We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Horse Inn to your Saves list
The Bay Horse Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Brandon B&B and Inns
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed last week for 2 nights & were extremely happy with the service, the food and the room. Extra heaters were provided so we were not cold (and it was freezing outside), the beer was greatly enjoyed by my husband and the house wine was excellent - normally I have to wince!
Very close to Durham. We walked along the W2W - an excellent cycle track/walk at the bottom of the road along a disused railway line- it would be great to bring the bikes here in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    102
    34
    22
    18
See reviews for
28
154
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this place begining of April 2013 when snow was all around!
Arrived not really knowing what to expect , met in the bar by very friendly staff who showed us to our accomodation which was just to the rear of the pub in challets. Challets were very clean, warm, homeley and contained everything you could wish for: tv,freeview, kettle, tea coffee etc, hairdryer and ample space. If I wasn,t impressed enough by the accomodation we ate at the Inn each night of our stay the food was fabulous our only regret is that we could not stay longer as we would of liked to of sampled more of the menu, however I'm sure we will return as the staff all made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Horse Inn between Christmas and New Year. It was on a voucher deal so very, very good value. We had a motel style room that was clean and warm and very convenient as we had our dog with us. Brandon is a pretty, quiet spot, just outside Durham but not to far to travel in. Staff were very friendly and obliging. I had packed our cool box with milk and other supplies but forgot to add ice packs and the kitchen staff were always willing to supply ice from their freezer! We had breakfast in the hotel (it was included) and it was nicely cooked and served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Horse Inn to attend a wedding at Durham Castle last Saturday. As soon as we arrived we were made extremely welcome, everyone we spoke to was incredibly friendly and helpful, even arranging a taxi for us while we freshened up in the room. They sure know how to do customer service at its best up North! It was just £10 in a taxi to the Castle.

The room itself was basic (as we expected at the price) but extremely spacious and clean, with shower, hairdryer, full length mirror - everything we needed to get ready. It even had a tv and tea/ coffee set.

We had breakfast in the Inn, which was great value £4.95 for a cooked breakfast. Our only minor disappointment was that it didn't come with any bacon - one of my favourite parts of a full English!

All in all we would stay here again if we were in the area and would happily recommend it as a super friendly and excellent value place to stay in Durham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have just returned from another visit to this, popular village inn. We enjoyed our first stay and found this time it was even better. We had a lovely room (8) Spacious and very clean. Found that there is new and I must say improved management. Last time we went the food was really good, this time it is outstanding, well cooked and presented just like a first class restaurant. The staff are very good and so helpful. Extremely good value. It is really friendly in the public bar and we didn't feel out of place, in fact the regulars remembered us from last year, it just made us feel like we belonged there. We are planning another trip to the North East and will stay there again with or without our trusty KGB voucher. It is a really good base for the North East, the surrounding countryside is stunning, a short trip to Beamish which is well worth a visit. I look forward to seeing all of our new friends again soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are surrounding a courtyard, we liked our room - 8 which is a double with a bath wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned home having spent two nights at the Bay Horse with friends.

What a find this is a fantastic country inn. It is placed just outside of Durham in a lovely little village named Brandon. £8 in a taxi takes you to Durham city centre which has regular trains to Newcastle that takes only 13 mins.

On arrival we were met by Phil the manager, checking in was easy and from the first minuate we were made to feel at home. We stayed in room 5 which is great. Large double room with a bath/shower. The room was tastefully decorated.

We had two meals in the restaurant and breakfast each morning. The food was quality home cooked food which we very much enjoyed. The fish and chips was probably the best I have ever tasted and the mixed grill is not for the faint hearted.

Each evening we had a few drinks in the bar and chatted with the staff and locals. We were made to feel very welcome by all but i am now left disappointed that this is not my local.

The staff are an absolute credit to the pub, in particular Phil, Keith the bar man and the guys who cooked us breakfast. Nothing was to much trouble.

The prices at the pub for food and drinks are more than reasonable and dare I say it I think they are selling themselves short.

If you are looking for a country pub inn break that is easily accessible for major cities then this is the place. I will be returning as will my friends.

Thanks Mr and Mrs Grounds

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd north wales uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went on a kgb deal bought by our daughter ,we loved the atmosphere had a great welcome all the staff are friendly and new management keen ,breakfasts were excellent and the Chef John is a superstar chef and their best asset ,i have food allergies /intolerances and he adapted the meals for me ,Beautiful setting ,lots of character ,we felt rested and happy ,so much so we stayed an extra night we cant praise this place highly enough ,and plan to return again,truly scrumptious food ,best steak and fish ever and Johns Pies are the stuff of legend ,didnt want to leave ,The Bay Horse Inn is very special and Richard the owner is working so hard in these hard times ,wish we lived nearer ,perfect pub and chatty ,funny locals ,give it a try and you wont be disappointed.We shall return!!!! Regards Carmen and Hywel x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.