We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Chinon, stay here....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Marcay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Marcay to your Saves list
Chateau de Marcay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Chateau, 37500 Marcay, Chinon, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you go to Chinon, stay here....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Spent one night at the Chateau de Marcay before heading down to Bordeaux on a wine trip across France. This place is stunning!! I only wish I would have been there in the summer so that I could have enjoyed the pool and the gorgeous garden.

Dinner in the on site restaurant was fabulous as well!

Room Tip: I stayed in the castle part and it was lovely....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    96
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
46
208
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We found the Chateau's service and setting absolutely awesome.... It's not difficult to be impressed with the setting, the amenities, the architecture, the atmosphere, the food and the service. Overall, we had a lovely room, lovely meals and the weather was fantastic. As well, I thought the whole stay and experience was excellent value for money. I'll do the chateau experience again, I guarantee you.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the chateau itself... not the west wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My Wife and I with another couple stayed here mid August 2011. Our upgraded room was nicely upscale with a huge bath in the top of one of the castle towers. The pool and surronding grounds are very nice. Fluffy towels, nice furnuture and pool side service.for drinks. The chateau and grounds are stunning with sweeping views into the beautiful French countryside. Our dinner was excellent with a great wine list. The cheese cart was my favorite.
Despite complaints by other Tripadvisor reviewers about slow service, we found it fine. I think us Americans can be impatient and not appreciate the more relaxed approach to the dinner experience that the French have mastered. Chateau Marcay is not cheap but its a special place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Our family stayed 3 nights in a family room in the old building. The room was clean and suitably luxurious if compact. Fabulous chateau and grounds, attentive staff in the most part (but desperately slow service on our first night in the restaurant). The dinners were very food if expensive - with a massive but rather overpriced wine selection. For sporting facilities the pool is excellent, the tennis court (not free) is slightly crumbling and the garden includes the added bonus of its own boules pitch. I guess it was always going to be expensive but it was interesting to see just how many of the guests were eating in nearby Chinon.

The most disappointing aspect was probably the breakfast - I don't mind the price but I would expect something rather more imaginative than a basket of bread and dull pots of commercial jam. Overall a memorable chateau but one that could do better on some of the details.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for your post and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bedroom, the restaurant, the castle and its activities. However, we are sorry to read that you were not informed about the tennis court, entirely free for all of our guests. Regarding the restoration, most of our clients stay for diner even for a few days. We regret not having you and your family during all your stay. For our wine menu, we propose around 500 references at reasonable prices. Finally, regarding our breakfast, we propose 3 different formulas from the most classical French breakfast to a more elaborated one called Brunch. Once again, thank you for your constructive post which helps us to improve our guests welcoming at Château de Marçay. We hope that your overall experience was a positive one and that you will come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

But I get the feeling there aren't many truly great places out in the Loire.

We had a superior room with a garden/view of the pool. Room was fine, but somewhat dated and tired. It had the typical French hand held 'shower'/bath. Fine if you are continental, but most travelers here aren't.... Another French mystery, really.

The front desk folks were helpful in trying to get restaurant reservations. We ate at the restaurant on Saturday night - of our arrival - and they place was 'so busy' (half the tables were full, guess that's busy for them). They didn't even stop at our table for drinks, menus, or any other conversation for 30 minutes. Then a harried waiter ran up and said "ok ready to order?". "Not really as we don't have menus, and we'd like a drink". So you can tell where that meal went... Food was very good though. However, we didn't eat there again on the subsequent 3 nights due to this train wreck. All they would have had to do is apologize a bit and work with us, but instead we got massive attitude all night. I guess the lesson is go there on a night other than Saturday, because the other nights we looked in there it was pretty much empty, and the feedback we heard in the lounge afterwards was pretty good.

The other mildly annoying things were 1) the Chateau's wines that are advertised all over the place - but when you order one to drink they tack on 5-10Euros because the listed prices are for taking away and 2 ) you get one free bottle of water in your room. For your whole stay. Come on, give folks who stay there multiple nights a new bottle of water for goodness sakes. Both are little things that are petty but highly annoying to travelers.

We ended up having breakfast on our patio every morning, which was very very nice. Breakfast was of course overpriced, but that's no different than any hotel anywhere. Big thumbs up to the coffee, that was pretty good....

Beautiful grounds overall. We didn't get a chance to look at the rooms in the main building so we can't comment there.

Room Tip: We requested a patio room and liked that - not sure about the rooms in the main building though. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear client,
We are very sorry to read your different posts and we take good notice of your claims on Château de Marçay and on La Table de Marçay Tripadvisor accounts. We are very surprised to see your fury through those and we would like to apologize for the mistakes done during your stay. We have no excuse for not leaving you with a good souvenir. However, we would like to clarify a few points. Regarding our cuisine, we are delighted to see that your enjoyed the food. Although problems you encountered were unusual and unfortunately happened while you were visiting Marçay. Please note that most of our guests are always satisfied by our restaurant (cuisine and service). For our wines, we propose a « take away menu » and a « order now menu ». This might explain the differences between wine prices. For our breakfasts, we propose 3 different formulas from the most classical French breakfast at 14 euros to a more elaborated one called Brunch at 29 euros. And to finish, regarding our bedrooms, we would have been pleased to show you the other rooms and to let you choose the one you would have preferred. Next time, please let us know of your deception, we can probably help you to end your stay with a charming experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Me and my family, my wife, father and mother, stayed at Chateau Marçay during my father's birthday. We get two large suites, me and my wife we stayed in a very large suite, with very nice bath separated from the shower and with a garden/pool view that not stayed at main building, we took the stairs after the bar and walk trough the hall until the last room.
The people from the hotel were amazing, specially the ones who worked at restaurant, Victor, Alisson and Frank that wrote letters to us, we really had some very nice time with an amazing service. We had really pleasant time at chateau, we took a ballon ride and the ballon took off from their garden and the have made a special menu for us at my dad's night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nigths as part of a 3 stop France holdiay. Our party included a teenager and we ended up with an end room in the west wing that could have held about 5 double beds. We also had a shower room and seperate bath as as we were on the ground floor also got a private garden area. The hotel had a decent pool that you could actually do some decent swimming in and it was the only warm pool of our stay. There was also free Tennis and Badminton and bikes for hire. The hotel staff were very friendly and helped us book a day trip to Puy de Fou website, including handling the french site and printing off our tickets.
On the downside this is a very expensive place to stay. We avoided the hotel restaurant - which starts at 23 euros and goes up to 98 euros for a meal - and went to Chinon to eat which is only 5 minutes drive away and has free parking after 7 pm. For us, another slight downside was the number of English residents.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Marcay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Marcay

Address: Route du Chateau, 37500 Marcay, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chinon > Marcay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Marcay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau De Marcay is located in the village of Marcay. The hotel has extensive gardens and an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and gastronomic restaurant. The 15th century Chateau offers large guestrooms with traditional upholstery and free Wi-Fi. The Chateau De Marcay's restaurant serves gourmet cuisine with seasonal ingredients from the kitchen garden. Guests can tour the Chateau's 12 000 bottle cellar and sample the fine wines. The Chateau De Marcay is 8 kilometres from Chinon's ancient fort on the river Vienne. It's also an ideal base for hiking and cycling routes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de Marcay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Marcay Chinon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Marcay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.