't have menus, and we'd like a drink first". This elicited an annoyed look and the waiter just walked off. So you can tell where the meal went from there... Food was very good, even though we didn't get the amuse bouche. It appeared the two French groups did get that amuse bouche, so I guess the other 4 tables in our room that were tourists just didn't qualify for the better treatment. Overall, for 200ish Euros, I expected far, far more.

Clearly, we didn't eat there again on the subsequent 3 nights of our stay at the hotel due to this train wreck. All they would have had to do is apologize a bit and work with us, but instead we got massive attitude all night. I guess the lesson is go there on a night other than Saturday, because the other nights we looked in there it was pretty much empty, and the feedback we heard in the lounge afterwards was pretty good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear client,
We take good notice of your claims on Château de Marçay and on La Table de Marçay Tripadvisor accounts. We replied to the last comment of the six posted. Please take a look at “Bwlove” on Château de Marçay Tripadvisor page for our responce. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food not matched by service and value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Chef fairly on the ball and a complex menu arrangement. Staff nice but not organised. Not Michelin quality

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear client,
We take good notice of your claims on Château de Marçay and on La Table de Marçay Tripadvisor accounts. We replied to the last comment of the six posted. Please take a look at “Bwlove” on Château de Marçay Tripadvisor page for our responce. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table de Marcay also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Table de Marcay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Table de Marcay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.